1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New system for a friend

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by BlurryS, Sep 16, 2011.

  1. BlurryS

    BlurryS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    71 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hey guys. My friend has asked me to put together a pc. He isn't very hardcore gamer, some casual games and he does'nt want to max them out. Also he was under the budget of 240€. Here is what i've put together. What do you think ?

    Mobo:GIGA-BYTE MB GF7025/NF630A SAM3 MATX/GA-M68MT-S2P GIGA-BYTE 36.75€
    PSU:CHIEFTEC GPA PSU 500W 12CM ATX2.3 80PLUS GPA-500S8 26.50 €
    CPU:AMD CPU ATH II X2 255 SAM3 BOX/65W 3100 ADX255OCGMBOX AMD 49.90€
    GPU:SAPPHIRE VGA PCIE16 HD5670 1GB GDDR3 59.70€
    HDD:WD HDD SATA 500GB 7200RPM 6GB/S/16MB WD5000AAKX 35.50€
    RAM:KINGSTON 2GB PC10600 DDR3 1333MHz CL9 KVR1333D3N9/2G x2 20.50€

    228.85€
     
  2. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Maybe try and get a better mobo but for what you described, it's perfect. I assume he already has a case and ODD?
     
  3. BlurryS

    BlurryS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    71 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Yeah, case and ODD, both :)
     
  4. BlurryS

    BlurryS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    71 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Btw, whats wrong with the mobo ? i couldnt find any AM3+ boards and Intel system would have been more expensive
     
  5. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    The chipset is rather old there are better boards for 10-20euros more, either that or spend the extra 20euro on an x3
     
  6. BlurryS

    BlurryS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    71 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    K, what about
    ASUS AM3 NF630A DDR3 SATA2 RAID ATX M4N68T LE V2

    or

    GIGA-BYTE MB AMD 760G/SB710 SAM3+ MATX/GA-78LMT-S2P GIGA-BYTE
     
  7. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,196 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    Location:
    Home
    Have you considered the APU chips? The AMD A8-3850 has 400 stream processors, same as the 5670, but has 4 cores and should come out more or less the same price as the GPU+processor, maybe a bit cheaper. Motherboards is going to cost a bit more though.
     
  8. BlurryS

    BlurryS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    71 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I didn't see any of these in the sale. Probably gonna go with the X2 Athlon, he wants to order it tomorrow. Looks like he is glad tho :D
     
  9. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,196 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    Location:
    Home
    If you are going for Athlon might as well follow NdMk's advice, you will want the extra core(s). As for the motherboards, I will take the 760G chipset.
     
  10. BlurryS

    BlurryS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    71 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    It's not for me. My friend said that 2 cores is all he needs. Im gonna pick 760G chipset then.
     
  11. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,158 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Forget what your friend says. It's you he'll bug if the system is below expectations lol

    The 760G chipset is borderline OK. You shoudl be able to find a 785G chipset for almost the same price.

    You can also find a Athlon II X3 for almost the same price as the X2.


    2GBs of ram is the minimum you want to be running on a modern operating system. I'd recommend you install 4GB minimum.

    As for video card, see if you can find a cheap or used ATI 5770, 4870 1GB or better yet a 6790
     
  12. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,196 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    Location:
    Home
    Well, I thought I needed 2 cores and it turned out that I needed >8 threads (long story). Try not to cheap out here, you really want to at least hit the sweet spot in price/perf.

    [Dent1] 760G chipset is fine, for a basic rig you don't need features you can find in the 785G chipset, 2gb of ram is fine too if you are not playing anything major. On the same line, the 5670 with 400 stream processors is ok, I can play Starcraft 2 quite comfortably with my 160 stream processors.
     
  13. BlurryS

    BlurryS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    71 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Ofcourse i would give them something better but 240€ budget is quite low. It was hard enough to put a system together like this lol. And since he didn't give me any time, he told me yesterday to put together a system and today he wants to order it.
     
  14. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Whats so hard, this is a quad core build with 4gb ddr3 and corsair PSU for £230

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  15. BlurryS

    BlurryS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    71 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    The thing is, we dont have A6-3650 processors in here. Anyway, its already ordered. We'll see how it works out.
     
  16. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,158 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Saw a few reviews of the Llano APU. For a server or media centre its great. But for casual gaming. you'll get more performance out of a decicated video card and a cheapo Athlon IIX2/X3.
     
  17. BlurryS

    BlurryS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    71 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I think athlon X2 255 3.1ghz and 1gb sapphire 5670 with 4 gigs of ram will work out just fine for casual gaming. For example, i have my old C2D @ 1.86ghz, 3gb ram and HD 3870 running nfs hot pursuit ( 2010 ) almost maxed out ( shadows on medium ), high-res textures turned on and @ 2048x1536 ( old 17" crt ) at quite decent frame rates.
     
  18. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,196 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    Location:
    Home
    Battlefield Bad Company 2 is going to make that rig cry.
     
  19. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,364 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    399
    Actually, that C2D rig isn't that far off performance-wise next to that Phenom 2 rig. I'd say a little better with the P2 rig because of the extra features that the new setup supports. Your friend will have a good time with this thing. Congrats!
     
  20. BlurryS

    BlurryS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    71 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    @ Fourstaff, he is not going to play BFBC 2
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page