1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PC keeps freezing.

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by slugzee, Nov 21, 2012.

  1. slugzee

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    34 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Bridlington
    Hi guys my old rig keeps on freezing. If i leave it without doing anything for 15 mins it freeze completely, if i play a game on it for awhile the system freezes and makes a really loud high pitch sound through the speakers. The error is resolved when the GPU is taken out but the Gpu works perfect in my new rig. Any ideas?

    Old rig specs: Q8200, 4gb drr3, 250 gb hdd, XFX 5870. Be quiet 530w pure power.
     
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,700 (9.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,159
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Run memtest86+ by burning the ISO from the website. That can rule out memory issues. Also do some HD checks with HDtune or crystaldisk. Another thing to look for is heat issues so check the temps at idle and load with coretemp/realtemp
     
    slugzee says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. reverze

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,368 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    Clean format and install .. new drivers key.
     
    slugzee says thanks.
  4. slugzee

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    34 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Bridlington
    Ive tried a fresh install. I will try what Brandon said
     
  5. slugzee

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    34 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Bridlington
    Ive done both test and no errors. I used prime 95 for half an hour and it never over heated im still no closer.
     
  6. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Power supply maybe? Try a different PSU.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Modern Hosting New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Or you can upgrade your PSU. This condition should be do if you have any problem like that.
     
  8. DannibusX

    DannibusX

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,528 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    979
    Location:
    United States
    Make sure your RAM is getting proper voltage, that's what it sounds like to me, other than the possibility that your PSU is on the fritz.
     
  9. corehazard New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Charlotte,NC
    Try replacing your CMOS battery. I had a problem with symptoms like yours before and replacing my CMOS battery fixed them. Side note: The time was never off.
     
  10. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,974 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,020
    My 1st thought, It's your hard drive.
     
  11. Vlada011

    Vlada011

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    337 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    Probably motherboard...
    You need to check what happen in safe mode and to try different 100% PSU.
    Best borrow from someone and try...
     
  12. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,487 (8.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,626
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    The noise you hear, does it come from the speakers, like a white noise from a radio when its not tuned in?
     
  13. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,507 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,201
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Lets throw out every part of the computer we haven't tested yet! :confused:

    In all seriousness the 5870 draws a lot of power and if the PSU is poorly manufactured and because it is getting older and has been used a bit, I'm sure, the PSU might not be able to keep up this setup. It very well could be the PSU. I personally had a 550-watt BFG power supply that worked fine with a Phenom II 940 and a Radeon HD 4850, however when I went to go install a 6870 it was a no go until I replaced the PSU with a significantly larger Corsair 800w. The BFG I had still works with a C2D E6600 and that same 4850 in my friend's rig. So keep in mind that despite the PSU is not dead, it might degrade to a point where it won't boot or worse, could ruin your hardware. You wouldn't happen to have a backup video card that doesn't use as much power to test with, would you?

    Additionally since we're talking about PSUs, how do your voltages look? Does putting the rig under load seem to expedite the freezing? I'm assuming the screen is freezing, it's not actually getting to a BSOD.
     
  14. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,601 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    make sure your psu is not dusty, then check the voltages

    and look on your motherboard and video card for bad caps, wouldn't hurt to check the psu also but If you've never done that before don't do it.
     
  15. slugzee

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    34 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Bridlington
    Just a quick reply it did turn out to be the motherboard battery. Sorry for such a slow reply.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page