1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New build for gaming question...

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by NONYA, Dec 4, 2010.

  1. NONYA

    NONYA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    634 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Maybe Im due for a new build...whats a good motherboard for a quadcorew build thats OC friendly and wont break the bank? Im looking to spend about 500,reuse what I can out of my current build and put something together that can handle black ops ect.Any advice appreciated.:toast:
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,691 (12.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,543
    You're whole system needs a refresh really. I can't think of anything I would want to save from your old system. Perhaps save up a little more.
     
    NONYA says thanks.
  3. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,449 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    You can reuse your HDD's optical drives, possibly case and PSU if you get a low powered GPU, something along the lines of:

     
    NONYA says thanks.
  4. NONYA

    NONYA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    634 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
  5. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,894 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,704
    NONYA says thanks.
  6. NONYA

    NONYA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    634 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Never had an amd build before,how do they compare?
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2010
  7. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,180 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    997
    Newegg

    Slightly behind Intel's Core i5/7 series, so I would suggest you go with at least an i5 750/760 for gaming. I'm partial to AMD, but I can't argue with the performance of Intel processors.
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2010
    NONYA says thanks.
  8. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    If your main goal is gaming AMD compares extremely well, you'll save a few bucks generally too while getting the performance you need (especially with the crappy console ported PC games coming out these days :()
     
    NONYA says thanks.
  9. NONYA

    NONYA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    634 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    R processor prices really going to drop after the 1st?
     
  10. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    New CPU's are coming out from Intel in January so i would expect a price drop on current CPU's around that time, they might even do some price drops a bit before Christmas to embrace the holiday season though.
     
    gunsmoke, AlienIsGOD and NONYA say thanks.
  11. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,280 (4.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,033
    Location:
    Home
    I am under impression that the P35 chipset can support Q6600, so if OP can find a cheap Q6600, I think that will be a very reasonable (and cheap) upgrade.
     
    NONYA says thanks.
  12. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    NONYA says thanks.
  13. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,322 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,048
    Location:
    04578
    not sure the 45nm quads work on the P35 boards but new system wise

    cpu+mobo Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, L...
    ram G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 ...
    psu OCZ Fatal1ty OCZ550FTY 550W ATX12V v2.2 / EPS12V S...
    hdd SAMSUNG Spinpoint F3 HD103SJ 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cac...
    odd ASUS Black 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 12X DVD+R DL 24X DV...
    case + os Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, L...
    gpi MSI N460GTX Twin Frozr II SOC GeForce GTX 460 (Fer...

    total cost shipped: $705 cost after mail in rebate $665 remove the OS if you want and its $565


    for $30 more Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, L... thats a 955 4gigs Gskill ripjaws with seagate 1tb and Gigabyte 880g mobo

    sell the parts you got here on TPU and total cost for a new rig would probably be around $350 or so total cost to move over in which case if you save up some more you could go I5 with a 1gig 460 etc
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2010
    NONYA says thanks.
  14. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    NONYA says thanks.
  15. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,260 (5.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,244
    Location:
    Ohio
    Pah. Just get a new GPU (GTX470s are around $250 right now) and a 45nm 775 cpu (dual or quad... get a dual if it's going to be strictly for gaming, but if you have anything that will actually use a quad, you might want to poke around for one).
     
    NONYA says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,322 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,048
    Location:
    04578
    well if it supports a quad buy one drop it in with a new gpu and psu and go from there
     
    NONYA says thanks.
  17. NONYA

    NONYA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    634 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
  18. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,322 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,048
    Location:
    04578
    get a quad in games like Badcompany 2 on PC a quadcore litterally offers DOUBLE the minimum framerate.

    you might be able to grab a cheap Q6600 on ebay or on the forums here and with a good cooler get it 3.4ghz or so

    from what i can tell tho with a bios update *not sure if u have the latest or not* it supports 45nm cpus aka Q9000 series so a Q9550 or 9650 used would be a good buy for the system
     
  19. NONYA

    NONYA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    634 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
  20. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,322 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,048
    Location:
    04578
    get a quadcore seriously

    http://cgi.ebay.com/Intel-Core-2-Qu...-HS-/250734826861?pt=CPUs&hash=item3a60f5d56d

    http://cgi.ebay.com/Intel-Core-2-Qu...sor-/190473931201?pt=CPUs&hash=item2c592189c1

    [FS/FT] Q9550


    http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/57?vs=50

    E8300 vs Q9550 a 9550 is basically 2x 8300s on the same die scroll down for game performance

    far Cry 2 the Q9550 has a 30% advantage

    Dragon age shows nearly 35% advantage to the quadcore

    multiple games but Bad Company 2
    Dualcore Min 26 Max 76 Avg 38
    Quadcore Min 38 Max 115 Avg 79
    http://www.overclock.net/pc-games/659536-contagion-review-dual-core-vs-quad.html

    if you plan to squeeze more life out of the system do it the right way and get what will actually go the distance halfassed upgrades is just pissing away money and if your gonna piss it away send it my way ill spend it for you no questions asked :toast:

    also slightly better performance then the 5850 6870 and for the same price
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2010
    NONYA says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page