1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Nvidia 306.23 Driver Problems

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by axis007, Oct 6, 2012.

  1. axis007

    axis007

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    45 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Hey tpu crew, so as the title says, these 306.23's are crap. have a system here at work 2 x gtx 560ti's (msi) keep getting the black screen BS.

    Am going to re install & try 301.42's :banghead:
     
  2. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Hmm, just got my GTX 660 a few days ago, had 0 issues with the 306.23, SLI and CF in general always seem to have issues though... I stick with single card solutions only these days
     
  3. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,160 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    624
    Location:
    Switzerland
    I can confirm i had many game crashes with this drivers.
     
  4. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,350 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    Location:
    Florida
    i had game crashes too made a thread about the dev drivers their a little better i dont have the wake up problem but my DD does crash once in awhile maybe not as often but it does. thinking about completely just rolling back.
     
  5. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,668 (6.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,179
    I also have a 5 series card that seems very touchy about new drivers. I found using one of the first drivers released with the series is the most stable. Once I sorted that I never updated the driver since I don't have issues with the games it plays.
     
  6. axis007

    axis007

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    45 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    STILL GOT THE BLACK SCREEN OF FAILURE!!!!!!!!!!!!

    So after a re install & trying the 301.42's still got the black screen.

    Which driver version are you using???? This is sooooooooooooo bloody annoying :banghead:
     
  7. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,847 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,714
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Sometimes the system reboots itself in the middle of the game (GTX 680). Can someone correlate?
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  8. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    weird, I have had 0 issues with the latest drivers... :/ you guys having some major bad luck i guess lol
     
  9. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    That's the same reason I am still on 301.42's had tons of issues with the newer drivers and my GTX 470's in single and SLi.
     
  10. Aksh_47 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    117 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Goa, India
    The 306.xx drivers seem to dislike 5 series cards.. my 560 also gives me problems, so im using the 301 for now..
     
  11. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,388 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,714
    sucks youre having issues, all i can say is remove anything Nvidia related using Driver sweeper and driver cleaner pro then go through the registry and C folder for NV related stuff and remove it all after youve got previous drivers and disconnected from the internet completely
     
  12. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,382 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Odd, this driver is dead stable with my 480 and 260. And I mean rock solid at high oc......
     
  13. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,388 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,714
    different configurations, clock and voltages, different cards etc, cant help when it works on 1 config but doesnt another
     
  14. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,382 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    True dat! I've seen so many configurations over my 20 years working with computers... you have no idea....
     
  15. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,350 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    Location:
    Florida
    i had that twice random reboot no BSOD i havent found the problem everything benches stable.

    apparently this is an issue, i googled around a bit before i made a thread for the dev drivers. the display driver fails often on 3 diffirent cards on 2 diffirent machine builds. comming back from sleep or waking up the monitor. chrome or full 3D.
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2012
  16. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,388 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,714
    Disabling the Automatic Restart option in Windows 7

    Click on the Start button and then on Control Panel.

    Tip: In a hurry? Type system in the search box after clicking Start. Choose System under the Control Panel heading in the list of results and then skip to Step 4.

    Click on the System and Security link.

    Note: If you're viewing the Small icons or Large icons view of Control Panel, you won't see this link. Simply double-click on the System icon and proceed to Step 4.

    Click on the System link.

    In the task pane on the left, click the Advanced system settings link.

    Locate the Startup and Recovery section near the bottom of the window and click on the Settings button.

    In the Startup and Recovery window, locate and uncheck the check box next to Automatically restart.

    Click OK in the Startup and Recovery window.

    Click OK in the System Properties window.

    You can now close the System window.

    From now on, when a problem causes a BSOD or another major error that halts the system, Windows 7 will not force a reboot. You'll have to reboot manually when an error appears.

    Ya the amt of machines ive fixed, Ive had 2 machines built to same spec and 1 was taking the stuff fine the other wasnt, sucks how that goes ya know.

    but thats why we are computer maintainers/builders.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page