1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New Battlefield 3 My Life Teaser Trailer (PC)

Discussion in 'Games' started by horik, Apr 16, 2011.

  1. horik

    horik

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    261 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
  2. MLG The Canadian

    MLG The Canadian New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    520 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    New-Brunswick, Canada
    BondExtreme says thanks.
  3. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,234 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,148
    that probably will be my next game
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    hopefully my 5850 crossfire will be able to handle it on max, if not I will have to upgrade!! My avg FPS on BFBC2 Max Settings is 60-65

    I thought they weren't going to release the 12 mins till Sunday?
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2011
  5. Wyverex

    Wyverex

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    282 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    From the few interviews I've been reading, BF3 should have better graphics with better performance, compared to BC2 :D
    Let's just hope that's true :)
     
  6. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,234 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,148
    think you might have a problem somewhere. My single 5870 holds 80fps, max settings @ 1920*1200 IIRC (can't find my disk right now to back that)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,234 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,148
    found my disk, got to reinstall, I'll let you know if that is the FPS I'm getting in a few mins
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. BondExtreme

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    588 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Well yes. It's a completely new engine. :)
     
  9. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,117 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    785
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    something about the character models/textures is bugging me
     
  10. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,234 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,148
    damn it, I hate moving. I can't find my BFBC2 manual to get the activation code so I can reinstall the game. Sorry, not gonna be able to verify my FPS for you.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    381
    Location:
    Singapore
    I think 11:24 was the most spectacular part - very realistic looking. Amazing work by DICE.
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2011
  12. Nick259

    Nick259

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    Location:
    Scotland
    I agree. On all high with 2xaa 16aaf I get about 45-55fps with an overclocked 4870 1gb.
     
  13. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    You might have your AA at 0x ...when I turn my AA from 16x to 0x I get +95 FPS.

    IE:
    [​IMG]
     
  14. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,234 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,148
    Maybe, but even so, by that graph with AA turned up, I'll be getting what your getting with TWO 5850. You should get considerably more performance with two 5850 than I get with just one 5870. Doesn't two 5850 equal a 5970? You should be getting in the mid to high 80 FPS. Also, that chart is for 1200p, you're running 1080p according to the monitor listed in your system specs, another reason you should be getting better performance.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    you know what I was wrong lol :slap: I just played for 30 mins and my average FPS (max everything) was 85-115. Without AA it goes +120FPS

    (it's been a while since i've played)
     
  16. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,213 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,764
    Location:
    S.Cali
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. ctrain New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    393 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    ONLY DX11 in fact.
     
  18. ASRockIQ

    ASRockIQ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    949 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Daphne, AL
    F* YEAH!!! this game will be tha' shitZ!
     
  19. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    ASRockIQ says thanks.
  20. Wyverex

    Wyverex

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    282 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    In fact, BF3 will be one of the first native DirectX 11 games (maybe even the first one)


    DX11 can fall back to DX10 hardware, but no support for DX9 and hence for WinXP
     
    t77snapshot says thanks.
  21. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    DX11 is just an updated version of what DX10 should've been. The only reason they have DX10 mentioned is because the consoles can support DX10, not DX11 (correct me if I'm wrong) :nutkick:
     
  22. ctrain New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    393 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Hence why I said DX11 only, the API doesn't change, it's always and only running under DX11 API despite the fallback.



    The 360 apparently has a DX9-ish API and the PS3 has a library that wraps the direct hardware access. They can do some similar tricks to what was exposed in DX10 because of the way they can access hardware directly / architectural differences that make it plausible.

    One of their papers said that the DX11 compute shader lighting was the basis for the PS3 Cell version.
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2011
  23. Rado D

    Rado D

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    496 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Portsmouth,UK
    I agree.its spectacular looking indeed,though its not entirely realistic..that massive building which is just about to colapse after the earthquake,looks at least lets say 30 - 40,maybe even 50 meters wide,you can clearly see it when the soldier is shooting from the truck.it does have a full realistic feeling about how massive the building is.but when it starts to colapse,try to pause the video just before the screen goes black while the building is falling at him.If you manage to pause while have a perfect clear view on the rooftop of the colapsing building,it doesnt feel massive anymore,the roof looks like its like 5x5 metres..but I guess its just wrong scaling..hope they fix it,because if not,people wont piss in their pants while a building like that one colapsing nearby them..

    EDIT:OK 50 metres was a guess bit over the top,but 30m looks valid
     
  24. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,213 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,764
    Location:
    S.Cali
    I'll have what he's smok'in..:laugh:;)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. pr0n Inspector

    pr0n Inspector

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,334 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 18, 2011

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page