1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New 64 GB Crucial LRDIMMs Double a Server's Memory Capacity

Discussion in 'News' started by Cristian_25H, Sep 12, 2013.

  1. Cristian_25H

    Cristian_25H News Poster

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,625 (4.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Still on the East Side
    Crucial, a leading global brand of memory and server memory, today announced the 64 GB Crucial DDR3L Load-Reduced DIMMs (LRDIMMs) for servers, which enable more DIMMs per channel for up to twice the installed memory capacity per server. Additionally, these modules offer up to a 35 percent increase in memory bandwidth per server compared to standard DIMMs, and eliminate the channel ranking limitation of standard DDR3 registered DIMMs. The Crucial DDR3L LRDIMMs is designed for IT professionals that manage high-end server environments with demanding workloads.

    The 64 GB Crucial DDR3L LRDIMMs operates using 1.35V, unlike the 1.5V common in DDR3 RDIMMs, making the new module more energy-efficient and cost-effective, especially in large deployments. Since Crucial LRDIMMs transmit power in a more efficient manner to the CPU (via the data path buffer), they use less voltage, which allows for additional power savings. These new memory modules are also compatible with OEM servers and warranties, allowing users to upgrade their existing server infrastructures without having to purchase an entirely new system. Crucial LRDIMMs fully support the latest Intel Xeon processor E5 family.

    [​IMG]

    "For memory-intensive server applications such as cloud computing, virtualization, and in-memory databases, optimizing the capabilities of new or existing hardware is by far a more cost-effective solution than purchasing additional servers," said Michael Moreland, worldwide DRAM product marketing manager, Crucial. "The new 64 GB Crucial LRDIMMs allow servers to reach the maximum amount of installed memory possible, which can enable dramatic performance gains in memory bandwidth and overall server productivity, all while reducing power costs relative to adding additional servers."

    Crucial DDR3L LRDIMMs server memory is halogen-free and RoHS compliant. Available in densities up to 64 GB and kits up to 192 GB, the 64 GB LRDIMM will be available to purchase in early calendar Q4 2013. Crucial LRDIMMs are backed by a limited lifetime warranty and are rigorously tested to meet or exceed the high-quality performance specifications customers have come to expect from Crucial. As a brand of Micron, one of the largest manufacturers of DRAM in the world, Crucial engineers work to design, refine, test, manufacture, and support an extensive line of memory modules. For more information about Crucial server memory, please visit www.crucial.com/server.
     
  2. djemergenc

    djemergenc

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    18 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Can I just use RAM instead of HDD or SDD? LOL
     
    remixedcat says thanks.
  3. theeldest

    theeldest

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    652 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Possibly. Ivy Bridge-EP will be limited to 3TB with these dimms (quad socket; 1.5TB for dual socket) and Ivy Bridge-EX will be limited to only 6TB of memory.

    ;-)
     
  4. sunweb

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    With Linux, yes you can, for a long time already, a very long time. Right now i am using it just for some directories but in the future with more memory(thank you :respect: DDR4) it will be possible to put in ram the whole system without cutting down my work memory needs. :rolleyes:
     
  5. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,809 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,353
    Also with Windows. Ramdisk is an old concept.
     
  6. sunweb

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I am well aware of that. But i've seen alot of "crashes" comments in all reviews of such programs for Windows and its quite limited to what you can do with it.
    On Linux(and BSD) its a standart feature and can be treated like any other partition and its stable, not to mention there're 2 implementations depending on your needs(both Win and Mac has only one option - memory ends system fails, its also strange that BSD ported tmpfs support but Apple still have only old version) and its free.
    For some reason Microsoft doesn't bother to implement official support for such an old concept and 3d party software company makes ugly hacks for their implementation to work(format ram partition in fat or ntfs for example).
     
  7. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,256 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    294
    RAMDISK is nice. Until you restart your PC...
     
  8. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    933 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    385
    Well, with the RAM price, this is going to cost alot xD
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. sunweb

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    rsync helps with that just fine.
     
  10. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    all those ram now needs is a battery :)
     
  11. sunweb

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    My message didn't come through. In short - no, Windows have it thanks to non-free really buggy hacks that 3-rd party tools brings, i've read alot of bad reviews with them. Mac has old realization even though BSD has ported Linux' new variant long ago. So yes, Linux(and BSD) has it much better then anything else.
     
  12. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,256 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    294
    Try to "rsync" 64GB of data from the harddrive :))
     
  13. sunweb

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Well, i don't need so much, work files are relatively small, its just rendering and sims that can take ram. And the system as a whole(OS+programs+work_files) is 10.7GB. By the time DDR4 comes there will be some realy fast SSDs and reading for them is ok. So i think alot of people will push the whole system+important files into ram by such method.
    Ofcourse if memristors will come into play everything will simplified but greedy companies won't do it soon.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page