1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My rig keeps on loosing powe/ restarting

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Azazel, Oct 5, 2008.

  1. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    Computer keeps on restarting.

    1)i was just browsing the web and it just turned off and restarted itself. twice (second time was in the asus start screen) looged back in normally.
    2)i was on for a few minuits and the same thing happend but o had completly lost power and i could not turn on the computer on at all,when power came back i undercloked my CPU when i turned it on again and restarted. told it to restart to last best known config. after a couple seconds it did the same thing and now its on as normal.

    my CPU temps are 30-33 and my gpu is at 40 degrees.

    so what could have been the problem?
  2. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    ok it just did it again
  3. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    ok did it again.
  4. ascstinger

    ascstinger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    544 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    In a house
    power supply? only thing that comes to mind here
    Azazel says thanks.
  5. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    ok i think i fixed it. il post if its a fail. CPU cooler was packed with dust.

    il probably check power suply next if it fails.
  6. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    so far so good
  7. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    ok it just did it again. it was on for like 3 hours this time. dam
  8. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,532 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    power supply

    the same happened to me.

    edit: although with a corsair ???? that is surprising.
    Azazel says thanks.
  9. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    how do i test the power suply, i remember a paper clip trick., what power suply died on you?
  10. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,532 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    a cheapo one that came with the case. but what you describing happened to me exactly.


    edit:
    here is the thread
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2008
  11. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    yes seems like the most likely problem.

    eh. iv been looking for the power suply test and i found it so im gonna test it out.
    i hope its the power suply and nothing more

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page