1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Microsoft's 'new' OS Gets a Website

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jul 27, 2008.

  1. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Networking seems to be easier as well none of the bs of stuffing around with setting just plug in the cabel and hello i can see you sweeeeet :D
     
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,369 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,669
    yes that too. even without a DHCP server, vistas auto assignment allows the machines to see each other. in XP, you had to manually assign them or you'd have no connections between machines.

    wireless setup is also massively improved for the most part.
     
  3. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,686 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    348
    Location:
    Tennessee
    The Mojave Experiment

    =

    How Windows Vista should have ran when it was released.


    ---------


    This is funny, this is like a developer that releases a hyped game, and it turns out to a be a bloated and buggy game, and then patches it to run the way it should have when released, a year later...And at that point tells journalists to come review their game again. However, what journalist in their right mind would go back and review a product a year later? They will not do this. So...Trick them, tell them it's a new os, then release to the public it was the same product. Great.

    Marketing campaign on the horizon I suppose.


    EDIT: Made improvements to more accurately portray what I was trying to write.
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2008
  4. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    yep for sure man wireless goes great for me occasionally it wont connect to the internet on startup nothing a reboot wont fix :toast:
     
  5. bugmenot New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    They're not going to include footage of the 80 test subjects who said it sucked. Or of the one old lady that became uncontrollably violent after five minutes of exposure to Mojave.

    And how clueless do you have to be to not know you're using Vista? Where these people drugged?
     
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,369 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,669
    thats kinda the point. it means that the people who hate vista are merely repeating what others have said, and their level of true knowledge is so low they cant even recognise the OS.

    i mean sure, some people have tried it and still hate it - but they arent these people.
     
  7. laszlo

    laszlo

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    891 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    66 feet from the ground
    i haven't tried vista so i can't say if is a good os; as a regular user all i care is that the old xp is still good,stable fast also so where is the reason to change it? Many people won't make hardware upgrades just to run a new os who is better maybe at points they never use it ex.:
    http://www.dell.com/content/topics/.../business/xp_smb?c=us&cs=04&l=en&s=bsd&~tab=2

    The same problem is at companies who have hundreds or thousands of pcs;they won't change os even if MS give them for free so xp will die slowly with the hardware who has run it.

    "Mojave experiment" MS has wake-up but too late this won't increase the selling of Vista till XP is still official supported by them;a failure because they show only 120 user instead of 120000...
     
  8. xfire

    xfire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
    So did this 120 users get to test xp on the same machine. For all we know these 120 people might have been running P-4's and MS might have setup c2d's.
    I tried vista for a few minutes(don't know if it was basic,premium etc) but I found the networking options were more hidden than xp. I couldn't set the internet on that(I was asked to setup internet) but from the few minutes I used it was ok but I think it was the basic version without aero.
     
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,369 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,669
    its not that they're hidden, its actualy easier to find.

    In XP you had to right click network and hit properties to get the extra menus (hidden to most users) in vista you double click, and the old 'hidden' options are all listed on the left hand side.
     
  10. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    How is that any different than when XP rolled out? Terrible reason not to like Vista. Have you even tried it recently?

    As for the lack of the "long format" option, Vista automatically checks the drive when you start the install. Once you get to the format option, the bad sectors are already mapped out.

    And nobody has managed to get around that "annoying security pop-up" by any other means than social engineering. No auto installing malware has gotten around it yet.

    You are, unfortunately, just another misinformed Vista hater.
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2008
    Murasame and wazzledoozle say thanks.
  11. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    http://www.pcworld.com/businesscent...s_despised_uac_nails_rootkits_tests_find.html
     
  12. xfire

    xfire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
    Well in Xp the way to setup the net was to run the wizard and select the option where the net connection is always on but on Vista there was no such option.
     
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,369 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,669
    ah, using a modem? i always use routers, which is a simple plug and play as far as thats concerned.
     
  14. xfire

    xfire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
    This isn't mine. It's for someone else I know who didn't even know his laptop had vista. The net is provided directly to cable using static IP. The settings may be hidden but some linux distro's have it hidden even far off.
    In any case I'll be "trying" vista ultimate.
     
