1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help with new build

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by techbuzz, Apr 20, 2007.

  1. techbuzz

    techbuzz

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    535 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    USA
    I recieved all my new computer parts today and I have put the computer together. When I go to turn the computer on, everything turns on but I do not get any video signal. The video card fan is moving but no video. I tried other video cards and I am getting the same result. I feel like I havent hooked the mobo up correctly. Any ideas?

    This is the mobo:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813188016

    It is prob something stupid that I didnt do, but I am stuck. Is there anything new that I am missing?

    Do I need to do anything with the parts of the mobo that I have circled below:

    [​IMG]

    Yes, I have my video card hooked up to my PSU. The video card is an 8800GTS.
     
  2. randomperson21

    randomperson21 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,535 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    what vid card are you using? check to make sure it doesn't need xtra 6-pin power

    also, that molex connector on the right side of the picture needs to be hooked up to power.

    as for the 8 pin connector, it looks like power too but idk what it does. read your manual for that.
     
  3. techbuzz

    techbuzz

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    535 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    USA
    I did what you said but still no video. i did notice that I have 2 power led connections...1 is 2 pronged and the other is three) they come from the from panel. do they both need to be plugged in? the mobo didnt come with a decent manual.
     
  4. techbuzz

    techbuzz

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    535 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    USA

    also, i dont know how to hook up the 8 pin connector.
     
  5. randomperson21

    randomperson21 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,535 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    theres gotta be something SOMEWHERE that tells you wth that 8 pin is... can you provide a full speclist for this build? at least the important stuff.



    as for the power led, hook up whatever one works. only 1 will fit (some mobo's have 3 pin, some have 2.)
     
  6. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    the 8 pin is a 'double' 4-pin (yel-12V and blk-ground)
    you most likely need one of these
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    I love my new digi :)
     
  7. techbuzz

    techbuzz

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    535 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    USA
    I have that but how do I plug it into my PSU? Is there some sort of an adapter?
     
  8. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Page 8 of manuel shows you the diagram of connectors. The one on the left is the 8 pin 12v ATX connector. The other(right) is an auxillary PAX(?) connector.

    Did you check the jumpers on mobo(page 9) and did you clear the CMOS with CMOS jumper before starting?
     
  9. techbuzz

    techbuzz

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    535 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    USA
  10. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Your PSU has 2 each 4 pin Motherboard connectors, plug them into the 2-4 pins of adapter cable and the eight pin into the 8 pin connector on mobo.
     
  11. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Sorry about that confusion, your adapter cable may onle have 1 ea 4 pin connector, if so just connect one of the 4 pins from psu to the adapter cable and the 8 pin to the mobo.
     
    techbuzz says thanks.
  12. techbuzz

    techbuzz

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    535 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks to Namslas90 my computer is functioning...:respect:

    I am having a weird issue though. After the initial Windows setup (ie...Format hard drive then copy windows files...) My computer restarts like normal but when it tries to boot from the hard drive to finish the Windows installation, I get a message telling me that Windows cannot start due to a hardware device configuration. I have done some research on this issue and Microsoft says that it is probably a problem with the master boot record. They tell me to run chkdsk in recovery console. I'm at work right now, but I plan on working on it when I get home this afternoon. Any ideas? Thanks again for your awesome help!!!

    I have checked all my connections and everything looks normal. The hard drive that I am using may be going bad because I havent used it for anything in a while. I am going to try the recovery console though.
     
  13. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,108 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    391
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    lol yup.. darnit nam u got to it before i could.. lol..
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page