1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Northbridge, mosfets, south bridge.

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by AllHopeIsGone1, May 6, 2009.

  1. AllHopeIsGone1 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    121 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Out of those 3, which one is most commonly watercooled from 1st to last. Example;

    1. NB
    2. Mosfets
    3. Southbridge

    Also, if I decided to cool my board, what would be worth watercooling and what won't be worth watercooling?
     
  2. Evo85

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    459 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Indy, IN
    I would say the most common is:

    NB/SB/MOSFETS.

    But I could be wrong. ;)
     
  3. AllHopeIsGone1 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    121 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Do most people cool the NB and leave the other 2 on air or what? Or do people watercool the one that's the hottest.
     
  4. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Well, there's no real reason to water cool them, unless your at 4.5GHz+. They never exceed 50c with normal use.

    But i suppose if you had a loop, i'd cool them all just for looks.

    NB is easiest, then Mosfets, then SB.
     
  5. AllHopeIsGone1 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    121 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Is it worth ever watercooling the SB? Mine always stays below 30c I presume.
     
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,083 (12.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,540
    No. Unless you are going for the "cool" factor.:cool:
     
  7. AllHopeIsGone1 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    121 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Are blocks available seperately so if I wanted to only watercool the NB and mosfets, I could get single blocks and not blocks that cool the NB and say they gotta cool the SB too cause they're both on the same block.
     
  8. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Lol... was that intentional ??? haha
     
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,083 (12.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,540
    You should list your system specs. I assume you are using X58? Yes, separate blocks can be purchased, you need to figure out what brand you want (I like EK) and then check their compatability list on their website. The blocks that cover everything are nice because they are made for your motherboard and usually aren't as hard to mount.
     
  10. Naekuh

    Naekuh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    503 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    Miko Fox? Fire Miko? Its FireFox-Tan!
    considering how most boards its all one sink... your correct.

    depends on what board your looking at. Most people that do venture this far tend to have upper mid to high range boards. These boards have a sink which integrates mosfet nb and sb on some occasions.

    So depending on the board this question is very hard to answer.

    Example P6T-DLX:
    [​IMG]

    So you need something like this:
    [​IMG]

    And the ultra high end Classified blocks:
    [​IMG]

    Watercooling the SB with SLI or Xfire configs = UBER PITA!
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2009
  11. AllHopeIsGone1 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    121 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Is there any blocks to cool my NB, mosfets and SB in one block for my Rampage Formula X48?
     
  12. viczulis

    viczulis New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    891 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Ohio
    Here's north/south bridge I put on my Rampage X48 :toast:
     

    Attached Files:

  13. AllHopeIsGone1 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    121 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Temperatures on them both please?
     
  14. viczulis

    viczulis New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    891 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Ohio
    Sorry when I get home (out of town) will let you know. Tomorrow late.
     
  15. viczulis

    viczulis New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    891 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Ohio
    Alright I'm home now. Been running orthos for ten minutes now. Full load.

    Temps are coming from PC Probe 2

    NB 1.49 v @ 32 C
    SB 1.06v @ 32C
     
  16. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,083 (12.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,540
    viczulis, do you have a link to a retailer for the nb/sb block? :)
     
  17. viczulis

    viczulis New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    891 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Ohio
    Still running orthos been 1 1/2 hrs now and still showing at 32C both north and south bridge.:D

    Erocker I bought from Sidewinders- Bitspower Black Freezer A1X48NSF Chipset block for 105.95 but I just searched there site and I cant find them. WTF
    At Frozen but cost alot more.
    http://www.frozencpu.com/products/8...Southbridge_Combo_Block_BP-WBAIX48NSF-BK.html

    Last time ran orthos for 4 hours and highest NB/SB got was 35 c

    Oh by the way got memory today thanks up and running now I want to see if I can push alittle more. :toast:
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2009
  18. Neo4

    Neo4 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    152 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
    The NB is the only one other than CPU and GPU that gets WC'd. The SB never gets hot enough and how could anyone build a cooler for the FET area? Too long and narrow it seems to me. :slap:

    Edit: Oops, I stand corrected you can WC the FET's on Intel anyway. Wow, that's a lot of loops.
     
  19. Naekuh

    Naekuh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    503 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    Miko Fox? Fire Miko? Its FireFox-Tan!
    full board blocks didnt drop in price until koolance came out and pwned a lot of vendors with sub 100 dollar blocks.

    the X48 is an old platform, so it would go in the expensive block catigory. LoL my entire koolance board setup costed me arround 100 dollars for the classified!
     
  20. viczulis

    viczulis New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    891 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Ohio
    Its only been two months or so ago that I paid 105.00.

    I guess I'm glad I bought when I did.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page