1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NVIDIA Readying Dual-GF110 Graphics Accelerator, Eying Total Performance Leadership

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Nov 19, 2010.

  1. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,503 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    931
    Wonder if nvidia asked asus for advice after seeing their dual 480 board. Looks very similar. Even the same off center mounting holes. Actually are we sure this isn't a new mars card? I mean has nvidia said anything about it?

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
  2. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,354 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    550
    Location:
    AZ
  3. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,172 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Just in time for Crysis 2 :D

    Board layout pretty much looks like GTX295 single pcb. Would probly run ok on a 750w+ psu, with at least 48amps on the +12v. Im seeing a 600 USD tag there..
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2010
  4. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,681 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    734
    Location:
    Portugal
    That's one hell of a mess in that board! Asus did tidy up the components better. Seems like it will be one hell of a performer. Can't wait! :D
    And that SLI finger, THAT SLI finger...
    That's waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay too low...around 750 USD should be more adequate...
  5. MikeX New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    125 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    600 watt card...
    10 years later 2000watt card?
  6. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    so? go plant a tree if it bothers you :roll::roll:
    EnergyFX, [H]@RD5TUFF and wolf say thanks.
  7. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,407 (5.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,347
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    You also have to remember that since PCI-E 2.0 there is the capability to get 150W from the slot, in 2.1 and 3.0 this is even "smart" and can give you what you need rather than the whole 150W, therefore at least theoretically, 450W could be available here.
  8. Selene

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    232 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    I need!
  9. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,895 (8.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,471
    It should render all your kiddie porn flawlessly.
  10. alwayssts

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    333 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    75W from the slot, and iirc the power management came about in 2.0?

    At any rate, the 'spec' is anything but one, as we can see GF100/GF110 clearly can draw more juice under load than 300W at stock, and AMD/nVIDIA implement their TDPs differently.

    One has to question this product though, power consumption Nazi or not. It's outside the pci-e spec, and (if a nVIDIA-sanctioned card) can almost certainly be seen as a concession that the same configuration using GF114 will not beat 6990...which is perhaps a given.

    For it even to be feasible, it needs to be faster than the same configuration using GF114 GPUs instead, even at a greater clockspeed. Since we know GF104 GPUs clock into the 800+mhz range, and would assume GTX560 will be clocked in the 750-800mhz range, this would need to be clocked at least around ~600mhz. I wouldn't think there is a lot of wiggle room between that and what they could get away with using a < 375W spec, even using tricks like lower clocked/voltage (1.35v, 3.6/4.0Gbps) 2Gb (denser, not GB) GDDR5.
  11. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    ATI 6990, LOL ATI from this moment show your white flag
  12. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,407 (5.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,347
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Not quite sure what you are saying there in the first part of your post, to make it clear, the PCI-E 2.0 and 2.1 specification (and 3.0) is for 150W from the slot, the thing I am not sure of is whether all motherboard manufacturers actually conform to the specification.... ie.... their boards actually do draw more than 75W but potentially with a PCI-E 2.0 and onwards board 450W could be drawn with two 8 pin connections, whether in reality that is the case I really don't know..... my point being simply, don't assume that a dual GPU card would be starved of powerrrrzzzz, I doubt very much that NVidia would bring out a dual GPU card if they didn't think it would be competative.
  13. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    hells to the muthafuckin yeah! finally nvidia! hello $800 gpu!
  14. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    It would be so awesome if nvidia get a dual chip card in on the 5xx range, it was a little disappointing that there was no top end dual chip card from the 4xx range to go up against the 5970.

    *thinks about the crazy frame rate this card in sli could get* I wonder how well a pair of these would do in 3dmark11.
  15. ariff_tech New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    h o l e e c r a p...
  16. N3M3515

    N3M3515

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    429 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    it's not going to be dual 580
    maybe dual 570, or dual 560(gtx 460 @ 750Mhz) sounds more realistic.
  17. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    [​IMG]


    The 6990 didn't even come out yet, so it's too premature to spectulate
  18. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    I would expect them to try something like what AMD/ATI did with the 5970, maybe use the 580 core with 570 clocks if they could get the power usage low enough by doing so.

    I agree, even the 6970 is not out so the 6990 speed can't even be guessed using 6970 crossfire numbers yet.
  19. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    thats a good catch

    it actually does have the 1038A1 like on the sample w1zzard used in his review but the other marks are different and the identifyer the GF110 at the bottom isn't there so this could actually not even be a 512sp(disabled shaders) part but still based on the GF110.
  20. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,541 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    har har har you so witty.

    this will draw little more than a GTX295, while whoppin' it twice over.

    good on them I say, get it out fast like the GTX580.
  21. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    I wouldn't be suprised if this goes neck to neck with the 5990
  22. Over_Lord

    Over_Lord News Editor

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    751 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    Manipal
    Wait, so finally I've got a room heater replacement???? I thought Fermi was a bit too cool, 350W LOL I was laughing at that. I guess 600W or 700W would do good in the winters
  23. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,022 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    It bother's me:wtf: "plants 5,000 tree's" aahh I feel better, now I can play Crysis 3 with my 2000W GTX 795:toast::laugh:
  24. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Awesome.:)
  25. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,072 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    5970 is kia

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page