1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI HD 7970 Lightning "GPU Reactor" Detailed

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Mar 6, 2012.

  1. neliz

    neliz MSI Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    330 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    214
    The correct name is "GPU Reactor" please put down your google-translate hazmat suits and carry on please!
     
  2. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,451 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,731
    and where did you pull your info from if i may ask, otherwise it is faux
     
  3. neliz

    neliz MSI Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    330 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    214
    I'm the guy partially responsible for it's name at MSI. :)
     
  4. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,451 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,731
    Ya and Im the guy responsible for Intels Success;)

    provide credentials please
     
  5. neliz

    neliz MSI Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    330 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    214
    google neliz +msi .. and bta and cadaveca can vouch for me, don't worry :)
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2012
  6. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,553 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Can you tell our (not TPU) PR rep to get us out a sample already Neliz... :p

    We have all been DIEING to get a hold of anything from you guys!

    EDIT: Let me add that comment is in fun. I talk with our rep a bit about availability, or lack there of. :)
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  7. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,451 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,731
    I Know Right HAHA!
     
  8. neliz

    neliz MSI Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    330 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    214
    Soon, soon.. very soon.

    this high res pic shows "GPU Reactor" , second line of "product features" on the R7970 Lightning Spec card.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,230 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    ^That, is exactly what every HD7000 card needs in their BIOS. I'm sick of being limited...
     
  10. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,282
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Whut!?!



    :roll:



    Anyway, If the "GPU Reactor" makes a difference on the cooler that ships with the card, that's cool.


    PLEASE TELL ME YOU CAN CHANGE LED COLOUR!!! (red, or ?yellow?:laugh: hint hint)


    :laugh:

    And what's the 3x3 OC kit?
     
  11. neliz

    neliz MSI Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    330 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    214
    Wait... Who are you again? :p

    Triple Overvoltage (GPU/MEM/VDDCI)
    Triple V-Check kit (GPU/MEM/VDDCI voltage)
    Triple Temp monitor (GPU/MEM/PWM)
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2012
  12. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,282
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Not anyone who's seen an MSI boards on his doorstep recently.:laugh:

    Wait, who's MSI, again? I haz confuse?

    :nutkick:

    Ah. I was maybe hoping that you might bundle some sort of display/manipulation device for all those features with the Reactor Core, as there are pretty standard for the Lightning cards, aren't they? Anyway, it said kit, so i though it might be something in it's own packaging or something. Maybe next time. ;)
     
  13. NHKS

    NHKS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    596 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    I agree, you have a point!..

    so this is not recommended for micro-ATX boards (Asus 'Gene' & MSI G45). Also, 3-way & 4-way X-fire might not be possible, I guess.
    I just felt that this GPU reactor 'feature', however useful, should not have wasted space behind the PCB.
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2012
  14. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,860 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,715
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    [​IMG]

    OK, "GPU Core Reactor".

    Yup
     
  15. NHKS

    NHKS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    596 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
  16. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    I thought core was supposed to be 1300Mhz or similar? I mean 1070 isn't much higher than the 1k card's that are out right now :confused:
     
  17. NHKS

    NHKS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    596 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    The 'stock' speed of the 7970 core is 925MHz.
    1070MHz on the MSi R7970 LE means a 15.6% overclock, which as far as I know, is the highest speed for a "factory OC'd 7970 card".
    Powercolor LCS 7970 (liquid cooling sys) is @ 1050Mhz,
    XFX 7970 DD Black Edition @ 1000MHz &
    Asus HD7970-DC2T-3GD5 @ 1000MHz.
    Gigabyte GV-R797OC-3GD @ 1000MHz

    click on the links to see the full specs.
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2012
  18. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,282
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    i think the ASUS card is 1010, no?
     
  19. neko77025

    neko77025

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    76 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    I don't believe the 1070 ... that seems very very low.

    And the power color 7970 PCS+ is 1100mhz ...


    If it is 1070 .. it better OC too like 1300.
     
  20. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,282
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    That what that slide that neliz posted shows..1300 MHz. hopefully every card does it, that'd be awesome for sure. IF the GPU Reactor is what makes this possible, then I'm all for it, ugly or not.
     
  21. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,553 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    I would imagine that unit would help PAST that point. MANY cards are darn close/over 1300Mhz on stock air anyway...Our (reference)sample hit 1.3k+ IIRC...
     
  22. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,282
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Sure. As far as I understand the slide, that 1300 MHz is refering to the CCC cap on a secondary BIOS, anyway. For me, this is ideal, as I prefer to not use other tools for VGA overclocks other than CCC. If, to make that work, the GPU Reator is needed, that is fine by me.

    I mean, sure, you cna push other cards quite high, but I'm more concerned with SUPPORTED speeds. You know, speeds taht all the cards will do out of the box. My use of Eyefinity means that I need multiple cards to get the framerates I want, so cards with identical clocking abilities, and not needing other software to do it is of the utmost importance for me.

    Of course, Eyefinity use itself is pretty uncommon, but to me, so is the extreme clocking scene. I mean, there are many guys to do it, but in the big picture, it's a single-digit percentage of users.
     
  23. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,553 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Not sure what that slide actually means. I took it as a general idea of what the card can do. I did not take it to infer nor allude to any CCC limits...however it may not be coincidence they both end at 1300Mhz. :confused:

    I hate CCC....its only use for me is jacking up the OCP/Power Limit thing. Outside of benching/reviewing, beasts like these run stock in my house.
     
  24. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,282
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Just read the top part of the slide thingie..says "Unlocked BIOS", shows higher limits, current included, so I tihnk they understand those needs and are going to address them. Of course, only neliz can answer that with any certainty.

    And while I may bug him about me not getting samples, that really has nothing to do with him at all, so I do trust him to be honest about this stuff as much as he can.

    I'd really like to get my eyefinity rig going right, I'm looking for a reference 6950 2GB so i can try trifire on those, and if that doesn't work, I gotta buy differnt cards. Maybe I'l ljsut no nV, I am not sure. But anyway, because of that config, I guess my needs might actually fit with what these cards offer. I'm hoping that they can do 1300 MHz, and that two of them would be enough for Eyefinity and 60 FPS.
     
  25. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,230 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    What's taking sapphire so long? maybe they are waiting for NVIDIA... idk. They have launched the ultimate HD6970 only the day HD7970 was launched.
    The ultimate HD6970 (reference cost, DualFan cooling) is so powerful at overclocking it can reach around 1150Mhz core clock. 1100Mhz at only 1.215V! That's the power sapphire has.
    Back in the HD5800 days they had the power to produce an HD5850 who could clock 1Ghz at Sub-1.2 volts, again, with advanced cooling and reference cost
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page