1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New Build Problems, looking for some help

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Squirl111, Mar 10, 2013.

  1. Squirl111 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    11 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Hi! i just completed a new build and have encountered a few problems that ive never encountered on previous builds. i was wondering if anyone could shed some light on what might be my problem.

    the parts i used are:
    Intel Core i7-3770 3.4GHz Quad-Core
    Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing
    Asus SABERTOOTH Z77 ATX LGA1155
    Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600
    Crucial M4 128GB 2.5" SSD
    Seagate Barracuda 2TB 3.5" 7200RPM
    Seagate Barracuda 2TB 3.5" 7200RPM
    EVGA GeForce GTX 670 4GB
    NZXT Phantom (Black/Orange) ATX Full Tower
    Corsair 750W ATX12V / EPS12V
    Lite-On iHAS124-04 DVD/CD Writer
    Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 (OEM) (64-bit)

    what im experiencing is this"
    1. when i start up, i get a long beep and 4 short beeps indication a hardware problem. i have unplugged everything except cpu and memory. ive gone down to 1 stick of memory, tried both, tried different slots, still get the beeps. the memory is recognized on the boot up screen before i get the beeps, as is the cpu....im not sure what to do next.

    2. this one isnt my main worry by far, but i would really love to figure it out too... my NZXT case came with ALOT of fans, i thought that was nice. only one of the fans can plug in to the MOBO, there arent any other plugs. most (not all) of the case fans have MALE plugs. most fans ive dealt with are female that plug to the board. i have several male connectors available on the MOBO, but male to male doesnt work. is there some sort of adapter i can get? also, there was one power plug that i thought if i used it, it would power all of the fans....no luck.

    i hope i used the right forum for my questions, if not im happy to report in the correct forum. i appreciate any of you that take YOUR time to help my wife MY problem. its a good guess that this is operator error and a ID 10 T error, but i am willing to live and learn.

    thank you all in advance.
     
  2. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,704 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    741
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    re-seat CPU

    boot with one stick of RAM in dimm slot 1

    re-seat vga card [try again] ensure x2 6pin PCIe Power plugs are secure

    test vga card in another system/PC

    ensure mobo bios is up to date [try again]

    should these be plugging into the fan controller under the top of the case [remove it]

    Edit: http://www.nzxt.com/Download/phantom_manual_eng.pdf

    Source - http://www.nzxt.com/new/products/crafted_series/phantom

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2013
    Squirl111 says thanks.
  3. Squirl111 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    11 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    No Luck

    The you for the tips, i tried all except updating the BIOS. mainly because i havent ever done that and im not 100% sure how to. ive been told in the past, dont update BIOS if you dont absolutely have to....you can really make a bigger mess. so ive just never done it. i started to look in to it, i cant really tell which BIOS i need....so i skipped that part.

    the temp monitor says my CPU is running at 29c/84f when i first start up. the only thing i have plugged in or running is my cpu, 1 memory stick and vid card. i havent even gotten to a point of trying to load an OS yet. the temp was slowly climbing so i shut it down.

    the fan controller already have all the fans plugged in to it. the wires i am having trouble with are the leads coming from the controller and supposed to be plugged into board i think.

    thank you again
     
  4. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Well just to share, I got the same beeps when I forgot to plug in the fan or when I over-volted the CPU way beyond specs.

    Most probably, you have the CPU fan cable plugged in in a wrong port of chassis or power fan maybe. On startup, the motherboard finds the CPU_FAN port empty and hence give the error beeps. It sounds like Tutu - tut - tut - tut - tut.
     
    Squirl111 says thanks.
  5. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,704 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    741
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2013
    Squirl111 says thanks.
  6. Squirl111 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    11 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Connectors

    i hope this is what you were looking for. im not sure if the picture is clear enough for you to even see...
     

    Attached Files:

    Law-II says thanks.
  7. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,704 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    741
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    thanks, these look like the inputs for the optional front 140mm and top 200mm fan, double check this with http://www.nzxt.com/support/

    atb

    Law-II
     
    Squirl111 says thanks.
  8. Cotton_Cup

    Cotton_Cup

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    378 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Rizal, Philippines
    maybe you missed some fans, btw do you plan on upgrading to a K series??? since you have a nice mobo.
     
    Squirl111 says thanks.
  9. Squirl111 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    11 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    still no clue

    i think i understand what you are saying....problem is, the other end of the wire thats connected to the pin that i took a picture of is coming from the fan controller. the fan plugs in to the fan controller, then the controller needs to be plugged in to the MOBO somewhere. the "where" is where im stumped. there are no spots on my MOBO that will accept the connector i pictured.
     
  10. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,704 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    741
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Please elaborate a little [Why? for what reason!]

    What button on the controller is it attached to?

    case leads.jpg

    RED = Power to fan controller [assume this leads back to the fan controller]
    BLACK = USB Header
    YELLOW = Audio
    PURPLE = Panel pins [hdd led, power, reset & other]
    BLACK ARROW = [cannot tell what this is from the pic I have]

    and x2 three pin female connectors [are these for the Side Panel Fans?]

    fan loop.jpg

    Case comes with 4 fans - & *option of fitting two extra fans total of 7
    Five outputs from fan controller and two splitters + one adapter for the *optional top 200mm fan

    COOLING SYSTEM


    FRONT, 1 X 140mm
    REAR, 1 X 120mm (included)
    SIDE, 2 x 120mm, 1 x 200/230 (2 x 120mm included)
    TOP, 2 X 200mm (1 x LED 200mm included)

    atb

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2013
    Squirl111 says thanks.
  11. Squirl111 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    11 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    fans

    if i plug in ONLY the molex, all case fans should then work, is that correct?

    right now i only have the cpu fan connected to the board (it works, but for some reason i get an error on boot up saying cpu fan error. thats another problem...) and 1 case fan that had the correct connector is plugged to board. that connector also comes from the fan controller. so, i did plug the molex in, and 1 fan. does having that 1 fan plugged in on its own ovveride the fan controller making the controller not work right...therefore all the other case fans not work?
     
