1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MCE2005 will not clean install. Help!

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Fleabus, Apr 7, 2006.

  1. Fleabus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi:

    I'm stuck at the blue "Starting WindowsXP" screen.

    I've just built an XP Pro SP2 system with the same motherboard, CPU, memory, HDDs, floppy drive, PSU,
    video card and sound card. SATA HDDs not RAID.

    The XP Pro SP2 install went without a hitch. BIOS and XP saw my drives, no SATA driver floppy needed, I formatted C:
    during the install, installed XP and formatted/partitioned the rest later.

    For the MCE2005 install the BIOS settings are identical.

    If I skip the F6 3rd party driver option as before, the MCE2005 install loads its files but stops at the
    blue "Starting WindowsXP" screen. No disk activity.

    I tried every flavour of SATA drivers available from Asus' Make Disk utils.
    When I F6, the drivers are taken, loaded but I still get to the same blue "Starting WindowsXP" screen.
    No disk activity.

    MCE2005 System:
    Motherboard: Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe nForce4 SLI X16
    CPU: Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Dual Core S939 Toledo
    HSF: Zalman CNPS9500 LED Copper CPU Heat Sink 92MM Fan
    RAM: 2GB (Corsair XMS-3500LL PRO 2GB kit) PC3500 CL2/1T
    CASE: Antec P180 mid-tower case w/4 120mm Antec TriCool fans
    Drive Bay Fan Controller: Thermaltake Hardcano13 5.25in multi-function
    PSU: Enermax Liberty EL620AWT 620W Modular PSU ATX12V v2.2
    Video Card: ATI Radeon X1800XT 512MB PCI-E Dual DVI HDTV-OUT
    (component & S-video OUT to 36” Sony Wega XBR-400 NTSC HD ready TV).
    Tuner card: ATI TV Wonder Elite Theatre 550 PRO PCI
    HDD: 2 x 500GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 500GB SATA 3Gb/s 7200RPM 16MB
    Burner: BenQ DW1655 Lightscribe DL DVD+RW16X16X8 DVD-RW16X16X4
    CDRW48X48X32 DVD Burner Black W/ SW
    FDD: Mitsumi
    Sound Card: Turtle Beach Montego DDL 7.1 S/PDIF optical OUT to
    Denon AVR-3802 7x110W based HT System
    Microsoft Remote Control w/USB receiver OEM for MCE2005.
    Mouse/Keyboard: Microsoft Remote Keyboard for WindowsXP MCE
    Etc

    Note: The MS Remote and Remote keyboard aren't connected yet.
    I'm temporarily using an old Logitech PS/2 cordless keyboard and a Logitech
    PS/2 wired mouse until I have the system up and running.
    The keyboard works ok. Haven't progressed to a level where a mouse can
    be used so I don't yet know if it is ok.
    BTW, I'm using component OUT from the ATI video card to the TV and
    that works ok.

    Also, my oem MCE2005 came as 3 discs. MCE2005 disc 1 and 2 plus a third
    Updates for version 2005 disc.

    Anyone offer some ideas on what may be going wrong?

    Thanks in advance,
  2. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
  3. Fleabus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi Jimmy 2004:

    I have MCE2005 up and running.
    The ATI TV Wonder Elite Theatre 550 PRO PCI TV card
    didn't work out.

    Because of the point at which the install grounded to a halt, I
    assumed it was an issue with the F6/floppy/SATA driver gambit
    but although the drivers would be loaded ... no change.

    I went at it the old fashioned way.
    I disconnected the second HDD, sound card, tuner card, on-board firewire cable and
    two USB hubs.

    I tried again and MCE2005 installed without a glitch and no need to supply SATA
    drivers ... just like the easy install I recently had with XP Pro SP2.

    I added back the other HDD ... ok.
    I added back the sound card ... ok.
    I added back the tuner card ... nope. No boot into MCE2005.

    The tuner card has to go back.

    I've orderred this instead:
    Hauppauge WinTV-PVR-USB2 MCE kit with Media Center remote control NTSC tuner
    Model # 99016.

    I end up with a spare remote but its made for MCE and I get a PCI slot back.

    The ATI card is either defective or is asking for more power from the PCI slot
    than the motherboard can safely furnish.

    I could have tried connecting an extra 4pin molex to the on-board EZ-Plug connector
    but Asus says not to use it unless you are using SLi.

    This is a top notch motherboard and PSU. With a single PCI-e and only a sound card
    using another PCI slot, I shouldn't have to play that close to the edge.
    If this type of card needs that much juice, I'm better off letting it draw power from its
    own brick and a powered hub.

    BTW, that MS Remote keyboard's cursor movement button is practically unuseable.
    I dragged out my old Logitech DiNovo Media bluetooth desktop. I'm hoping their
    new bluetooth software doesn't wink out like the former.

    All seems fine now.
    Thanks for the help/tips.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page