1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

over clocking and power supply

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by scuba_steve70, Jun 23, 2005.

  1. scuba_steve70 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I am trying to over clock on amd xp mobile 2600
    everything was going fine till i hit 2.31 12x192.
    I was running prime 95 and the computer shut down
    I raised the v core to 1.775 and the computer again shut down while running prime 95

    I took the fsb back down and to 2.2 where i ran it stable before and it crashed. Computer shut down.
    So I put the FSB and multiplier back to defaults and ran prime again to make sure that cpu was ok and it passed

    I tired again time i use a digital multimeter to see how the rails were I also used ABIT eq and

    When I ran the FSB at 192 the 12 volts rail on the digital mulitmeter saud it was at 11.82 then it cashed. Abit ea said the 12 volts was at 11.4 which is very low
    The vcore which I set at 1.775 was reading 1.64 on adit eq and cpuz

    I know the 12 volts rail should be close to 12. Whe the computer is idle it is closetot 12 and then when I stress it out it goes down to 11.82.

    The cpu temp always says around 51 c load case 31c

    Does this sound like my power supply is holding me back?

    I also had an amd 2500 and never was able to get it past 2.14

    Any thoughts would be great



    Here are my specs

    Abit nf7-s v2
    AMD xp mobile 2600
    vantec stealth 520 watt power supply
    1 gig corsiar XMS 3200
    Maxtor 80 hard drive
    ATI 9800 pro 430/391
    Plextor DVD Burner 712A
    250 mb zip drive
     
  2. NjoelTheMan New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    11 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    its surely ur PSU. try to change it with OCZ powerStrem, its a good one. it has adjustable 12v,5v,3.3v outside the case, so u don't have to modded again. when OC-ing ur CPU, try lowering down ur multiplier (if it not locked) to 10 or 10.5, and higher ur fsb. you can get better overclocking with that
     
  3. scuba_steve70 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    how accurate is the reading in the bios.
    It says mu 12 volts rail is 11.54?
    How accurate is everest when reading voltages?
     
  4. nightelf84 Guest

    reading from your digital multimeter would be the most accurate.
     
  5. Hellraiser1981 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Messages:
    298 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    11.5 is too low for the +12 rail. +12 is the rail that feeds the PWM regulator for the CPU voltage. Bet if you used a scope on the +12 you would see hella ripple.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page