1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need advice on my overclock

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Asylum, Aug 18, 2008.

  1. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,795 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    673
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Its stable at the clocks i have it at now. (see pics below) but want to get it to 3.8
    When i go higher it crashes.My memory timings look off but when i set them manualy to the 1066 specs it crashes out in a few minutes with memtest.Take a look at my bios settings and see if you see anything im missing...any advice would be helpful.
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
  2. nINJAkECIL

    nINJAkECIL New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    235 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    try to relax the memory. backed it up a little bit, and find the max OC for ur procie first.
    i think any E8400 would do 4ghz without breaking a sweat with 1,3-1,4v vcore with everything set to auto. I havent got my hand on any nvidia-based mobo yet, but maybe u need to upped the nForce SPP voltage and NF200 Voltage level 1-2 step from default, if auto is not good enough.
    Asylum says thanks.
  3. dendrobates New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I have same MB and but different memory. Your memory is listed at 2.0 and 2.1 voltage I would bump it up to 2.10. I would also turn your FSB back down to 1.10 I hate how the auto setting ramps it up so much. A high VTT will kill these chips fast. Why do you think anything over 1.2 is in the red zone.

    I have my E8500 at 3.8ghz prime95 stable for 20 hours and counting. I set all my voltages manually to lowest setting with the exception of the memory (corsair dominator 1066 2x2gb) which is at 2.1 and vcore which is at 1.325. Which I will lower once I know it is 24 hours stable.
    Asylum says thanks.
  4. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I would try the memory at 2.1v and the timings 5-5-5-15-2T. Don't got nothing to loose. Let us know how it goes if you try it.
    Asylum says thanks.
  5. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,795 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    673
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Thanks guys got it to 3.8 and stable for 8 hours now. 1700 fsb and memory at 1050.
    Got a 17500 on 3dmark 06.
  6. dendrobates New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    17500??? 8800gt sli??? I have 9800gtx in sli and that's the same score I got ... let's see same MB, same pocessor (basically), same version of windows, both have 1066 memory...
    What am I doing wrong? By my account I should have a better score than you and yet we are the same... :banghead:
  7. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,795 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    673
    Location:
    South Carolina
    I had my cards overclocked also!
  8. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    RAM timings: 5-5-5-15-2T

    RAM speed: 1066

    CPU voltage: 1.4V?
  9. dendrobates New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I have amp edition 9800gtx running at 750mhz core and 1150 (2300) memory. How high are your clocks?
  10. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    what did you do to get it stable?
  11. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,795 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    673
    Location:
    South Carolina
    I set my my cards at 700 1700 1000.... set memory volts 2.1.... lowered my cpu fsb volts to 1.1 .....cpu volts at 1.31.....ram timings at 5-5-5-15-2t
  12. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I new the timings had something to do with that.

    Glad it worked out. enjoy the overclock!!! :Toast:
    Asylum says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page