1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Palit HD 4870 Sonic Dual Edition a good buy?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by sleepsus, Aug 30, 2008.

  1. sleepsus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    36 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Manila
  2. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I would say yes. It has a nice cooler, beefed up power circuitry, and that very excellent dual-bios feature.

    I should let you know I'm a bit biased, however. lol.
     
  3. sleepsus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    36 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Manila
    Thanks Wile. I think I should rephrase my question then ... Among all the 4870's which would be the best bang for the buck?
     
  4. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    im with Wile E :p

    it looks like a nice card

    cuz your from the Philippines right ?

    do you buy online there or at a store ?
     
  5. sleepsus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    36 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Manila
    Yep, I'm from the PH. I buy at the store, it's right down the road from where I live :)
     
  6. largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,780 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    The only issue I have with that card is that the back panel takes 2 slots. I think PALiT could've ditched the 2nd DVI and put the BIOS-switch on the board... But it's not a biggie.
    :p
     
  7. blobster21

    blobster21

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    328 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Vandoeuvre - France
    the real issue is the rear exhaust no longer exists, the heat is going to dissipate inside the case
     
  8. BATOFF

    BATOFF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    68 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Earth
    I picked up this card yesterday and I must say I am rather pleased. Even tho there is no exhaust on the card, the twin fan and heatpipe setup does the job well and is quieter than a stock blower on most models. With a well ventilated case this is no problem. As with the Normal and Turbo switch, I find no big deal to having to shut down before ficking the switch. Included are screens in Turbo and Normal mode. Setup is a Q6600 run at stock settings. X48 chipset, 4 gig DDR2, Palit HD4870, Seasonic 700w modular, Cats 8.8 , 250gb sata2, Vista 64 SP1.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. nafets New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    611 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Please make both BIOSes available from your Palit HD4870, if possible. I'm interested in seeing what settings they have. Thanks!
     
  10. largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,780 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    BATOFF,
    How's the OC'ing?
    :p
     
  11. BATOFF

    BATOFF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    68 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Earth
    Not sure where i can display both bios's. GPU-Z gives me just the one. The only overclock I have done is using the Turbo switch. Benched with the Q6600 at 3.6ghz and Normal Mode settings on the 4870.
    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm06=8013452
    15,662
    Even so the card comes pre overclocked at 750/950. Turbo pushes it to 750/1000
     
  12. LoneReaction

    LoneReaction

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    149 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Singapore
    4870 threads are dead! I got the pailt yesterday too, first time ATI user. And same as batoff, the only overclocking I've done is flipping a switch behind the card.
    I don't know if I wanna overclock more, since there is practically no need to. ATITOOLS doesn't work with it though so that is a bummer.

    Room temp: 30c
    Idle: 60c
    Load: 72c
     
  13. sleepsus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    36 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Manila
    That is a bummer ... I'd like something I can tinker with. Did you try it with ATi Tray Tools?
     
  14. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Did you try Riva Tuner?
     
  15. LoneReaction

    LoneReaction

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    149 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Singapore
    Riva tuner doesn't detect it too. There's an overclocking utility in Catalyst Control Center, but the core is limited to 790Mhz.

    I'm still wondering how people get them to above 800.

    @ 775/1000 now, default for turbo mode.

    [​IMG]
    ps: ignore the current clock readings, when idle the card reverts to a low clock
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2008
  16. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
  17. LoneReaction

    LoneReaction

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    149 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Singapore
    Hmm. I am getting artifacts in ATI tools (0.27) scan artifacts in under 1min, even when underclocking below what the card is advertise to run at (750/1000). Should I RMA?
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2008
  18. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Nah, it might just be an incompatibility. Try Furmark for stability testing. Be warned tho, it will heat your card way hotter than just about anything else.
     
    LoneReaction says thanks.
  19. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,742 (11.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,676
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    The memory chips are left to the mercy of (pre-heated) air flow by the fans (that the fins heat).
     
  20. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Doesn't really make a difference. If they were sinked, you would just be blowing warm air on the sinks.

    Besides, the air coming off of the heatsink is likely cooler than the chips themselves anyway.
     
  21. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,742 (11.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,676
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Sure, but if they had sinks, they would at least have greater surface area to give away heat to whatever that pre-heated air can take. Now the area of the chip's surface is its surface area for heat dissipation.
     
  22. DidoD

    DidoD

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    for me i think its useles to buy this card just for the cooler , like i see from the reviews of this card the cooler is very loud and its not cooling down enough the temp, myne`s sapphire hd 4870 is with the stock cooler and fan 40%(over rivatuner) and is cooling the card more than the palis`s and its almost the same noise making like the palit`s , and its whith flashed bios.the hot air is staying in the case too and i dont see the mem chips to be cooled by the cooler????.
    The thing that i liked is the dual bios thing
     
  23. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Not necessarily. it depends strictly on the thermal interface between the sinks and the chip. Most thermal tape is crap. lol.

    Compare this to regular ram. Have you ever pulled the heat spreaders off of a ram kit? Every kit I've messed with has performed better sans spreader, vs leaving it on.
     
  24. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,742 (11.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,676
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    And why would you use tape? A sink with pads is better than bare chips. You're leaving the chips bare leaving them to pre-heated air for cooling. That's different from leaving system memory sticks bare, where that zone of the system isn't a hot-air environment, at least not as much as CPU and its VRM area, and definitely not as much as hot air coming from a OC'ed RV770.
     
  25. LoneReaction

    LoneReaction

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    149 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Singapore
    Woah, on benchmark test it runs smooth, but on stability testing it's jerky, and even my mouse lags. No problems though, load at 73-74c.
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2008

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page