1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PCI-E 8X vs 16X performance difference on Single Card Solution

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by suraswami, May 8, 2008.

  1. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,118 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    810
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    I checked few reviews and the difference between 8x lane and 16x lane PCI-E is very minimal. like 3%. Frys has sale on XFX 8800GT 512MB Alpha Dog version for $150 AR. If I put it in my Jetway mobo (in my signature) which only has 8x pci-e lane will I loose lots of FPS?

    I will end up buying a ATX mobo later. But its tempting now. Should I go 3870 instead of 8800GT?
  2. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,410 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    I wouldn't worry, and besides that model of Jetway says that it was a PCIe x16 @ x16 slot.
  3. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,914 (5.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,063
    Location:
    Ohio
    It depends on the card. If you have a beast of a card like a 9800GX2 or a 3870x2, your performance will be affected. An 8800gt however, minimal difference.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,118 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    810
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    It says X16 slot. But the connection is only 8X because of the chipset 6100-405.
  5. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,914 (5.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,063
    Location:
    Ohio
    Like I said it wouldn't affect performance too much. If you're that worried about it, go ahead and overclock your PCI-E bus, but I don't reccomend going over 120.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,118 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    810
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    hmm I have seen the 8800GT beat the 3870 X2 on some benchies. If the 88 will not be affected much then I am all set.

    Too bad I have to ditch ATI. 3870 (not the X2) is any good?
  7. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,914 (5.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,063
    Location:
    Ohio
    Probably when the 3870 was in its infancy (crappy drivers rushed out of the door)

    The 8800GT is slightly faster than a 3870, I can't imagine it being faster than effectively two of them :wtf:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. FatForester New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    971 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    I wouldn't worry about it because the real bottleneck is your X2 3800+. Go for it though, because the 8800GT is an awesome card!
  9. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,118 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    810
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    oh sorry. I am going to put it in the Jetway + X2 5600 machine.
  10. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,118 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    810
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    If that is the case then I might get 3870 and still be AMD/ATI fanboy:D
  11. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,118 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    810
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
  12. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,118 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    810
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
  13. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,914 (5.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,063
    Location:
    Ohio
    What? You don't like HIS? Why?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. FatForester New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    971 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Oh, ok I see. As far as comparing a 3870 vs. a 8800GT, the 8800GT is faster, it just depends on how much you want to spend. If your mobo is limited by the 8x, then definitely go with the 3870. When PCIe came out years ago, there wasn't a bit of difference between bandwidth speeds.. but now things have changed. If you don't see yourself upgrading in the future, or if the board is indeed only 8x, get the 3870. Otherwise, the 8800GT would be the better choice.
    suraswami says thanks.
  15. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,118 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    810
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    No. I said my favorite brand is HIS:slap:
  16. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,118 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    810
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    This board I bought because I killed an ECS board. This is just stop gap before I finally go Phenom. But my 5600 OCed to 6400 speeds is more than enough in today's new games. That is reason I thought about investing on a VC.
  17. Nyte New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    185 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    Toronto ON
    You should be careful with putting it in the x8 slot... It's not the bandwidth that's the concern.

    Basically, each slot on a motherboard is routed either through the NORTHBRIDGE or the SOUTHBRIDGE. If it's routed directly through the NORTHBRIDGE, that's fine.

    However, if it's routed through the SOUTHBRDIGE, it will get additionally routed to the NORTHBRIDGE. That's 2 latency paths for your data which drops performance. Usually slots that are less than x16 are routed through the SOUTHBRIDGE to NORTHBRIDGE (especially the x1 slots). The best thing to check is look at your motherboard and track the PCB traces to see if it goes to the NORTHBRIDGE.
  18. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,541 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    i run a 9600GT on pci-e 4x and she still gets about 90% of her 16x score.
    lemonadesoda says thanks.
  19. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    the mobo is a full X16
    Quote:
    "PCI Express x16 Slot @ 16-LANE Bandwidth for PCI Express Interface VGA Cards
    Designed to run with the next-generation PCI Express bus architecture; the motherboard offers 1 PCI Express x16 slot with 16 lanes bandwidth to support PCI-Express interface compatible add-in cards."

    I know when I run my 9600GTs on my SLI mobo (X8 when using SLI) there is practically no loss. The bridge makes up for a bit too.

    I would get a 8800 or 9600GT since the chipset is Nvidia.(dont overlook the 8800GS either)
  20. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    i have also 8800gt pci-e 2.0 16x run on my a bit mobo which is run at 8x , it run well but am try to overclock it
    hey guys i need your advice in my thread about overclock

    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?p=867373&posted=1#post867373
  21. TomBrooklyn New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    I understand a 16x board is going to revert to 8x if SATA 3 or USB3 is employed on a P55 Motherboard. How much of a video performance hit is going to occur in that case?
  22. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    In most cases, it shouldn't go down to 8X, but, for the sake of argument, lets assume it does.

    The answer is, it shouldn't make much of a difference with all but the highest end cards.
  23. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,154 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    A few percent or more depending on your GPU... which would be wise to provide.

    /Nice necrobump. :D

    Some motherboards do for some odd reason, probably not enough bandwidth.
  24. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,936 (7.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,509
    Sounds like you need a VGA Switch Card in there. Mine runs at 8x also without a "slave".

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2010

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page