1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PC Won't Start Windows

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Aceman.au, Jan 12, 2009.

  1. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,414 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    I wake up this morning and switch on my PC. It goes thru all the normal precedures and get to the Windows XP loading screen and thats when it stop and just keeps on loading...

    I've tried running it in safe mode. Changing the boot devices which funnily enough the first boot device was the floppy and I dont even have one... Ive tried switching off the power to it (thought it might do something).

    Im out of ideas any help?
  2. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    try clearing the cmos
    Aceman.au says thanks.
  3. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,414 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    kk how do u do that?
  4. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    U should see signs of "battery" or "BIOS CMOS" or something like that on ur mobo. Take out the battery. Stand for 5 min- 1 hour and put back in.

    EDIT: I don't think it's CMOS since u didn't do any oc.
    Aceman.au says thanks.
  5. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,414 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Kk cheers
  6. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,414 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    There's only 1 battery on the mobo so its easy to find... It was underneath my graphics card huge ass fan... Kk I'll leave it for a while
  7. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Or you could find the reset cmos jumper and flip it lol thats much easier. Look in your manual for it.
    Aceman.au says thanks.
  8. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,414 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    :S Man I'm learning heaps from this forum...
  9. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,414 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Ok I found the thing to clear the CMOS but its actually just 2 little pins.. WTF?
  10. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Take the jumper off of the two and put them on the other one. Then put it back to normal a few seconds later.
  11. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,414 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Do I need to turn my pc on?
  12. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,414 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    I mean turn it on when Ive changed the jumper over
  13. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,414 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Ok there's no little jumper on either of the pins...
  14. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Then find one or press a screwdriver head against both pins while switching on your pc
  15. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    If there is no jumper on the cmos then that's the problem..
  16. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,414 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Then how has my PC been starting all these times?
  17. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,414 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    [​IMG]

    Here's in a image of what I get when I put the screw driver against the two pins!!!
  18. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,414 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    What should I do now?
  19. ASRockIQ

    ASRockIQ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    949 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Daphne, AL
    just try taking the battery out and wait 10s at least. before taking the battery out MAKE SURE the PSU is actually turned off by flipping the switch off on it. if there isn't a switch then just unplug the PSU Cord.
  20. Damian^

    Damian^ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    552 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Texas
  21. ASRockIQ

    ASRockIQ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    949 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Daphne, AL

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page