1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI R6950 Twin Frozr ii

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Zondermorren, Dec 30, 2012.

  1. Zondermorren New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Holland
    Hello, I've just bought a MSI R6950 Twin Frozr ii, a discount left over from my local dealer. It runs very smooth, but I wonder if I'm able to unlock the shaders to the 6970-level. RBE gives the possibility free, but I've got no BIOS-switch on my card (the spot where it should be is empty). So flashing my re-saved BIOS will be risky or don't work at all, I'm afraid.

    Just overclocking is also a challenge, because the limits are 840/1325 (stock is 800/1250). In CCC, EVGA and Afterburner the voltage cannnot be changed.

    So who owns also a MSI R6950 Twin Frozr ii without a BIOS-switch (late model I suppose) and managed to unlock and/or overclocked it beyond the limits? I'm very interested in the results.
     
  2. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Central Israel
  3. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    While I didn't manage to unlock I have 2 of the Twin Frozr II PE/OC edition 6950's and neither would unlock for me.

    Also the voltage can be changed on the Twin Frozr II in afterburner as I have done it, you just have to enable unofficial overclocking. The Twin Frozr II actually runs at a higher voltage of 1.21v which enables you to get some very nice overclocks out of it. I run at 940/1440 when I have my overclock running (though I hardly need it).
     
  4. Zondermorren New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Holland
    Settings?

    Thanks. I run Afterburner 2.3.0 but can't find de setting to enable unofficial overclocking. Am I blind, or the wrong version?
    Will the higher voltage set itself?
     
  5. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    you have to go to the config file for it and go to the unoffical overclocking section and make some changes, just google it and you should find it quick enough as I don't recall the specifics. You do have to manually set the voltage however.
     
  6. Zondermorren New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Holland
    Unlocked Afterburner

    Thanks, I've managed to 'unlock' Afterburner. Is the 1.21 voltage really safe? I agree, the card runs already smooth on 800/1250.
    But I still want to unlock the extra shaders, because they are there not doing anything... Anybody any succes on this?
     
  7. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    The voltage is safe, it is meant to be the standard voltage for our model of card which I found to very nice considering how much overclocking headroom it gave me.
     
  8. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,558 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,716
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page