1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

need for advice for buying a new graphic card!!!

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by sxulocktor, Sep 12, 2008.

  1. sxulocktor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hello people!

    my computer right NOW, is this:

    C2D E8400 + Xigmatek RS1283
    Asus Rampage Formula X48
    MSI 8800gt OC HeatPipe Version
    2x1gb ST blue @ 1000Mhz
    X-fi Extreme Audio + Edifier R131
    WD 320Gb 16mb
    IstarUSA 750W TC-750PD1
    Samsung 226nw (in future will be replaced with a samsung T260 )


    and im going to change my graphic card.


    which one of this graphic cards shouls i buy for playing all the games in 1920x1200 at highest graphic detail and if its possible, with mas AA and AF filtering ?


    BFG GTX280 1GB (US$ 540)
    Radeon HD 4870x2 2gb (US$ 680)
    Radeon HD 4870 (US$ 360)




    which sould i buy? which is better?



    PD: notice that i live in argentina, so thats the reason that the priced i listed above were very high, because my country has very high taxes for importing electronic things.
  2. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    if you can afford it go with the 4870x2, best performer there no doubt, especially at 1920x1200 with aa etc, although can you post specs of your psu, not familiar with that model, you need a lot of juice to power a 4870x2

    and if i was spending that $ on a gpu, id definately get another 2gb ram
  3. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Get either the GTX280 or 4870x2 or 2x 4870's.
  4. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Go with the 4870X2 if you can afford it!
  5. sxulocktor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    its a server power supply:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817147045
  6. Jeffredo

    Jeffredo

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    769 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    The GTX 280 or HD 4870X2 would be better choices at that resolution. The GTX 280 might be a better match with your mid-range CPU.
  7. sxulocktor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    i have forgotten to say that my CPU is OCed to 3.8 ghz 24/7
  8. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Wow thats one weak 750w. I would get a better one if you get a 4870x2.
  9. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Thats still mid-range realistically, 4ghz is almost a standard with an e8400.
  10. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    It's still 60 amps @ 12 volts... Which is more than enough..
  11. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Is iStar even a good brand? I've never heard of them.. And its only gonna get 18a, they don't combine.
  12. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    18amps = 216 watts in its own, the video card doesn't use that much...

    iStar is a decent brand, that power supply is probably pretty loud, they are built for servers mainly which knocks their efficiency down, they run hot and loud and just built to last.

    Not saying I wouldn't recommend a better psu, but his is realistically powerful enough.
    The card has 2 plugs, which will without a doubt pull from 2 different rails, the card pulls slightly over 200 watts itself.
  13. DarkMatter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,714 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    The X2 does use that much and more. It's near 300W under load. PCIe gives 150W in theory, but I think that 100W is more realistic. Don't get me wrong the X2 would work on his PSU, but if it was me I wouldn't feel too compfortable.

    @OP

    IMO a GTX280 would be better for you, you could overclock it to performance levels closer to the X2, if you feel is not fast enough. Take into account the dual core CPU, the X2 is not as fast with dualies as it is with quads, so performance would closer in your case, plus you save some bucks.

    Or you could just take the HD4870. It's fast enough IMO, unless Crysis is the game you desperately need plating at max settings. You would save even more money you could spend in the future, when that money will be probably better spent than now.
  14. sxulocktor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    ok, but now i have noticed that i have a problem:

    my PSU only have 2 PCIe 6 pin connctors an those cards have 1x6 and 1x8 pin connectors, sooooo, what should i do? because i have looked in the internet and the adapters to 8 pin need 2x6 pin connectors, and in that case i will have the 8pin connector but not the 6 pin connector


    :s
  15. Jeffredo

    Jeffredo

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    769 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Well, the HD 4870 only requires two six pin so that's an option (plus they have a nice 1GB model out now for that high res gaming :D). If you have extra molex connectors you could get one molex to six pin adapter for the six pin slot and then use your two existing six pin for the eight pin adapter.
  16. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I would go with a HD 4870 then because your psu would really be pushing it.
  17. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    What you need to realize is that he would be getting the juice from 2 rails, 36amps... That's 432 watts, its plenty more than enough by all means.
  18. DarkMatter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,714 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Oh, I thought it was only one rail for the PCIe conectors. I should have read the specs, I guess.
  19. sxulocktor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    hello people!

    well, MY PSU, (the istar) Is EXACTLY the SAME model than the Thermaltake Toughpower 750W. The have the same engine (PSH750, From CWT.) ant they have the same UL code.


    and its 80 plus certified:

    [​IMG]




    Whit a 6 pin to 8 pin like the powercolors one, will i be OK whith the PSU for the 4870x2?? Inclusive with a 45NM quad Oced or my CPU (e8400) oced to 4 ghz?
  20. Fastmix

    Fastmix New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    627 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Heaven
    Like others are saying..it's up to you, the gtx 280 is a great card but currently the 4870x2 is the top performer, so if you can afford it...why not?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page