1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Mussels Laptop review (worklog)

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by Mussels, Jan 21, 2012.

  1. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    Thanks for the Tip with K10stat! With it, i was able to undervolt the E-450 of my mother quite a bit ;)
    Mussels says thanks.
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,015 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,405
    my voltages are all edited in now, stock vs undervolted. have a look, it might interest you.
    Velvet Wafer says thanks.
  3. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    where, i seem to be blind?:)
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,015 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,405
    post 11, behind the spoiler tag. i've been editing the entire review into there.
    Velvet Wafer says thanks.
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,015 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,405
    latest AMD drivers (12.1) let me choose which GPU to use, so its no longer locked to the APU in DX9.


    while i'm glad this has happened, dear god does it complicate my GPU tests all over again...
    There is a toggle so i can set it to the GPU on power, and APU on battery. this makes a lot of sense to me.

    quick retest, heaven in DX9, 640x480 window:

    "performance" GPU: (6470 1GB) (side note: this test did not raise the CPU above 60C with the CPU at 2GHz.)
    Average FPS: 25.0
    Score: 631
    Min: 15.6
    Max 51.0

    "Power Saving" GPU: (forgot to check CPU temps because i'm 'special' like that)
    Average FPS: 31.8
    Score: 801
    Min: 19.8
    Max 58.5




    to movie quote a line from spaceballs: "ITS ON BACKWARDS!?!?"
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2012
  6. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,121 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,127
    I thank you from 2.8Ghz on all four cores with no voltage bump.

    Thermal throttle to the 2Ghz P0 state after running OCCT for almost 10 minutes, 1.1vcore, going to try a bit more speed at that voltage.

    2.2ghz with OCCT at 1.1125 runs fine, occasionally it drops from throttling, then it jumps back up after a few seconds, and it starts at 2.8 just fine, going to try dropping the B0 state voltage and see where that gets me.
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2012
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,015 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,405
    Mathragh pointed out dual channel ram may affect APU performance significantly, so i'll have to test that one out. Pity i dont have 1600Mhz ram to test with, since thats apparently supported.
  8. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    285
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    According to Wiki your A6-3400 only supports up to 1333MHz RAM, with support for 1600MHz RAM starting at the A6-3410MX(a 45Watt model aswell).

    So! I guess that saves you the optional buying of 1600MHz Ram :)
    Mussels says thanks.
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,015 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,405
    one model down, typical. thanks for checking that.
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,015 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,405
    this thread/review is not dead - just flat out at work, been promoted and now working 7 days a week, upto 10 hour shifts a day.

    also cant seem to lock the CPU to 800MHz which is annoying the hell out of me.
  11. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,521 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,950
    sub.
  12. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    285
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Have you tried setting the max CPU state very low in advanced power management in windows?

    Worked for me.
    Mussels says thanks.
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,015 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,405
    i tried in the CCC which i thought was the same setting, and it failed to work.
  14. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    285
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Hehe, well, I can only say advanced power settings works for me. Havent even tried CCC since its downwards limited to 800Mhz instead of the 500Mhz I clocked my APU at, at the lowest P-state.
    Mussels says thanks.
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,015 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,405
    Sadly this thread died off as real life got busy :(


    laptops still going strong, and a delayed thank you to futuremark for providing keys for benchmark tools.
    Mathragh says thanks.
  16. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    285
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    GF's Llano also still going strong! Decreased the clocks by 100MHz at one point (at 2,2GHz, with 3,0GHz turbo atm), because she had some bluescreens, but apart from that everything remains fine.

    Still don't really get why they don't clock these chips higher by default hehe.
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,015 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,405
    i found out that mine crashes if its OC'd and i swap between AC and battery power, and that kinda kills a lot of the benefits of OCing a laptop :/ one bump of a power cable and hard freeze

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page