1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Looking to upgrade my motherboard

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by trt740, Oct 27, 2006.

  1. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    I have a asrock 939 dual sata motherboard but would like to upgrade to a little better value overclocking board. I would like your ideas. I don't need a crossfire or sli board but they are fine to thx for the help. I would like to stay in the 60 to 80 dollar range because I need to buy a new powersupply cord 24 pin for my Ultra titanium 550 and they are 25.00. :D
     
  2. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore
    nforce4 ultra. for the brand...up to you.
     
  3. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Brand is everything with OCing


    Look for a Abit board.
     
  4. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
  5. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
  6. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    DFI is one of the best overclocking motherboards out there. Abit used to be really good, and now their just Ok. But some of their boards are great, especially the newer ones. I would go with a DFI.
     
  7. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
  8. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    cancelled my order until I heard from the overclocking gods
     
  9. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    im also iopen to any and all suggestions
     
  10. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Epox is nice and stable, but not as good at overclocking as DFI.
     
  11. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
  12. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Abit is back!!
     
  13. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    I like my ECS (Don't club me) KN1 lite. Some people say it dosen't overclock well, but mine screams. Many more options than the asscrock SATA2. Like more voltage than even Ketxxx could use, 1.7V to be exact. Plus it runs cool. I used to not like ECS, but they are a decent brand now.
     
  14. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    keep the ideas comming
     
  15. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Some of the newer ESC boards are good ocers, its still a luck of the draw to get a good one tho.
     
  16. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    More than I could use? my Crosshair has voltage all the way up to 1.85v :D
     
  17. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I want to be able to set it on fire if I want to......Everyboard needs that option.
     
  18. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    I would get a DFI nForce 4 Ultra-D. Their CPU Voltage goes all the way up to 2.0v!

    And DaMulta, Abit is good at overclocking, but if you read reviews for their Socket 939 motherboards, it still doesn't beat DFI yet.
     
  19. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    AM2 they are back
     
  20. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Ok, but this kid is looking for a 939 board.

    And I would recommend this:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813136159

    Go to a hardware store, and pick up a conductive pen for $8, and mod this nForce 4 Chipset to have SATAII, instead of the SATAI, and mod it to SLI. For an Extra $8, and a little work (maybe put in AS5 on the Chipset as well), you save.
     
  21. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I've never hear of that trick how is it done?
     
  22. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
  23. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
  24. b1lk1

    b1lk1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Messages:
    688 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Gigabyte DQ6 has Vcore options over 2.2V. I believe that could be considered "set on fire". Also, Vdimm is up to 2.7V. This is a great board for me so far.
     
  25. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    bought dfi infinity sli total junk would even format my hardrives

    got blue screens with two types of ram had to reinstall my asrock. Infinity It kept stopping during installation of windows and I was getting blue screen errors it also wouldn't format my hardrives or in some cases it would but then freeze. Put my Asrock back in and whamo up and running.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page