1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My Computer Randomly Shuts Down Completely When Playing Any Games (PSU Issue?)

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by TricksterMatt, Apr 28, 2009.

  1. TricksterMatt

    TricksterMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    259 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Hey guys, I have mentioned this in another topic before. But It went away when I re-installed Windows again, but now it keeps on automatically shutting down completely when playing any games for like 20-30 minutes and BOOM shut down e.g. Crysis and G.R.I.D... My load tempreatures for the GPU + CPU + Memory + MOBO are never above 55 degrees either... So it is not over heating... I'm thinking its my PSU? It's a Colors-IT 600W one... It's a very very old PSU (3-4 years old) used by my brother, but gave it to me for my new PC upgrade. Specs for the PSU are in the link



    http://www.digitalpromo.co.uk/color...u-pfc-12cm-fan-204pin-sata-retail-p-3496.html



    If it is the PSU? What one should I get? Are OCZ stealthxstream and gamexstream PSU good? They are the price range I'm looking into if my PSU is causing all these problems.
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,013 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,404
    PSU and overheating CPU/GPU are the three main causes.

    colors-IT sounds like a totally generic brand, so yeah... i'd be replacing that.

    StealthXstreme and gameXstreme are teh same PSU's, the only difference is the fan. StealthX's dont have the gay blue LED in them.

    My PC (Specs as it is now) ran on a stealthX 600W, so yours will run with plenty of room to spare.
    TricksterMatt says thanks.
  3. TricksterMatt

    TricksterMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    259 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Yeah, I will get the StealthXStream and hope it solves my problems once and for all! So my PSU wasn't giving enough power when playing highly intense games like crysis and G.R.I.D then? I can leave my PC all night and day with that crappy Colors-IT to download stuff and it wont re-boot, only re-boot when playing games and thats it... So I'm thinking a 3-4 years old PSU just wont do it... It only has one 12V rail which has 30 amps on it...
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,013 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,404
    one rail isnt the problem and 30 amps should be enough... but cheap PSU's are cheap PSU's. Specs dont mean much if its made by the lowest bidder.

    Gaming uses more power and makes more heat than runnind 2D stuff, so yes - it is possible a PC will run fine in 2D but crash in games on a faulty PSU.
  5. TricksterMatt

    TricksterMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    259 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Thanks Mussels, just ordered my PSU and arriving tommorow :)... I hope all these problems are solved once and for all. Any more problems and I'm gonna explode xD. Since you use to have that wizard avatar with googly eyes, can you cast a spell on my computer to make everything work flawlessly? ^_^ lol
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,013 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,404
    sorry, w1zzard turned me into a crazy shroom for stealing his avatar, no more magic spells.
  7. ShogoXT

    ShogoXT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    974 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    This is oddly close to what my issue. Like, almost exactly the same.... o_O. Funny too you will probably see my thread a few threads down...
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,013 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,404
    except that your PSU has a very good reputation, and is high wattage. his is not.
  9. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,121 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    I swear to god,if you ordered that OCZ stealthxsteam psu and it didn't work then you've been cursed like i have,i've ordered a OCZ stealthstream 500w psu which i thought it be okay but when i plugged every plug in my computer,nothing happened..and so it was faulty ¬.¬ and i replaced it with the corsair CX400w,good luck with your OCZ psu and i hope it doesn't fck up on you like mine did
  10. TricksterMatt

    TricksterMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    259 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Hahahaha, I know I hope it doesn't come DOA xD... So you've fixed your problem then with a new PSU? ^^
  11. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,121 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    Nah my old one was rubbish lol so i decided get a better one and picked out the OCZ which was faulty when it arrived at my door and tested ¬¬ then replaced it for the corsair
  12. TricksterMatt

    TricksterMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    259 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    ¬.¬ I hate DOA products lol... It sucks :(... Hopefully everything will go smoothly tommorow :)
  13. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,121 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    i hope so for you,but be warned..if it works then great if it doesn't power anything up even with the 24pin and 4pin connected to mobo and you hear some weird noise then call the suckers and ask for replacement ASAP,i asked the forum for help about my ocz and then it comes to conclusion they all say its a faulty and i should RMA and then i took alexp999 and replace it for a corsair CX400w instead of getting another OCZ; heres my thread to my failed OCZ:
    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=91181
  14. Polarman

    Polarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,627 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Rimouski
    In the System Properties window, click on the Advanced tab.

    Locate the Startup and Recovery area and click on the Settings button.

    In the Startup and Recovery window, locate and uncheck the check box next to "Automatically restart"
  15. TricksterMatt

    TricksterMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    259 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Just installed my 600W PSU and no more gay shut downs :D... I played Crysis for over an hour and did major gun fights and shit, and it didn't shut down ^_^... So it was that crappy 4 year old PSU that didnt give enough juice
  16. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,121 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    glad yours worked
  17. TricksterMatt

    TricksterMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    259 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I know I am too, I'm sorry that yours didn't thought :(... When I was installing the PSU, I was crapping my self because of what you said (the cursed OCZ) :L
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,013 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,404
    woot, congrats
  19. TricksterMatt

    TricksterMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    259 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    hehe thanks, and thanks for helping me out as well for all my issues and previous issues I have had from upgrading my old 4 year old piece of crap to a shiny new system ^_^... Finnaly I can sleep and stuff without worrying about any errors and spending any more cash £_£... And I can actually properly use my system fully now :)
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,013 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,404
    its fun putting it all together, its hell when somethings not quite right... but theres such a sense of security and warm fuzziness when you can abuse the hell out of it, and know that it wont crash, no matter what you do to it.
  21. ah121076 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i found the Solution !!!!! Very Easy One! it is the Bios SETUP! YES! in section "PC Health" you will find option for temperature warning. this makes your pc shuts down instead of giving you a warning. Raise the warning temp! that is it!!! (my warning was at 60. i raised it to 70)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page