  15. Swansen New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    182 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    On a side note i am done, secondly woah.... Accurate perspective?? from "my" perspective, it is accurate. Your not taking into consideration that different people know different things, as they live/work in different places, ect, ect. I'm sorry i wasn't EXTREMELY to the point again, you guys take being literal to a new level. I could add a couple words to what i wrote to make it a little more to your specifications, but i'm not going to, i said it at 1am, and whatever, it happened. I'm sure bundyrum i could go through and pick out a crap ton of crazy things you said in this thread, but i'm not going to. Lastly, i stand by what i said, and more so my last sentence, (since were sticklers here, its a run-on)
    end.
     
  16. Bluesman

    Bluesman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Eugene, Oregon, USA
    As I understand it, VISTA treats all users initially as non-adminstrator. This prevents rootkits and other hacks from invading your system by pretending they are you with your adminstrator rights. Because there are onscreen prompts, it is very difficult to hack around this security. As I posted on a previous page, the UAC can be partially curtailed by using TweakUI and selected global policy changes. These just minimize the warnings and give you access to files and directories while preserving the barrier to mimicing the administrator for the rest. XP does not provide this security barrier; i.e. where rootkits and other malicious files mimic the administrator. And this is not a "little security measure" as every user is a non-administrator intially when files, directories, or startup programs are at play.

    My main reason for moving to VISTA was the above security strategy and the enhanced OS kernal. Initially, I did wait until SP-1 for my desktop because my laptop's early VISTA version showed there were still growing pains for this OS.
     
  17. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    give up hat everyone of your points has been proven wrong maybe the issues you have with vista are purely user related

    would you look at that someone did there research before posting
     
  18. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,932 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,066
    Location:
    Ohio
    Proven wrong?
    So there is a choice for doing the long format when installing Vista? Where? I didn't see one.

    And there ISN'T an anoying security "feature" that asks you if you wanted whatever program to run every time you do something? Strange cause it sure appeared for me whenever I tried to run something. Yeah sure it can be disabled through a funky program like TweakUI, which is fine for you and me. How many average users know about TweakUI?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    UAC (that "annoying" thing you speak of) can be disabled through the control panel. Wile E already explained the format thing. I seem to remember another thread where you said you don't use anti-virus or anti-spyware cause you don't need it. Well, enjoy is all I can say.
     
  20. jgrahl

    jgrahl New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    57 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Monroe, Michigan
    10 minutes? C'mon like they could honestly say they enjoy it after 10 minutes. 10 minutes is not thorough enough. I highly doubt they were able to use the applications they always use at home. What was the computer user level of those interviewed?

    I have used Vista for 4 months before going back to XP. I tried hard to like it. I consider myself advanced with computers and can fix almost any problem I have. My experience is 15+ years.

    Problems with Vista including SP1 32 or 64 bit
    - not all 32-bit programs are compatible.
    - the sound control scheme causes hardware / software conflicts
    - it doesn't network well with Microsoft XP Home Edition or Win98 (some people care)
    - The games folder does not work with all games
    - It still runs 3D applications 10% slower on the same hardware than Windows XP
    - not enough programs utilize the increased amount of available ram
    - Too few games or applications REQUIRE Vista and / or DX 10
    - Most of the new features can be downloaded for free, legally, onto Windows XP

    What Vista offers to me that is good
    - User account control
    -
    -

    That is the only thing that I liked about Vista. However, it's not enough for me to change.
     
  21. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Yet again you are unable to answer the question in which you decide to respond to (which includes my post). Why don't you stop arguing with people if you are not going to offer any information in posts like this.
     
  22. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    I responded directly to his questions, and I directly answered all yours as well, go back to the last page and see if you can't figure it out, I thought it was pretty clear.
     
  23. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Actually, no you haven't answered his questions

    I think you need to go back and re-read my post because you didn't answer it at all. You think you have but according to what you posted you have not, only argued as you've done with the other user. In all, you really need to stop arguing with users that post in this thread (or any thread for that matter).
     
  24. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    lol, whatever you say all-knowing east. It's called debate. You don't have use tweakUI, it's easily disabled in the control panel. Wile E already expained the format thing. Did you not understand that?

    Here was my last response to you maybe you missed it. http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showpost.php?p=903957&postcount=70
     
  25. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    LOL, and you still do not answer his question nor did you read my post to even see if what you said even relates to my post. You cannot debate with a person if:
    -you do not limit yourself to the topic in which you decide to debate about
    -you do not understand what it is you are responding to
    -you ignore the subject(s) in which you decide to debate about.
    At this point it becomes arguing, check yourself.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page