  12. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,704 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    741
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Yes [****remove all FAN Controller leads from the mobo before doing this****]

    unplug the case fan from the board [case fans should be run through the fan controller ONLY] no leads from the controller should be attached to the MOBO as they carry voltage

    Note: only the CPU Fan should be attached: example
    CPU FAN.jpg

    Yes

    May be not, *but attaching a lead carrying voltage to the mobo will damage it

    download a manual - http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/SABERTOOTH_Z77/#support_Download_30

    atb

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2013
    Squirl111 says thanks.
  13. Squirl111 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    11 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    ***sigh***

    im at work now, i cant wait to get home to see if its that easy. im sorry ive been such a dolt with this. ive been trying to follow instructions that came with it, but they arent the easiest to follow.

    if this fixes my case issue i can move on to installing the OS and hoping i have no more problems.

    while im on that, i do have one more question. my MOBO has a total of 6 SATA connectors that i can use. 2 are 6Gb/Sec and 4 are 3Gb/sec. im assuming i will hook my SSD up to the 6Gb/sec. should i hook the optical drive up to it as well if i plan to raid 0 my 2 large hard drives?


    i cant tell you how much i appreciate all of the help you have given me. your patience is outstanding!!!


    TY
     
  14. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    No connecting the ODD to a SATA 6 Gbps port won't give you extra performance. Instead you may face compatibility issues. Also, it is better you use AHCI mode for your drives-The setting of which you will find in the BIOS.
     
    Law-II and Squirl111 say thanks.
  15. Squirl111 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    11 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    sweet

    i cant wait to give these a shot!

    thanks everyone for all the replies.
     
  16. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,704 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    741
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Not wanting to teach you how to suck eggs;

    However can I just check that you installed the two Accessory Fans that came with the mobo and have these attached. [these assist to clear hot air from under the armor from the north bridge]
    example: Accessory Fans x2.jpg

    these require attaching to the mobo
    top = Asst_Fan 1
    center = Asst_Fan 2
    Example: Asst_Fan 1 & Asset_Fan 2.jpg

    atb

    Law-II
     
    Squirl111 says thanks.
  17. Squirl111 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    11 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    yessir! i got those installed and they run like a champ. i think these little fans are a really cool addition to the board!
     
    Law-II says thanks.
  18. Squirl111 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    11 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Almost there!

    i got home from work, set up the fan controler like you pointed out, it worked!

    im still getting the CPU fan error! message when the computer starts up. i have upgraded the bios to the newest available. i did find this post

    http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/312553-30-error-asus-sabertooth

    some MOBO, same cooler. i guess its ok....i just hate to ignore that message though...
     
  19. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,704 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    741
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Give that a try- all you need to avoid is disabling the warning

    -enter system bios
    enter bios.jpg

    -Select monitor tab
    -navigate to CPU Q-Fan Control make sure it is set to [Enabled]
    -navigate to CPU Fan Speed Low Limit set this to 500 RPM ~ 400 RPM [try 500RPM to start]
    -navigate to CPU Fan Profile set this to make sure it is set to [Standard] Edit - this setting may be bugged! with the evo 212 attached
    Example:
    CPU Fan Low Limit Warning.jpg

    see how these settings go; if it is unresolved let us know

    nb: spend some time in the bios and read up on it, even if it means more time building your system in the long term it will be worth it's wait

    This may need to be set up manually at some stage in the future

    thanks go out to pdxalex

    atb

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2013
    Squirl111 says thanks.
  20. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,762 (5.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,294
    i get cpu fan error when my cpu fan is set to standard, when i set it to turbo or manual its fine....
     
    Squirl111 and Law-II say thanks.
  21. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,704 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    741
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    This must be a Fan or bios PWM bug, hello d1nky did not see it was you :toast:

    Edit: @ D1nky; thanks for the input; you find me well and I trust you reflect the same

    Edit: I run a splitter from the 3pin power and separated the PWM wire; attached it to the mobo, had to do this with a pump for water cooling.
    [may be for another day]

    atb

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2013
    d1nky and Squirl111 say thanks.
  22. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,762 (5.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,294
    yea im thinking as theyre larger fans than the stock vans it takes more power, just a thought?!

    and hey lawII, ill try not hijack thread. hope all is well!
     
    Squirl111 and Law-II say thanks.
  23. Squirl111 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    11 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Success!

    Case fans, all working!
    CPU fan error...GONE

    i installed windows 7 on what will be my backup drive in the near future. next i will update firmware for SSD and move forward!

    i cant thank all of you enough for all of the help you have provided. taking YOUR time to help me is greatly appreciated. i have been reading thru these forums and gotten many useful tips and pieces of advice.

    awesome site!!

    im sure i will see you in the near future with some other needs for advice, i trust what you have give me!

    thank you all again!

    Squirl
     
    Law-II says thanks.
  24. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,704 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    741
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    well done sir; see you around :toast:

    atb

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2013
    Squirl111 says thanks.
  25. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Awesome. :) Now its time to enjoy your new build. :)
     
    Squirl111 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page