1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Naturally Aspired PC WaterCooling Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by EastCoasthandle, Feb 8, 2008.

  1. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,026 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    485
    Location:
    Australia
    I have not put them back together yet. Next loop change I was thinking of adding them in.
  2. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Pressure is the same no matter where. Instead of clamping the tubes, you can put it on a fan controller.
  3. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,750 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,605
    It's a PWM pump, and it doesn't operate below 9V, so there is a very fine line between perfect noise and speed and not running at all. I had it conk off at least 3 times, so I gave up on the fan controller. The crux of the problem is that my board doesn't seem to work well PWM wise with the pump, and won't run below 3300 rpm no matter how low I set my temp curve. It should go down to 1500. Anyhow, now I have no more shutoff worries, and it's still pretty quiet at 3300.
  4. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Ahhh, fair enough. Didn't know you already attempted a controller.

    You can also use something like this to help reduce turbulence in the res, as long as the outlet feeding the pump is also threaded inside the res. Helped tremendously on my Alphacool res top.

    http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/bimablanadbp.html
  5. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    its due to the top of the pump... all of these Restops, have severe problems with the formation of cyclones in the water.... EK sells anti cyclone inserts for their Res, i bet one of these would help you very much with your problem;)
  6. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    lol. I linked him the Bitspower anti-cyclone fitting. It does work quite well.
  7. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    didnt read your post,before posting myself... but it seems great minds think alike! :p
  8. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,750 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,605
    It's a travesty that this thread has slipped by unnoticed for this long. Heck, I had to check the box under Old Thread Warning just to post this scathing diatribe. For shame, Gents, for shame!!
    Velvet Wafer and grunt_408 say thanks.
  9. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,749 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,194
    That's true. Anybody got anything new? I should be adding some GPU blocks soon (I know - I said I wouldn't do it...).
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,482 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,996
    not exactly "new" but I thought we needed a picture to go with all this talk of revival;)

    [​IMG]
    Judas, coljarcker and MT Alex say thanks.
  11. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,750 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,605
    That is sweet. Add a few quick disconnects and you would be in removable motherboard heaven.
    sneekypeet says thanks.
  12. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,749 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,194
    I agree. It's very clean, sneeky. Do you have pics of it in the system? And with the double-stacked fans, were you using those for extra static pressure or was one hollowed out for a fan shroud to reduce noise, etc?
    sneekypeet says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,482 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,996
    hollowed for spacing. If I only used one fan the rad would hit the rear I/O and expansion card raised sections.


    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2011
    Cold Storm says thanks.
  14. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    ^That's beautiful, you and your amazing builds/cases. :respect:
    sneekypeet says thanks.
  15. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,749 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,194
    How about this?

    [​IMG]

    Gotta keep this thread alive!
    Judas, Cold Storm, HammerON and 3 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,750 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,605
    Damn, I love the double tubing between the video cards. Does that improve flow, or just make it look super special bad ass?
  17. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,482 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,996
    I read it doesn't hurt flow;) Even if it helps a little, who cares, I'm banking on looking bad ass is the main reason its in his rig:roll:
    t_ski says thanks.
  18. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,450 (3.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,544
    Are you using a spare Bitspower tube to brace your second video card? Nice idea:)
    Great build by the way!!!
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,749 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,194
    For me it has two purposes:

    1. Since these are a little smaller ID than the 1/2" ID tubing I ude, two pipes means that these won't restrict the flow any.

    2. If you look at the exit fitting on the bottom block, you'll see by using the dual tubes I was able to exit on the right, which means it's closer to where the tubing runs out toward the rad in the bottom. If I used a single tube between the blocks, it would have had to ecit on the left.

    You caught that one, eh? I noticed the cards were sagging under the weight a little, and I stuck that in there as a temporary fix. Works great until I can find something better.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Grnfinger

    Grnfinger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Canada
    [​IMG]

    HK 3.0 Nickle Plated
    MCW30
    Koolance VID 5970
    PA120.3
    MCR 120
    AlphaCool Single Bay res
    D5
    MT Alex says thanks.
  21. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,749 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,194
    Where's the PA120.3? In the top or in the front?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,224 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,450
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Decent Advice Needed

    Hi all, I'm hoping to step into the watercooling arena to keep the life of my i7 920 going. I've recently had to downclock it to 3.4 from 3.6 as it caused a blue screen due to temps. I also just want to play with water as I like to fiddle and w/c is the best damn fiddling i figure i can do.

    Problem is I run a Silverstone Fortress FT02 and for the life of me I can't figure out the best way to go. No matter which way i look there seems to be major hurdles to leap.

    I could simply remove my bottom case fans (60cm depth right away) but it's made worse by my 580 lightning at 12" long (makes bottom clearance 60cm bang on - with fans out.)

    Is it worth my while taking out one 18cm fan and putting a 120.1 rad in there bottom mounted? or would it be any better than my megahalem (on push and pull)?

    Other alternative is to mount the rad outside the case (I'd figured out a front mounted method but the tubing would be quite long and would it be noisier with a triple rad on the outside?)

    I would buy an obsidian in a flash but I love my fortress case.

    Just looking for sound advice - I know you guys know your stuff.

    Cheers.
  23. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,750 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,605
    the54thvoid says thanks.
  24. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Also, another thing to look at, if you want. Tower Pedestal that can be placed under the case.. you can place a 120 quad raid in there, pump, even house the psu if wanted..

    Me, I just took out the fans and placed a rad.. Black Ice Stealth would be the best bet for a rad and fans under even the longest video card. Thin and workable rad. I've had two and Loved them..
    the54thvoid says thanks.
  25. Grnfinger

    Grnfinger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Canada
    in the roof.. it was a buggger but I got it without to much dremel work.

    here is a better shot
    [​IMG]
    t_ski says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page