1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Most powerful Win98 Hardware

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by MRCL, Mar 17, 2009.

  1. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,790 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Ok this might be an unusual request. But anyways.

    I was recently going trough my old cds, sorting out those that just collect dust and taking space away. And I found quite some amazing old skool games... for Win95/98. Now the thing is, I loved to play them and I still want to play them. BUT my oldest operating system running is Win2k, on the lappy. Some of the games won't run there. So I came across the idea of building a retro gaming rig, with Win98 on it.

    Now, what would be the highest-end hardware suitable for win98? I need suggestions for a motherboard, GPU, RAM (please none of Rambus) and of course a CPU.

    And no, virtual stuff is out of the question, I want a machine!

    Suggestionsare greatly appreciated:toast:
  2. Morrison5891

    Morrison5891 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    806 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Bannock County
    Find yourself an old P3. At least 1Ghz or even an 800Mhz would work
    MRCL says thanks.
  3. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Other than mobo and GPU chipset support, I dont think stuff would actually be that old. You could get a dual core running on it! :D

    IIRC, all the 9xx series Intel mobo chipsets supported 98, cant remember when graphics cards stopped being supported. You are probably safe with any DX9 card though.
    MRCL says thanks.
  4. ShogoXT

    ShogoXT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    974 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Ok this is sorta side tracking your question, but ive actually been able to get alot of old games working just fine on xp and sometimes vista. Some older DOS games are tricky, but my sound card gives me good emulation still.

    Tell me what games you are trying to run, maybe I can help. (im at work atm though, might be a while before i respond).
    MRCL says thanks.
  5. ShogoXT

    ShogoXT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    974 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Another note. For older DOS games you dont want TOO fast of a computer, otherwise the game is unplayably fast.
  6. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    I have got every Tomb Raider (still working on the first one), running on Vista :rockout:
    As ShogoXT says, you'll be suprised what you can get working. Though my Dad still won't give up his old Win 98 Machine. :rolleyes:
  7. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,790 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    The games I want to play the most are Redline Racer and S.C.A.R.S. maybe some Motocross Madness.

    Naw for the DOS games I like(d) to play (eg Monkey Island Series), theres ScummVM, for those I don't mind they run emulated.
  8. kiriakost

    kiriakost New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Volos, Greece

    :laugh: :laugh: make a Google search about "MAME games" . ;)
  9. ShogoXT

    ShogoXT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    974 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Dude seriously... try playing Magic Carpet 2 unemulated.
    "lol i got this game working, used to be so fun even though i couldnt get the sound working".

    *BAM all the way across the map and dead*

    "but... i only tapped the up key...."
  10. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    My dad got A-train working on a PC emulator, funny thing was, everything was zooming around at lightning speed, cus the PC was too fast! :roll:
  11. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,790 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    I remember GTA2 has such an issue under compability mode, if you don't adjust it, it runs at like 30000fps:laugh:
  12. paulm

    paulm New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    441 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    United States
    You should probably see if you can get uk2online to sell you his rig, he is running the exact hardware you're looking for, and I hear he just got a new PCI graphics card :roll:

    Sorry, I had to bring it up :D.
    [I.R.A]_FBi says thanks.
  13. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,412 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,462
    ^^ Lol
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Try running it in microsoft virtual pc and see if you can play any games on it. I'd think it would install rather quick as well.
  15. pro-infinity New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    111 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Hull,Uk
    i have a nice intel 815 motherboard with 1ghz cpu u and a rage 128 pro 8 or 16 mb graphics card if you wana swap me it for something better haha
  16. mrw1986

    mrw1986

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,111 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    I loved Redline Racer!
  17. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,790 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Virtual PC is out of the question:)

    Omg omg omg somebody who knows Redline Racer:eek:
  18. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Why's that ?
  19. pro-infinity New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    111 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Hull,Uk
    + 512sd ram might i add
  20. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Apart from the fact that Win98 won't do anything with the second core. Large amounts of memory are trouble as well (>512MB), besides that it has crap USB support and is an overal pos.


    My vote is VMware, like it or not. If you want an actual machine just get any P2/P3 you can find. It really won't matter that much. Games that run on nothing but win9x are far older than a P3.
    MRCL says thanks.
  21. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,790 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    I don't know... its just not the same.

    So P3 it is then, alright... I see what I can find, thanks y'all
  22. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,382 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    368
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    dumb question but my VMware to youe mean emulators?
  23. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,790 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Well I generalize. I just dont want to use emulators/virtual computers/other programs. I want the real thing.
  24. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,382 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    368
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    right ok cheers id just never heard the term VMware
  25. TroyForum New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Use an old Dell for a Win98 Gaming Computer

    I recommend using an old Dell computer for an old Windows 98SE gaming computer. I've done this myself on two computers. My old Win98 computer died on me and I had to find a replacement last year. You can go to the Dell website and look for models that still have Windows 98 drivers that you can download from the Dell website. I think this is easier than trying to build a computer from scratch. Sometimes you can find old office computers on the net or at local computer stores. First I put together an old Dell Optiplex GX50, but the PSU and configuration didn't allow me to get the video card I wanted. Right now, I keep it as a backup for Win98 games that can run on integrated graphics.

    I found the the most powerful Dell computer that still had Win98 drivers on their website is a Optiplex GX260. If you by the MiniTower configuration, this give you more options in installing a video card.

    Then you can search for the most powerful video card that also has Win98SE drivers available. I found that Omega Drivers can work w/ older Radeon cards. I found the most powerful Radeon card that could run on the PSU for the MiniTower GX260 was this:

    128MB ATI Radeon 9600XT AGP 8x VGA DVI Tv DDR 9600 XT 100437100 100-437100

    So I put these two together w/ the Omega Drivers and it works fine. I can run my Win98SE games just fine w/ the Radeon 9600XT. I've got it loaded w/ a couple of dozen different games that all play w/ good framerated under the 9600XT.

    I alot put alot of free software on it that runs in Win98SE, but I only use it for gaming.

    I understand that alot of people just use emulation software, but not me. I'm sorry, but some of my favorite computer games only run in Win98. They all can't run properly in WinXP and some of the can't even get started in Vista.
    I also find it very easy to do a clean install of Win98SE if it's needed. I don't have to verify anything w/ Bill Gates to put together my Win98 gaming computers.

    TroyForum

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page