1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NAS Vs Microserver

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by FreedomEclipse, Jun 4, 2013.

  1. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,667 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,273
    Ive been working a fair bit recently. and while ive been working Ive had a lot of time to think what would be the next upgrade best upgrade for my system.

    Unfortunately I have drawn a blank with this train of thought apart from my hard drives that could do with swapping out for new ones.

    I have decided to go down the route of taking 2 or 3 of the hard drives out of my PC and putting them into a NAS or a HP Microserver.

    The NAS Im looking at will be Netgear NAS Duo V2

    Unfortunately I have heard mixed reviews about this and most reviews say that its speeds are generally pretty poor

    With that in mind I have chosen a second option - HP ProLiant G7 N54L The OS of choice will most likely be FreeNas.

    Both of these will be used for the same purpose - as a centerhub which all my media is stored on so that i can be streamed to any device on the network at any given time.

    Im leaning towards the HP as they are offering a £100 rebate on it which will work out cheaper to buy then the netgear NAS.

    With that said I currently have no idea which is the best bang for buck NAS out of the market


    If you have any NAS recommendations or advice on setting up a Microserver - Id like to hear it.
     
  2. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,875 (7.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,150
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    My friend on here UnholyWar bought the HP microserver with £100 cashback, and he couldnt be happier. He runs a boatload of stuff on there and streams everything around his house, and dumped a couple of 2TB drives in there, for storage, and also backing up all the PC's and laptops in the house. Great for file storage.
     
    FreedomEclipse says thanks.
  3. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,667 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,273
    what OS does he use with it?
     
  4. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,875 (7.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,150
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Old fashioned Win7
     
  5. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,536 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Could go down the tip and salvage an old PC and then out free nas on it.
     
  6. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,667 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,273
    I thought about this too. unfortunately I dont have a spare system and whatever spare system i do have is ATX size. Its just easier to run with a HP Microserver as building M-ITX rig would cost more the HP Microserver and i wouldnt get £100 back
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2013
  7. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,181 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,971
    Location:
    Home
    I have heard good things about the HP microservers, I think you will not go wrong with it especially its cheaper than a NAS. NAS can be slow depending on the controller chip, but with this its at least "fast enough"
     
  8. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,965 (6.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,223
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I rebuild an old Dell desktop into a file server with all new parts for $400 including 2 2TB WD reds for raid 1. I run win8 pro to use the Hyperv program to mess around with VMs as well. full specs of mine are in my sig.
     
  9. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,667 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,273
    HP microserver still works out cheaper :p just not as powerful!
     
  10. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,667 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,273
    Well, Ive made my decision and ive decided to go with a Microserver. Im not getting it right away as im waiting for pay day but I'll probably see if i can do a mini-review when i get it as there doesnt seem to be one on the forums
     
  11. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,264 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,077
    Location:
    Concord, NH
  12. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,667 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,273
    yeah Ive been checking Synology out, they are pricier than Netgear but the reviews are generally more favorable from what ive seen.
     
  13. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,264 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,077
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I've heard only good things about their products. They are a bit on the pricy side though, you're right. I would really hate to get something that wasn't good if you're going to be spending a decent amount of money on it anyways.
     
  14. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,667 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,273
    I shall see!

    the HP Proliant still works out cheaper by a fair bit

    the Synology DS212j is $248, the HP ProLiant G7 N54L is $324 but gives $155 cashback so in the end the N54L works out at $168, is more powerful and can support/hold more hard drives.

    It just boils down to how long i want to spend messing about with setting up pretty much. Obviously the synology will be up and ready to go in a matter of minutes as I dont really care to have hard drives in raid config. gonna move 2 of my hard drives from my PC into the NAS.
     
  15. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,264 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,077
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Ah, yeah. You have to configure that HP box as it's a mini-server practically. If you just need a NAS, I would go with the Synology box, otherwise that extra power won't be very useful. If you just want it to work, I wouldn't go with the HP. If you're planning on doing more than just a NAS, then the HP sounds like a decent plan if you can't build it yourself cheaper (it is a Turion CPU after all, it's not all that fast.)
     
  16. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,667 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,273
    well, Im gonna hang on and see if i can score a good deal on some WD 3-4TB Reds while im waiting. Theres always so place offering some cut price deals
     
  17. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,181 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,971
    Location:
    Home
    Not considering Greens instead (or indeed any other colour)?
     
  18. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,667 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,273
    well since the 3TB WD Red is only £15 more then the 3TB green Id rather go for the red due to its longer warranty given the price.

    Then theres the whole debate about the head parking wearing the drive out quicker then it should.
     
  19. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,264 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,077
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    The reds also have a higher platter density (1TB/platter), their performance is pretty good, and they have TLER. Everything you want in a drive that you might want to RAID.
     
  20. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,667 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,273
    I dunno about RAID, I might run with a RAID 0 setup for the extra performance. Not that i really need it as the fastest speed on my network is 100mb. Its more or less going to be a media/file storage server for me to dump a few files on but mainly my music and video collection. hence the emphasis on 3-4TB hard drives
     
  21. Unholywar

    Unholywar

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    66 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    just updated it and installed server 2012 i would get a micro server, like rcoon said £100 cash back so on cost me £97 + drives
     
  22. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,667 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,273
    How much did that 2012 license set you back? :p
     
  23. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    Get the micro server, upgrade the ram to 8gb and stick ESXI (free) on it. this will let you run any OS simultaneously allowing you to to run a free linux NAS operating system like freenas or unraid to manage your hard drives and an old copy of xp for any applications.

    This will give you the flexibility of upgrading your operating systems in the future without ever turning it off and trying new operating systems without disturbing the current ones.

    You also have the option of expanding a micro servers capacity with esata and port multipliers if you ever needed the extra drives.
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2013
  24. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,264 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,077
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    It's a good idea, but considering what she is looking to use this for I think it's a bit overkill. I don't think that's the right option here because all it will be doing is storing video files. You don't need virtualization to do that. NAS devices don't tend to need to be flexible and that's what she's looking at doing. Just my 2 cents.

     
  25. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!

    Yea if they are not comfortable with Linux the nas route would be simpler. But most of the things I mentioned are gui and have lots of guides on the net.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page