1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Looking for someone who knows how to recover from bad flash and has R423 card

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by ShadowFlare, Oct 28, 2005.

  1. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Does anyone here who knows how to recover from a bad flash (preferably has experience with this) have a card with an R423 chip?

    I'm looking for someone who will try out something for me. I've found that R480 chips are backward compatible with bioses from cards having R423 chips, but I'm wondering if the bios compatibility goes both ways. Thus, I want someone to try flashing the bios for an R480 to a card with an R423 chip. Be sure to lower the speeds to your card's defaults by using RaBiT first before flashing. If the bios flashing goes well, post 3dmark scores from before and after the flash.

    -EDIT-

    Apparently, identifying a card with an R423 chip as having an R480 does work, but does not change performance at all. Look at my post on the third page for more info: http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?p=44951#post44951
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2005
  2. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Actually, it looks like an R423 bios can be modded to an R480 bios simply by changing the ID of the card in the bios to one of any card with an R480 chip using RaBiT. Since that is the case, it seems that this may only be something that changes what it is used in the driver. Based on this, I'd say the likely reason people have had problems flashing from an X800 series bios (with R420/R423/R430) to X850 (R480) is because of clock speeds that are too high or possibly even incompatible memory timings (but not as likely).

    Anyone want to test my theory? :) Remember to get your 3dmark score before and after and then post it. ;)
     
  3. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Will anyone test this for me? You actually won't even need to use the bios from an R480 card, just use RaBiT modify the ID for the card to something like 5D4D (ID for X850 XT PE), 5D52 (ID for X850 XT) or 5D4F (ID for X850 Pro). This will not change your clocks or memory timings to the ones for those cards. AFAIK, it should only change which driver is used, so it may possibly make the ATI video driver for Windows unusable until you flash back, but I think it is fairly unlikely that the card won't work at all. Even if the driver doesn't work after flashing, the failsafe driver in Windows still would work.

    If anyone tries this, please post 3dmark05 or 03 scores from before and after.

    Sorry for triple posting (bumping the topic twice), but I do want to find out whether this works or not, and if it does work, whether it makes performance better, worse, or if there is no change.
     
  4. ryboto

    ryboto New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    294 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    i can check it out when i get home, which will be in several hours...
     
  5. k62 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden
    maybe it´s the device id that makes the difference also in my case with the tempsensor and fan speed control?
    the device id for a x800se AIW is 4A4A
    and for x800xt AIW 4A4B
    whats the device id for a R481 card? (x850xt agp)? and the PE version? ithink its 4A4C

    is a x850xt faster than a X800xt at the same clockspeeds?
     
  6. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I just wanted to mention that if you try this, just as with just about any video bios flashing, you may want to have a PCI video card available just in case something goes wrong.
     
  7. ryboto

    ryboto New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    294 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    which hardware ID should I try if i've got an x800pro agp non-vivo?
     
  8. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    According to the inf file for the driver; 4B4B is X850 Pro, 4B49 is X850 XT, and 4B4C is X850 XT PE. Those are the IDs for the AGP R481 versions. To have those names actually show up, the subsystem ID must be set to 0002 and the vendor ID set to 1002, otherwise it will just say "RADEON X850 Series" for any of those.

    Make sure that when you flash that you also have the bios you were using on the floppy disk or cd, just in case Windows won't start. That way you can flash back without needing a PCI card if it still works but won't work in Windows.
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2005
  9. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,686 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    I would like to see someone try this, but I don't have a PCI card or enough balls:laugh: .
     
  10. Vrgn86 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    172 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    I have a BBA X850PRO AGP, Flashed to 16 pipes, xt speeds
    xt timings (except"MEM_REFRESH_RATE
    could not find value in rabit) and XT DEVICE ID 4B49, Subsys ID 0312, Subven ID 1002,
    Cats 5.10a and it "see's" it as
    an BBA X850 XT! In cats control panel and device manager.
     
  11. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,361 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,216
    I have a X800GTO, and PCI card. And enough balls. Why not? The card can be RMA'd back to newegg, and it won't be the first card I have had flash bad. Prolly won't be the last either.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  12. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    What brand of GTO was that? What kind of chip is detected? If it isn't R480 (PCIe)/R481 (AGP), then you could try this if you want. Just use RaBiT modify the ID in the bios for the card. For PCI Express, use 5D4D (ID for X850 XT PE), 5D52 (ID for X850 XT) or 5D4F (ID for X850 Pro). For AGP, use 4B4B is X850 Pro, 4B49 is X850 XT, and 4B4C is X850 XT PE. To have those names actually show up, for AGP the subsystem ID must be set to 0002 and the vendor ID set to 1002. The values for subsystem ID to have the name show are different for PCI Express and I don't have them available right now, but you can find them by looking in the .inf file for the drivers.
     
  13. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,361 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,216
    Sapphire X800GTO AGP 256MB DDR3 Infineon.
    R430 Core (I looked) originally seen as a R423 core by BIOS.
    You changed it to a R430 core, but the BIOS I believe shows it as a X800 series still and will not allow the last 4 pipes. A X800XL Bios actually has the X800XL shown in the BIOS.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  14. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    OK, then if you want to try this out for me, modify the hardware ID in your bios with RaBiT according to what I mentioned above then flash the modified bios. Just make sure you use one of the IDs for the AGP version (4Bxx).
     
  15. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,361 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,216
    Here I go........
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  16. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,361 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,216
    Allright @ssholes :D


    Flashing a modded BIOS to my card, with the pipes unlocked, a different subvendor 1002 ATI and using the actual X800XL AGP 4A4B I unlocked the last 4 pipes on this card.

    X800GTO AGP by Sapphire R430 core.

    And I upped the speeds of the core and memory to clost to the max I have found. The driver is the basic driver that XP installs when it finds new hardware. I am going to stop here and re-install the drivers and see what I find.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  17. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So you have 16 pipelines on that card?! BTW, had you tried using RaBiT to make it identify as an R481 or did you not try that yet?

    Post a new picture of your fuses data in the fuses data thread along with the name of the card and also a picture showing the number of pipelines. :)
     
  18. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,361 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,216
    ATI Drivers and Omegas don't want to install.


    I am going to look around summore.....
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  19. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It sounds like you may have an invalid ID set. What did you use for the 3 IDs?
     
  20. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,361 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,216
    Device ID 4A4B
    Subsystem ID 1600
    Subvendor ID 1002

    Flashing it back to 554D and the rest the same re-locks the 4 pipes again. :(
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  21. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    554D? I thought you said your's is AGP? BTW, what type are you trying to mod the bios to? The only one that matches with 4A4B in the driver is subsystem 0002, subvendor 1002. That would make it an X800 XT.

    Oh, I just realized something. Is 554D for the ID the default on your card? Maybe it actually has that PCIe to AGP bridge chip.
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2005
  22. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,361 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,216
    It is AGP, and that is what was included in the original BIOS.

    If I put in the above values it identifies as a R420/M18 core with 16 pipes.

    I have found that 4A4A is also the same R420/M18
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  23. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,361 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,216
    I am going to try 554D, 0002, 1002
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  24. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Maybe also try 5D4D (ID for X850 XT PE), 5D52 (ID for X850 XT) or 5D4F (ID for X850 Pro), with subsystem ID set to 0812 and vendor ID set to 1002. :)
     
  25. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,361 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,216
    Tried them, it appears as any of the above devices, however in the actual RaBit it keeps showing Radeon X800 series (R423)

    12 pipes on all the above tries. I believe there is some sort of extra precaution in the BIOS to prevent you from fubaring the card too bad.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page