1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Official Windows 7 bug report thread

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Nick89, Oct 27, 2009.

  1. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    I made this thread because I couldn't find any official bug report threads.

    Post all problems and fixes in this thread. I'll add them to the front page if there is enough info about the bug.


    New bugs:
    I have encountered issues with steam.



    Fixed bugs:


    Old bugs with no fixes:

    :rolleyes: Haven't found any bugs yet. Knock on wood.
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2009
  2. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,258 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    966
    So I guess Win 7 is looking good so far. No 0-day issues like previous Windows editions.
     
  3. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Sweet, I will book mark this. I want to go ahead and put my Win 7 pro 64, but I wonder if my school apps will still work. Once I get me some DL media, Il be burning my 360 games and finishing up Wii Games and then I can go ahead and do the install.
     
  4. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Agreed Lem, or no one has thought about it yet. Im sure there are some bugs, but I have to say my RC release of 7 was pretty good, even with old software.
     
  5. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    I just ordered Windows 7 Ultimate today so if I find any bugs you guys will know:toast:
     
  6. WarhammerTX

    WarhammerTX New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    277 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Texas
    The only problem I have run into yet and it may just be me or I dont have something set right is I cant get it to save passwords for sites using firefox never had any problems with xp or vista.
     
  7. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    noted
     
  8. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,134 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    917
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Firefox had done that to me in vista, couldn't fix it so I ditched it, but now its working in Windows 7.
     
  9. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,163 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,712
    Had that issue, but it turned out to be the privacy settings in FF. Adjusted and its all good now.


    I have been having an odd problem. Randomly when I right click Windows Explorer crashes and has to restart. If I keep right clicking it will crash every time for a few minutes, then after sitting for 10 or so mins right clicking works as normal. Tried some fixes I found googling the issue, but nothing has gotten rid of it permanently. Something to do with context menus..
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,134 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    917
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    The problem isn't Windows 7, the problem is with you using Internet Explorer lol. What are you thinking?

    There is Opera, Chrome and Firefox all excellent choices.
     
  11. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,163 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,712
    You obviously misread my post. I already mentioned that I use FF when I addressed the other posters comments about saved passwords. Windows Explorer crashing does not mean Internet Explorer crashing, thanks.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,134 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    917
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Oh sorry, I thought you meant IE, wasn't trying to be an ass either, just a smart ass :D. That is a serious issue, has it always been doing this, or did it develop with time?
     
  13. ov2rey New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    140 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    my whole house and friend pc using windows 7 64 bits os got problem with installing

    this update "Update for Windows 7 for x64-based Systems (KB974431) Failed

    do anyone has the same problem with me install this update?
     
  14. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    642 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    midway city ca
    i had a problem getting 2 updates to install they just would not. then i used the reg cleaner in ccleaner and that fixed the problem now windows updates install with no problem.
     
  15. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    had it sence it come out with technet, have been using 2X ultimate 64 and 2X HP 64bit, no isseues related to the OS so far
     
  16. EnglishLion

    EnglishLion New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    461 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Peterborough, UK
    Had Outlook crash when trying to sync my ipaq 214. Works fine if outlook is already running but if Win7 needs to open outlook as part of the sync then outlook sometimes crashes when opening.

    Syncing a pda in windows has always been patchy (tried XP, Vista and 7).
     
  17. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,793 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    567
    Location:
    New York
    Well I tried the upgrade option and it rendered my system inoperable!:shadedshu
    Doesn't surprise me at all...time to do a clean install when i can find time.I just wanted to see if it actually works lol not even close a total failure!
     
  18. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,258 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    966
    Try 6.1 on ipaq 214. Might be better for you. http://forum.brighthand.com/showthread.php?t=270542
     
  19. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    The failed updates could be from several reasons, including improper date and time set (yes I know it sounds stupid, but its true). Also, I had problems with the upgrade of 7, clean install, and no problems with it...yet.
     
  20. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    noted
     
  21. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    642 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    midway city ca
    OK i found that if i try installing Sid Meier's civilization complete even in compatibility mode or any other setting it does not install there is an error 1618 another installation is in progress. all other programs install fine.
     
  22. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,251 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    352
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Many games dont work in Win7 which were not designed for it so i wouldnt call that a bug...
     
  23. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    I was under the impression that the games that work in Vista (like Sid Meier's Civiliation) would work in Vista. I know a lot of drivers for Vista will work with Win 7.
     
  24. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    My own experience so far:

    I cant get CrossFire X to work at all.... The drivers cant Identify my second card...

    I took it out, put it back in, restarted. You name it I've done it. I just cant get it to work.

    FIXED.
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2009
  25. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    Found a new issue, Sort by date doesn't work correctly

    Fixed
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2009

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page