1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

not possible to update amd athlon xp 3200+ with win7 32-bit?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by minstreless, Mar 15, 2012.

  1. minstreless

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    110 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    *topic*

    i cannot find any drivers for my cpu and motherboard.. not sure which motherboard i've got. i only know the cpu.. and there are no drivers for it since im using windows 7 32-bit..

    pc is working so slowly, even after a fresh re-install.

    what do i do?
     
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,584 (10.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,091
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Hmmm windows 7 should work on most newer CPUs, I even think when it was first released a person managed to install win7 on a Pentium II 200Mhz machines with 128MB Sdram without problems.

    The motherboard is the other issue, you may need to open the case and take the model number down then post it here. Also post a Screenshot of your device manager with the audio/video/Network tabs open.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,422 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,463
    the CPU is definitly supported by windows 7, the motherboard chipset maynot...
     
  4. minstreless

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    110 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    ok.. i did try to look around, but i did not see any model number except for 'N1996' on the motherboard... i also found a barcode with only numbers on it: 5311199084 - nothing else..

    heres the screenshot: http://bildr.no/view/1132507

    does that say anything..?
     
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Can you give use a pic of the motherboard? Will research for you some later on when im not afk.
     
  6. minstreless

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    110 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
  7. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,422 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,463
    U think everest will have that info? Btw if i were u id take the machine apart n look closley at the motherboards front and back face for a make n model
     
  8. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,040 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    498
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    Try CPU-z



    [​IMG]
     
  9. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,614 (8.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,480
    Make and model is probably between the slots in the board... you may have to pull the video card to get a good look at it ;)
     
    yogurt_21 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,422 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,463
    Ok his board i believe is from msi as oem for hp/compaq/emachines
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  11. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,206 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,691
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    If you could just figure out what the NB chipset is? VIA kt266a, kt333, kt400, kt600 or Nvidia nforce, nforce 2?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Black Flag

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    61 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    You have nothing to lose. Just install them! Windows 7 is having drivers for older hardware. I have install them on a single core Pentium 4 with no problems.
     
  13. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Yup. That's what it is alright. And pretty sure all socket a MSI boards used via UNLESS it had onboard graphics.
     
  14. minstreless

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    110 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
  15. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,374 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,582
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
  16. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,422 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,463
    certainly is a MSI OEM board
     
  17. acerace

    acerace

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    252 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Try this DriverPack Solution. See if it can find your drivers. Download the Full version.

    Edit: You have to download it via torrent. It's completely legitimate.
     
  18. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,422 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,463
    there is no Win 7 drivers for that board, but there are Win Vista Drivers for that board, Win Vista drivers are the closest to Win 7 than XP is for the driver model.

    go to viaarena for the drivers needed
     
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  19. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    Yeah! installed without problem maybe but it will run really slow specially after you installed a few software like AV & such...

    What type of HDD are you using?

    How much ram do you have on the PC?
    Anything under 2 GB of ram it's gona be slow for win7 after just a few software installed

    Don't know what you are using your PC for but the best OS for this "oldies" would be XP ;)
     
  20. minstreless

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    110 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    you are right.. i'd better install windows xp for this pc.. will probably work way better.

    at first, it worked nicely, but now it's slowing down. like...when i start a program, it seems like it is lagging or something.

    my pc got 2MB ram, yes. and it is using win7 32-bit.

    so, i will try and update the drivers first and if that does not help, i will just install windows xp, righto?
     
  21. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,422 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,463
    I would suggest getting the viaarena driver pack for your chipset which has 4 in 1 driver for Vista.

    It Seems 95Vipr has the right specs for the motherboard to get all proper drivers for that motherboard but I believe the driver via has includes what you need other than the video card
     
  22. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,393 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    560
    Location:
    AZ
    windows 7 actually works better than xp for my old athlon xp machines.

    and yeah vista drivers will work fine for windows 7 so I'd personally go that route. windows xp wasn't very good at resource management.
     
  23. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,422 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,463
    Course the os was engineered to be speedy on any hardware just about. Vista had too much overhead.
     
  24. minstreless

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    110 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I cannot seem to find the proper link to that 4 in 1 drivers you mention, eidairaman! And should i download the vista version or the windows 7 version of it?
     
  25. minstreless

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    110 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Any ideas?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page