1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PC BSODs ocasionally

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by jaredudu, Oct 1, 2012.

  1. jaredudu

    jaredudu

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    240 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    New York
    Hello everyone,

    my PC occasionally BSODs after being idle for a couple hours. It does not always happen but maybe every 1/5 times. It will also do this rarely when web browsing. It has NEVER done it under moderate to heavy load. I have checked my processor and memory with Prime95/memtest and have no problems.

    The computer is a i5 2500k @ 4.5ghz, AsRock p67 pro 3 (see specs for the rest of the info). This has only started happening since I upgraded my cpu/board 6 months ago, so I am fairly certain it has nothing to do with the video card, power supply or sound card.

    Spread spectrum is disabled, I am wondering if it may have something to do with my LLC level :confused:

    If it helps here is a cpu-z anaysis:
    Code:
    http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2529533
    Thanks for the help,
    Jared
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,447 (10.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,996
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    what stop code is it?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,521 (13.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,920
    Even though it passes Prime95, I would try bumping up the CPU voltage a little to see if the problem persists.

    You can also check the Error Log: Right Click "Computer" ->Manage ->Event Viewer and check for Errors/Warnings.
  4. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    Pass prime what? Small? Large? Blend? Custom? All of the above? How long is it prime stable? Lots of questions lol

    Oh yeah, what version of prime? Have you tried any other stress test proggies? Lol

    I would be inclined to think that you need to play around with your settings again to stabilize the clock speed, a small bump in Vcore as suggested by erocker may do the trick!
  5. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,050 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,369
    did you format the drive before putting in the new motherboard etc?

    Overclocking and faulty ram are main causes of BSODs.
  6. jaredudu

    jaredudu

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    240 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    New York
    Hello everyone,

    to answer some of your questions

    - The drive has been formatted/wiped a few times since then
    - The RAM was running fine in my last build
    - I am not sure what the stop is but the event ID appears to be 6008.
    - It ran for a couple hours on all modes of prime95 (If I remember correctly).

    I never tried to raise the vcore a bit because I figured it would BSOD under load if that was a problem.
  7. jaredudu

    jaredudu

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    240 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    New York
    Here are some bios screenshots as well.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
  8. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,050 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,369
    if the machine auto restarts you need to disable it in windows thats the way to get the BSOD codes.
  9. jaredudu

    jaredudu

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    240 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    New York
    It does not auto restart, I just was an idiot and didn't write the code down.
  10. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,066 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    check ur event viewer
  11. jaredudu

    jaredudu

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    240 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    New York
    Care to take a trip to Rotterdam to diagnose the situation :p
  12. adulaamin

    adulaamin

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    630 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Baguio City, Philippines
    Try what erocker said... I had BSODs with my current rig before... OCCT stable for 16hrs... It crunched for 2 weeks then it started to BSOD... I upped the voltage a bit and it fixed the issue... No BSODs since then... :)
    jaredudu says thanks.
  13. jaredudu

    jaredudu

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    240 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    New York
    Can I ask what vcore you are using?
  14. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,066 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    Haha I was down the street from there earlier at the base.
  15. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,639 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,059
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    It won't matter what vcore he is using as yours will be different. Try bumping it up to 1.31 and see what it does.
    jaredudu says thanks.
  16. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,066 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    My moneys on the power supply.. if the upgrade is when this all started then your psu might not be able to power everything. If you can get your hands on a bigger psu to test with try that.


    A brand new 650w will be able to power this.. one thats been running for awhile is not putting out 650w anymore (And likely wasnt ever putting out that much)
  17. jaredudu

    jaredudu

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    240 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    New York
    Why would the system be stable under load though if this was the case? EDIT* The power supply is about 4 years old, not sure how quickly they degrade. And one other thing actually, with my previous build (last winter) It was very common for the computer to BSOD 2 or 3 times before becoming stable on the initial Windows boot on cold winter mornings. After that it was always fine.

    I will give it a try. It will take a couple days to see if it helped though as the problem is sort of intermittent.
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2012
  18. jaredudu

    jaredudu

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    240 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    New York
    Quick update guys. I upped the voltage about .1 volt and it appears to have fixed the problem. Been a week without a BSOD :D.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page