1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New motherboard for my system (S775)?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Xolair, Apr 26, 2008.

  1. Xolair New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    298 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Finland.
    Yo.

    I've lately become quite aware that my computer isn't working too well, I get these occasional graphics-errors that drive me nuts. Textures disappear, and sometimes when I come back to the desktop, the background image is all corrupted and the computer feels laggy and slow. Well, this only happens with Garry's Mod, but still. Some time ago I managed to play Titan Quest for like 3 hours in a row and nothing happened, I thought my problems were over but almost immediately after that I got strange artifacts such as these in the game:

    http://i143.photobucket.com/albums/r150/Xolairs_bucket/Crysis_1.jpg?t=1209193487

    I get the feeling (after asking some opinions from a friend :p) and such, that it might be my crappy mobo causing all this, as it seems it's not 100% PCI-E 2.0 compliant, at least it doesn't seem to work too well with such videocards. ASRock recommended changing the videocard BIOS to a GEN1 version, but where the hell can I find one? Indeed.


    So, I think I've had it with this mobo. I was thinking of getting a MSI one like this:

    http://global.msi.com.tw/index.php?func=proddesc&prod_no=1286&maincat_no=1

    Would that support OC'ing in a more better fashion than my current mobo? This one can't reach 290 FSB without being stable, could that mobo go any further? I'm quite certain that my videocard would work 100% with the new mobo. Plus this mobo is VERY cheap (~50 €), so that's a definete bonus. So, has anyone got these mobos??? :)
     
  2. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    It sounds like your card is overheating.. What are its temps? I highly doubt its the board, PCI-E 2.0 works 110% with PCI-E 1.1/1.0 slots. I have mine in a PCI-e1.1 slot and it works fine.
     
  3. Xolair New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    298 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Finland.
    ^ I doubt my card's overheating, it's been tested to work 100% in the company I bought it from after I thought of it being faulty.

    ASRock has also said that this mobo might have an issue or two with PCI-E 2.0 cards, don't recall exactly what they said but still. The mobo only works on 4x PCI-E speed, so that might conclude to the whole thing as well... :banghead:
     
  4. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Have you tried to run Memtest to see if it was your RAM?
     
  5. Xolair New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    298 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Finland.
    ^ No... they tested the card work 10+ hours in a row in that company under ''heavy stress'', so didn't find it useful, guess I'm too trust-worthy of a person. :p

    Everything has mostly worked fine, at least so I thought, when I got the new BIOS for my mobo that was supposed to fix the card for it. Then, gradually the errors reappeared, which was quite strange.
     
  6. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
  7. Xolair New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    298 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Finland.
    ^ Nah... I like the NEO-F mobo just as well... unless someone proves it's total garbage. :roll:
     
  8. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
  9. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Yeah p35s are cheap enough and greater than the p31s enough to absolutely choose them instead. I wouldn't pay for the extra x4 slot, but thats just me. A p35 no question though.
     
  10. Xolair New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    298 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Finland.
    ^ Are you saying that the mobo I suggested is total garbage? :p

    Seemed like a good mobo... well, guess I could spend a bit more on a P35 one.
     
  11. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I would. Try and get that Foxconn P35A or DFI Blood Iron.
     
  12. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Don't get MSI....I've had an awful experience with their P35 Neo2-FR...I won't even go into it but stay away.

    I highly recommened Foxconn, I've got the MARS, but the P35A is just the MARS without the Gladiator BIOS, and a few other features specific to the MARS.
     
  13. Xolair New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    298 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Finland.
    What about Abit IP35-E, then? :toast:
     
  14. choppy

    choppy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    UK
  15. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    P45s are not gonna be in their price range. That abit or gigabyte would be my choice.
     
  16. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I had terrible experiences with that board and Gigabytes support is absolutely terrible. They sent me an email about my dead board 3 days after I got a replacement from newegg. :rolleyes:
     
  17. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Hands down for P35 with crossfire:
    Asus P5K-e http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131225
    Abit IP35 Pro http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813127030
    DFI LP LT P35 T2R http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813136039

    Single slot without crossfire:
    Abit IP35-e (or if not in stock IP35P)
    DFI BloodIron

    EDIT: If you want crossfire but need cheaper look into the DFI Infinity 975X http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813136168 but just as a note IT DOES NOT SUPPORT 45NM.
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2008

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page