1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help building computer: First attempt

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by scottee936, Nov 5, 2006.

  1. scottee936 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey I thought you guys might be able to help me with my problem

    Asus P5ND2-SLI Socket 775 Motherboard
    Ultra 1024MB PC4200 DDR2 533MHz
    Intel Pentium D 940 3.2Ghz DT 800FSB Socket 775
    XFX GeForce 6800 Xtreme 256MB PCIe w/Dual DVI
    Maxtor 160GB Serial ATA HD 7200/8MB/SATA-3G
    Sony DRU810 16x DVD Burner
    Ultra 500w X-Finity Power Supply 120mm Fan / Blue

    I get everything together and hit the power switch and everything seems to be running, all the fans start to spin I can hear the hardrive start up and i can open and close the cd drive, but the problem is i cannot get anything to come on the screen. My motherboard does not have a direct connection to a computer screen so i have to use the one on my motherboard that is a dvi. If anyone has any suggestions or anything that would please help. Thank you
     
  2. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    You don't want to plug the monitor into the motherboard, you want to plag it in to the back of the graphics card.
     
  3. scottee936 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I no i plug it into the graphics card but I still get no picture on the moniter, Does anyone know if those parts are all compatible
     
  4. xylomn

    xylomn New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    661 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Swindon, England, United Kingdom
    does the graphics card require a connection from the psu, and if yes have you connected it
     
  5. Seany1212

    Seany1212

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    668 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    England, UK
    which slot are you pluging the card into the blue one or black, and have you tried both?
     
  6. scottee936 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yes i have tried both the blue and the black slots and the card is set to single graphics cards and i have connected the power cable to the graphics card that it requires the fan even spins on the graphics card when i attempt to start it up
     
  7. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Read my article, see if you put something in wrong. I had the exact same problem, turned out I had forgotten the spacers and fried the CPU/Motherboard. Took me two months to figure that one out :shadedshu .
     
  8. scottee936 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    What are these spacers you speak of
     
  9. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Exactly. They are the things that elevate your motherboard from the bottom of the case, so you don't screw the motherboard right into the case. Think about it...if ALL the motherboard and its metal, electrically sensitive components are touching metal, don't you think there will be a short circuit when electricity runs through? :p.
     
  10. scottee936 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    O those, I belive my case Has pre elavted spots for me to screw the motherboard in so that would not be a problem
     
  11. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    You should still read my article to see if you did anything wrong.
     
  12. scottee936 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yea im reading it right now but if nothing fails i will keep posting please keep looking back
     
  13. scottee936 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Is there anyway to tell if i did fry my motherboard
     
  14. scottee936 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i got to the second checkpoint in ur article and now when i got to turn on the computer i get a sound from my power supply and nothing turns on but the green light on the motherboard, no fans nothing
     
  15. Fireball667 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Scott did you make sure your CPU fan header wire is connected? I had a similar issue my green light came on and i heard a beep then it just sat there looking at me like i ate its babies..

    Ahem any who check the wire make sure its ok , apart from that you have a conflict somewhere i just cant think of where to start, i leave that to zek =D
     
  16. scottee936 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  17. Fireball667 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Scott is your connector a 4 or 8 pin? And what size plug does the mobo have?
    make sure if its a 4 pin that you plug it into the right part of the plug
     
  18. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    If I were you, I'd try putting the CPU in again. I'm saying this because the motherboard doesn't turn on when you have the CPU power in, but when there's no CPU power, the rest of the system turns on. I think you might not have put the CPU in all the way. Read the instructions that came with your processor, be sure the processor is in the right way, that it is all the way in, and that the little lever is pushed down. A CPU that isn't in all the way will give you quite a scare :).
     
  19. scottee936 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    That problem is solved, pluged the wrong plug into it
     
  20. scottee936 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    OK guys thanks alot for the help so far, you have fixed my original problem but now i get the screen everything loads and what not but than maybe 3-5 mins into setup it just turns it self off, whats the deal?
     
  21. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Can you take pictures of ALL your power connections to the motherboard? I'm suspecting your power supply is turning itself off as a safety precaution. Either that or you're simply overloading the power supply :p.
     
  22. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    Are all the fans connected correctly? Are you sure there are now loose connections with any power leads? Try another plug socket and ensure that everything is securely inserted into the right place.
     
  23. scottee936 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hmm i need to find a camara this might take a little while
     
  24. scottee936 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  25. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Can you please take pictures that are a bit closer to the 8 pin CPU connector and the 24 pin mainboard connector? Should look a bit like
    [​IMG] and [​IMG]. Oh yes, and check your settings on the SLI bridge. You may be telling your computer it has two video cards when it only has one ;).
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page