1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help. Blower type HD7970

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by night.fox, Oct 17, 2013.

  1. night.fox

    night.fox

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    920 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    498
    Location:
    south korea
    Need help guys. I wanted to trifire. But due to spacing of my motherboard, I am thinking of buying a blower type GPU. It should also be a 2 slot GPU only.

    The thing is, there is no blower type HD 7950. I only saw referrence 7950 in which the blower is in the middle... So I think I would go for 7970 instead. Well there is HIS IceQ 7950 but the fan part of that one is like more than 2 slot.

    Please suggest me a blower type HD7970. I can buy at Newegg, Amazon and so on cause I have a relative who have a US address. Price? as low as possible of course ^_^ :rockout:

    anyway, please dont suggest me to sell my 2 7950's cause selling here is like.... nah.. forget it..... Alot of reasons personal and political and so on and so forth and I will spare you and my self from explaining it.

    I know here comes GPU scaling.. blah blah.... but I wanted to :roll: trifire

    Rig is in my profile...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,099 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,418
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    maybe i suggest improve your airflow before buying aftermarket cooler
    multi cards would give you higher temp since the cards close each other, but how hot your temp until you consider to buy new cooler?
     
    night.fox says thanks.
  3. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,383 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    619
    Location:
    GMT +2
    R9 280x?
     
    night.fox says thanks.
  4. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,272 (2.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,181
    Location:
    Oregon
  5. night.fox

    night.fox

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    920 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    498
    Location:
    south korea
    I have two vapor x 7950's at the moment and aftermarket cooler type is a no go for me if they are close to each other. I have the RV03 case as well which is good for blower type GPU's. At the moment I have no problem with my temps of my GPU's.... Its just I wanted to trifire with these prices now. :rockout:

    My plan is 1st slot, vapor x, 2nd slot, blower type and third slot is my another vapor x....

    Space between 1st PCI slot and 2nd PCI slot is 3 slots... space between 2nd PCI and 3rd PCI is only 2 slots....

    I dont plan water cooling as well.... if I can get 7970, I will just OC them all to lets say 1ghz core and 1.4ghz memory.... It should not create much heat on the 7970......

    Yeah I thought about this actually but cannot find at the moment a referrence 280x. If you can find one would be helpful to post the link for me please... :toast:



    yes something like that...... Just a quick question, what does OPEN BOX means?

    edit: pls correct me if I wrong this OPEN BOX means its like the one which are refurbished? or returned? or whatever? what about the warranty of these types?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,383 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    619
    Location:
    GMT +2
    this one but it isnt worth at that price.
    http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00BXVFM3K/?tag=tec06d-20

    as for 280x may be later this mount or maybe next there will be some available
    why do you want to bother with 3fire. you wont get significant boost over 2 except in some benches may be.
     
    night.fox says thanks.
  7. night.fox

    night.fox

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    920 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    498
    Location:
    south korea
    hmmmm yes you are right.... not worth the price as 280x is like 299 right?

    Ok yes maybe I should wait for the 280x then.... as 7970 reference is also almost close to 280x price...

    Thanks guys.... for all your help....
    :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,383 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    619
    Location:
    GMT +2
    280x is 7970 with some tweeking and mantle support
    290x will be new entry in HD X970 line. it is with new architecure cpu and it cant be cf-ed with anything else then 290 and 290x
     
    night.fox says thanks.
  9. night.fox

    night.fox

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    920 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    498
    Location:
    south korea

    thanks for those info but i already know about this. i dont think i would go for 290x or new generation for like 3 years as im already happy with my current rig. my wife and i have our own laptop for our browsing needs and the rig in my profile is only for heavy duty multi tasking, video and photo editing and gaming..

    i also know that 280x can crossfire with tahiti gpu's. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,383 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    619
    Location:
    GMT +2
    ah sorry i didnt got the question.
    ya it isnt worthy cause 280x/7970 is about 300 and 7950 custom cooling is about 200 so 250$ for reference 7950 isnt quite good deal (from my point of view).
     
  11. night.fox

    night.fox

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    920 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    498
    Location:
    south korea
    yes it is not a good deal... The price from amazon link you posted earlier is a no go considering a 7950 with custom cooling now is like 200 or even less.... and price for a 7970 is like $270'ish so considering the price, i would say better the 280x.

    My current 7950's can match the 280x stock clocks.... If I would to get the 280x, I wouldnt OC it much. I would just stay at stay clocks, OC my 7950's to match the 280x. In that way, the new 280x or 7970 wouldnt clock down to match 7950's.

    I know for the fact that my current PSU now can handle trifire
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,383 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    619
    Location:
    GMT +2
    ya psu is good enough to handle heavy OC on cpu and gpu and to run custom water cooling loop.
    if you dont have problems caused by drivers or corssfire profiles of games there isnt point to make any changes in graphic part of your setup. those 7950s can last you at least 2 years even with 1440p monitor.
     
  13. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,032 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Central Israel
    Kinda off topic,but 7xxx series will also have mantle support,mantle works with any card based on the GCN architecture.
    And 290x and 290 are based on GCN as well so no new architecture.
     
  14. night.fox

    night.fox

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    920 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    498
    Location:
    south korea

    ok..... but you know im itching for more... lol....

    actually i dont have problem maxing out everything... except mssa or ssa or whatever is called is off....

    except max payne 3. in which it requires alot of vram when you turn all hbao... i am not crazy about fps as long as its playable no problem. its so seldom i play multi player as well but with these current prices of tahiti gpu's makes me itch more.....

    i also want to max out everything i can put in my mobo. thats one reason i have 32gb ram... but these HT of my CPU and rams i have comes in handy during video encoding and photo editing....

    i want more but dont want to change mobo and cpu... :banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,383 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    619
    Location:
    GMT +2
    well only thing more you can have atm is 2x 7970/280x. prices are tempting but gains are minimal. i read some article about a mount before that even with improved amd drivers (13.8beta if i remember well) 3 and 4 cf still doesnt perform well and there is even some down performance. same problem persist in 3/4 sli too so it isnt just amd side. cant remember the source for sure but it was tom's hardware or guru3d.
    i think atm neither amd or nvidia can solve this problem in acceptable way. although having 3, 4 or more gpus connected and working together sounds like good idea current implementation so far is good only for gpu computing.
    for me 300$ for 3rd card is just waste of money atm. i would buy nas or save them for future upgrade or make gbit home network for example.
     
  16. Blín D'ñero

    Blín D'ñero

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    245 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Netherlands
    You mean "3x 7970/280x. prices are tempting but gains are minimal."

    2 x is excellent, and which OP already has....
     
    night.fox says thanks.
  17. night.fox

    night.fox

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    920 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    498
    Location:
    south korea
    thanks for pointing out blin
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,383 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    619
    Location:
    GMT +2
    no i meant 2x7970. op has 2x7950 which i agree is excellent. that is why i was pointing him that 3x CF or replacment of 7950 with 7970 is waste of money.
     
  19. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,272 (2.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,181
    Location:
    Oregon
    Correct, returned and the warrenty is at the bottom of the detail page. Manufacture warrenty is still the same
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page