1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New monitor, everything has blue tint!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by alexp999, Jul 31, 2008.

  1. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Okay, I just got my new monitor today. Acer P223W.

    Only thing is everything has a blue tint! only just but enough it is noticeable.

    So I installed the driver for it and I have found that the colours only look right looking at a pic using windows photo gallery. ( i worked this out by loading my background into photo gallery then switching between desktop and photo gallery. The desktop has a slight blue tnige, the photo gallery looks perfect.

    Does anyone know how I can get windows to render everything using the colour profile its using for photo gallery (presumably the acer one)?

    i think it is applying the slight blue tint to games too. :shadedshu

    Any help really appreciated!!!

    Thanks.
     
  2. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    757
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Might have gotten a bad monitor, or something wrong with the connection would be my first 2 guesses. Other than that it seems there is some odd profile loaded that you have to turn off or change.
     
  3. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Just booted into express gate and I dont have the blue tint. It is something to do with the colour profiles. have fiddled about a bit. gonna boot back into windows now see if i have fixed it.

    On my old monitor it did the opposite. Desktop and games looked fine, but using the monitors proper driver caused the photo gallery to have a yellow tint! :wtf:
     
  4. aharvey

    aharvey New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    113 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    If you dont dolve your issue with your first guess, take a look at the plug. you might have bent or crossed pins. (if its dvi that might not be likely)
     
  5. Fuse-Wire

    Fuse-Wire New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    856 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Scotland, Far away from normality as possible
    Does you're monitor have an AUTO ADJUST button, if so press it, took me a good couple of hours pissin about with ATi Tools before i hit the button!!
     
  6. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    991
    Location:
    Miami
    there should be a setting to adjust color "temperature"... its usually set to "USER" but you can make it warmer/colder depending on preference...
     
  7. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Auto doesnt work on DVI. :( It has presets, but they all have the blue tint.

    I dont think its hardware/monitor based cus its looks fine on the Asus express gate (built in linux)

    just even reading this page everything has a very slightly blue tint.

    Wish I could show you, lol.

    How does windows manages its colour profiles? Why is it rendering my desktop one way and then rendering the same image a totally different way in photo gallery?

    is this a windows thing or Ati thing, just I'm getting my new gfx card tomorrow hopefully and that a nvidia.
     
  8. Fuse-Wire

    Fuse-Wire New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    856 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Scotland, Far away from normality as possible
    Can't be totally precise here but maybe your current GFX Card/Drivers are not 100% supporting your monitor, i mean after the last thing i could have used knowing AUTO ADJUST wont work would be to use the install CD... :confused:

    P.S. There isn't a blue film you need to pull off?? :rolleyes:
     
  9. NeotonicDragon3

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    450 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Northern Arizona
    Hmm yeah check the moniter's in moniter color setting
    Check connections?
    Call Technical Support, maybe it can be replaced under warranty?
     
  10. NeotonicDragon3

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    450 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Northern Arizona
    ROFL, that is one possibility
     
  11. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Yay! its fixed! no more blue!

    This monitor has two menus :wtf:

    Colour temp was in the second menu (accessed by a different button)

    it was set on cool, changed to warm and now everything looks normal! :D

    Well i say that, its really bright, but I think thats just cus I was used to a dull LG.

    Thanks for all your help guys.
     
  12. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,480 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    right click desktop, personalization, display settings, advanced, color management, then remove any profile:

    [​IMG]

    Also insatll driver for your monitor, this should fix the problem :)

    EDIT: d'oh too late, gotta learn to type faster :) glad you fixed it though :toast:
     
  13. Fuse-Wire

    Fuse-Wire New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    856 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Scotland, Far away from normality as possible
    Nicely done, glad i could have been of no service whatsoever lol
     
  14. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    I did that too, which sorted out the difference between photo gallery and desktop.

    now i've just got sort out brightness and contrast. its giving me a bit of a headache atm :( .

    really amazing screen though.

    And my other stuff in my sig has been shipped and should be here tomorrow. :D
     
  15. Fuse-Wire

    Fuse-Wire New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    856 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Scotland, Far away from normality as possible
    hmm took me a couple if days to get used to my monitor!! but hey nothing like moving from CRT to TFT or LCD
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page