1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help deciding on memory

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by BloodTotal, Dec 5, 2008.

  1. BloodTotal

    BloodTotal

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    837 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canadia
    From my other thread:

    First of all I would like to have 4 GB of memory, because I will be running Vista and playing Crysis, the second reason is *It will be a good advertisement (Get a computer with 4 GB of memory!)*. I also want to get DDR 3 memory because it is slightly faster, and it is future generation hardware, and also *It will help with the advertising of selling my computer in june (because people like bigger numbers on their hardware). For the $130 price tag, it doesn't seem like a bad deal

    ----------------------------------------

    my options are either some 1066 ddr3 or some 1066 ddr2 same price

    cheapest ones I could find:

    ddr3

    http://canadacomputers.com/index.php?do=ShowProduct&cmd=pd&pid=020174&cid=RAM.346.950

    ddr2

    http://canadacomputers.com/index.php?do=ShowProduct&cmd=pd&pid=020296&cid=RAM.346.754


    Can someone give me all the info I should know, I am stupid in the ram department, it doesn't make sense to me.
     
  2. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    BloodTotal says thanks.
  3. BloodTotal

    BloodTotal

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    837 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canadia
    OMG thank you

    HOLY &*^*&@#$ dam that thing is cheap, I must have missed that

    Going to buy like 10 of those and sell them on ebay

    ABRBARBRBAR dud that is sick

    im going to FLIP YO

    ----------------------------------

    back to topic

    2-seconds before I will buy 10 of those I just want to make one thing sure

    what will be the performance increase from the ddr3 that I posted over the ddr2 that you posted?

    can I OC the 800 to be like 1200 or something or 1066?
     
  4. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Well for ocing it depends if your cooling and air flow is good. DDR3 just improves loading speeds and not in game specifically. But it will increase fps by a small amount.
     
    BloodTotal says thanks.
  5. BloodTotal

    BloodTotal

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    837 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canadia
    ultimate decision what should I do?
     
  6. BloodTotal

    BloodTotal

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    837 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canadia
    k im going for the ddr2

    thanks so much for the link spearman914 - I owe you

    TPU is the best
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page