1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

my overclock campaign......

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by d1nky, Mar 25, 2013.

  1. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,557 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,205
    earlier in another thread I foolishly said that I probably could get my asus hd7950 direct cuII to near 1210/1800 (like a 7970 mentioned in the thread) if I bumped up voltages..........

    ive been testing: 5min kombustor burn in then heaven and valley bench every 25mhz increment.

    so far I am stable with above procedures @1210/1755 @1275vcore 1663vmem

    screenpics and benches to follow....or a plea for a cheap gpu lol

    update: nasty screen of pink/blue when @ 1210/1765 in kombustor after a few min.

    may bench 1210/1750..............
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2013
  2. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,557 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,205
  3. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,743 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,768
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    can get 1300 @ 1.35V on GPU?

    :p

    I leave my 7950's @ 1050 & 1.125V for daily usage, nice balance between performance and noise from the fans.
  4. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,557 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,205
    yea but that's scary territory.......on air
  5. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,743 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,768
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    meh. For running a benchmark, should be fine. I do it ALL the time, really.(I mean 1.35V)


    That said, that's still a pretty decent score out of an FX-4100, what ya got yur ram at? Kinda makes me wanna pop my FX-4100 in a board...
  6. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,557 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,205
    apparently with that score im second?!

    fx @4.4
    ram @ 1600 8gb (I had to put some amd stick in which is stock 1333 but bios saying im oc to 1600, but doesn't register with os software?)

    and gpu is stable benching at the mo....may go back up to 1210/1750 and fx @4.6


    update:

    fx @4.6
    gpu @1210/1750
    bench to follow......

    p.s I usually have my 7950 @1200/1500 24/7


    UPDATE: tried the above crashed half way through with green vertical lines, may try up the voltage and decrease mem
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2013
  7. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,557 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,205
  8. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,557 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,205
  9. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,310 (7.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,759
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    I can confirm 1300 core and 1450 on memory at 1.35v, though my crossfire setup couldnt handle the temps, only worked 24/7 for single gpu.
    Waiting a couple of weeks to put both cards on AIO water coolers, then i'll see where they can be pushed.
    d1nky says thanks.
  10. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,557 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,205
    im about to go for it.....

    fx @ 4.87 (4876mhz)
    gpu @ 1225/1745

    update: would crash on these clocks. may lessen them to bench. time to up the cpu and try......
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2013
  11. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,557 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,205
  12. Kaynar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    615 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Nice graphics score. 11.1k is what I score with a 7970 at 1125/1425 with stock voltage. I'm pretty sure that if you had a better CPU/platform you would score about 500 points more in the Graphics score (I've noticed such a difference between a 4Ghz i7 930 and a 4.4ghz i5 3570K)..
  13. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,557 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,205
    thanks. im trying to push the cpu @4.9ghz but my motherboard is shockingly shit and throttles really bad. im pushing 1.6vcore through the cpu and its getting better. I think if I had a better motherboard the graphics score would improve again, and Im hoping to get a crosshair and fx8350. (latest drivers don't feel as stable as the 12.3 beta 7s)

    next phase to come........

    update: seems cpu throttling and gpu vdroop has limited me to the lastest score, I may buy a new mobo next week and try a stable 5ghz cpu and try again.

    I really want to hit the 8K with a fx4100/7950.

    atleast I have all the top spots with this config on 3dmark11 apart from 1st :mad:
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2013
  14. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,557 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,205
    beat the top person but my pc has nearly died a few times ha

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
  15. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,557 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,205
  16. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,557 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,205
    why are my combined scores lacking?

    im trying to run some benches and beat all those with the same config!

    when comparing scores ive noticed all my combined graphics/physics scores are low but independent scores are good!

    example: http://www.3dmark.com/compare/fs/345004/fs/198732

    my names damo19894 on all 3dmark stuff

    any thoughts?
  17. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I'm at 5276 with 7870 @1200
  18. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,489 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,900
    The CPU clock is higher on the other score. It could be RAM speed/latency related as well.
    d1nky says thanks.
  19. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,557 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,205
    that was compared to another guy, showing him with lower independent scores but higher combined scores.

    I feel if I can tweak them ill be hitting a lot higher, just seems in comparison to a lot of other peoples my combined is crap!

    may oc my ram a little bit

    on an i7....im killing a fx4100 lol

    this guy has all the top spots for 4100/7950 3dmark2013.......not for long !! just seen im in with all the 7970s :D http://www.3dmark.com/search#/?mode=basic&url=/proxycon/ajax/search/cpuname/fs/P/AMD%20FX-4100&cpuName=AMD FX-4100
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2013
  20. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,557 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,205
  21. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,557 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,205
    so to the people that know of me, I bought a mobo just to beat the person at the top of all the 4100/7950 3dmark leaderboards...... pahaha! (watch out im getting an 8350 soon)

    may try higher, well im happy ive beaten 7970s with fx4100s! and probably embarrassed a few others :laugh:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    search 3dmark 4100/7950s ill be there. NO1 :roll: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/6373074

    btw I don't use water <<<<
    Mathragh says thanks.
  22. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,743 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,768
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Nice clocks on the FX-4100!


    I'll give mine a go soon, but still got other stuff to do first.
    d1nky says thanks.
  23. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,557 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,205
    i really want to get in higher with the 7970s scores (no1 8326) (I got a 7950 btw)

    when its cold i may open windows up, dress up warm and try higher haha!
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2013
  24. Mydog

    Mydog

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    454 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    First of all I think you have done well so far :toast:

    On the CPU I've got nothing but on your 7970 I believe you have some options. First have you tried other bioses? Second have you tried to use TriXX while OC'ing the 7970?

    I got two ref cards and have flashed both with what I think is an MSI Lightning bios and I use TriXX to OC my cards, it's a modified version called "Sapphire Trixx 4.4.0b-MOD" and gives you a bit more on vcore if your card allows it. Oh, and you get vmem too.

    I'll be happy to share/upload it if you don't already have it or can't find it.

    Here's a screen of the GPU-clocks I've got so far, I still got a lot to do on the memory.

    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

    d1nky says thanks.
  25. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,557 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,205
    this is a 7950 and im using a modded afterburner where I can change mem/core voltage (although im maxed on vcore) but I like it as I can keep an eye on voltages also.

    trixx does sound appealing and im not sure what other bioses I could use?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page