1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

partially fix for jumping fps, drop suddenly to 30 or 45

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by tjane, Feb 3, 2013.

  1. tjane

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    25 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi guys, i have a problem with jumping fps (with Vsync Enabled off course)
    from 60 suddenly drop to 30 or 45 and then suddenly fly up to 60 again.

    for the first is, CoD : Black Ops 2
    when vsync enabled on the first stage, there is a "burning man" scene. in this part fps is drop to 45. In this case, enable Tripple Buffering with famous D3DOverrider make the game rock solid 60 fps and never suddenly drop to 30/45 fps.

    next is, FIFA 13
    by enabling Tripple Buffering, only solve jumping fps in "instant replay" menu. Cut scene did not solved.

    next is, Batman : Arkham City, and the new one DmC - Devil May Cry.
    with Vsync ON, fps suddelnly drop to 30. And Tripple Buffering does not solve it at all.
    1. WHY?
    that's my first question, and the second,
    2. is there any tool for Radeon user like me to enabled "Adaptive Vsync" like Nvidia does?


    thanks in advance.
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2013
  2. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,889 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    452
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    I have no such problems...What video card do you have?
  3. Cotton_Cup

    Cotton_Cup

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    378 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Rizal, Philippines
    what gpu are you using???? seeing your system specs are you using on board by chance?

    what resolution do you play??
  4. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    another guy who does not list all his specs
  5. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,429 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,113
    Another rude post by drdeathx.
  6. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,372 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Well, honestly, it may not be the best way to say it with huge fonts, but he's got a point. For a forum that's fairly well set up for it, a lot of people don't bother filling out the system specs chart when asking system related questions or giving other pertinent info like drivers used.
  7. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,450 (3.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,544
    You are correct, however we can (and should) still ask nicely:)
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2013
    Aquinus, Darkleoco and ...PACMAN... say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,457 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    875
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    I never liked V-Sync because it pretty much always makes everything sluggish. And i don't think it's the problem with "too slow" GPU since i have the HD7950 3GB and i never play with very high resolution because of the monitor. I just can't stand the sluggish mouse movement induced by V-Sync. Using triple Buffer didn't really solve anything. So occasional image tearing is better than sluggish mouse the entire time...
  9. tjane

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    25 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sys. Spec :

    using 1366x768 resolution, with system spec:
    AMD Phenom II x4 @3GHz
    RAM Ripjaw 2x2GB 1600
    HD4770 512MB PCS+
  10. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    better
  11. Mr.EVIL New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    32 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2013
  12. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,450 (3.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,544
    Mr. Evil - please do not double post. Use the "Edit, Quote and Multi-Quote" features please.
    Carry on
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. terrastrife New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    172 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Turn v sync OFF and set a fps cap the same as your monitors refresh rate.
    You are describing perfectly normal v sync operation, when your system drops below the v sync rate, it will halve your frame rate to avoid visual tearing. This is as close to adaptive v sync as you can get.
  14. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    His monitor has nothing to do with it. It is input lag, and it ranges from being barely noticeable to downright unplayable.
  15. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,372 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    The thread title is specifically about FPS drops. Input lag has zero to do with frame drops.
  16. terrastrife New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    172 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    urm, it's v sync, that's how it works. if you had a 120hz monitor and can't push 120fps then it drops to 60fps to avoid tearing, and if you can't push 60fps then it dorps again to 30fps.
  17. Mr.EVIL New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    32 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2013
  18. Mr.EVIL New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    32 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2013
  19. terrastrife New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    172 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    this is simply how v sync works. you know, sync is short for synchronous. turning on a feature that only allows a refresh that is in sync with the refresh rate. 15, 30, and 60 divide into 120.

    Enabling triple buffering and increasing the prerender needs to be a balance of how much performance overhead you can spare. Increasing pre render however and pushing those frames however introduces a display 'lag' if you are outputting a frame that's been pre drawn but no longer needed.

    Pro FPS gamers will run no pre render with v sync and triple buffering disabled, but cap the fps usually to that of the refresh rate, or twice the refresh.

    OP: you simply don't have the performance (be it hardware or game engine) to handle the settings you want in Batman. Unlike Mr.EVIL you at least understand how triple buffering works and what it does for v sync XD
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,013 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,404
    Vsync can only cause visual artifacting. when triple buffering is used (as it almost always is) your FPS is not halved/quartered - it can be any number between 0 and your refresh rate.


    the input lag problems certainly exist, but they're a product of bad game coding. dead space comes to mind as an example here (and is easily fixed via programs like D3Doverrider)
  21. Mr.EVIL New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    32 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2013
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,013 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,404
    you know, evil... insulting people wont get you far.

    no warnings after this post, infractions will occur for any more rude behaviour.
  23. Mr.EVIL New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    32 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2013
  24. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,514 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,879
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Not quite ;) I have a 144hz monitor, and when i cant push 144 frames with vsync turned on, it drops it to random solid framerates, like 123, 110, and one time 97. Not once has my pc halved my framerate from 144 or 120 down to 60 to avoid tearing.

    EDIT: OP, in FIFA 13, cutscenes will likely be set to a specific framerate throughout. I may be wrong, but pre rendered videos will have a set framerate. It's like me complaining my loading screens are only 9fps.
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2013
  25. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,457 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    875
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    @Mr.EVIL
    No, Adaptive V-Sync is not the same as FPS limiter. I've done fps limiting in CS:GO and all i got was horrifying image tearing even though the game was otherwise running at 250 fps.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page