1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PCI-E x8 vs x16....how much difference exist???

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by CH@NO, Oct 20, 2007.

  1. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    Man, I didn't notice that my mobo has a PCI-E x16 slot downed to x8......WHY???, at least Gigabyte must write something on the box but IT DIDN'T.....in the specs it says that it has a PCI-E x16 slot.

    If I'm not wrong.....having this PCI-E x8 is the same if I have an AGP 8X slot didn't it????, so my question is if exist a performance diference, a dif. that I can see when playing,etc.

    Hope I'll be clear and thanx for your support.......I LOVE YOU GUYS......in a friendly way of course :laugh: :toast:
  2. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,801 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,919
    First, read this: http://www.tomshardware.com/2007/03/27/pci_express_scaling_analysis/

    It gives information about how the different PCI-E slots affect bandwidth.

    Second, read this: http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Products...board&ProductID=2507&ProductName=GA-M61SME-S2

    Those are the specs of your motherboard.
    btarunr and CH@NO say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  3. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
  4. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,355 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    394
    Ditto, I should navigate Tom's Hardware more often
  5. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    PCIE "capping" is getting to be a swindle now, if you have an nforce mobo thats not top of the line, nvida screw you. You get 2x 8x speed PCIE slots, that wont even run x16 if your only using one card, which means no 650i board and 8800 series, as the 8800s must have a 16x PCIE slot to work.
  6. digitalhater New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    110 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Do you know if an ASUS M2N4-SLI has the PCI-E x8 or x16 ?
    Could you tell me please?
  7. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Blighty
    The only ones that do that are the ecs ones, because they 'hardwire' them to 2x8x, any others are 16x when using 1 card, essentially, its ecs who 'screw people'
    [​IMG]
  8. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,801 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,919
    They only cap you on their very very low end chipsets with integrated graphics, and they do it because there simply isn't enough PCI-E lanes to go around in the chipset. They are designed to be cheap, and they are.

    Your 650i comments are completely wrong. NVidia doesn't cap the PCI-E lanes on the 650i as you say. The motherboard manufacture might hardwire the board to constantly run at 8x by 8x mode, but nVidia doesn't force this. Most good manufactures will let you use all 16x lanes when you only have one video card. In fact some will even let you use 16x by 16x SLI on the 650i chipset.

    Please don't ask him, he doesn't know what he is talking about.

    The M2N4-SLI runs as one PCIE x16 slot when you are using a single graphics card, and when SLI is enabled it runs as two PCI-E x8 slots.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  9. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,894 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Have you looked in the bios theres probably a option to chang it to 16x, with low end card you wont notice a big performance drop from 8x-16x
  10. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    No, they do cap, and here is the proof you get screwed in SLi. http://www.nvidia.com/page/nforce_600i_features.html try actually doing some research before ever again making such arrogant statements as "Please don't ask him, he doesn't know what he is talking about."
  11. Darkmind New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    159 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    The 650i ultra board (the non SLI version) has 1 x16 PCI-E, not 1 x8 PCI-E. The nforce 650 SLI does 2x8 in SLI, but does 1x16 in single.
  12. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    So...ket....your saying that if you have a 650i and a 8800....the 8800 wont work??:s
  13. Dark_Webster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    393 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Portugal
    No, i think that 8800 series in SLI will run on a 650i board... but with less performance.
  14. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    i doubt it would have much less performance....someone needs to test this. Xfire/SLi dual 16x vs dual 8x. I doubt there would be much performance lost.
  15. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    BTW 8x PCI-e isnt the same as AGP....AGP can only send data in one direction.....PCI-e can go both ways at the same time.
  16. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,801 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,919
    I don't see where that link confirms anything you have said. You still don't know what the hell you are talking about, and no one should listen to your idiotic ramblings that you still try to stick to despite having someone(who wasn't me) post a screenshot showing exactly the opposite of what you have said. Keep spreading the misinformtion fanboy.

    [​IMG]
    Holy crap!!! Is that a 650i motherboard running a single graphics card in x16...but how is that possible, ketxxx said it wasn't...:banghead::banghead:

    http://www.asus.com/products4.aspx?modelmenu=2&model=1567&l1=3&l2=11&l3=495&l4=0

    What is that!!! Is that a 650i motherboard offering two full speed PCI-E x16 slots!!! How is that possible if Ketxxx has said it isn't?!?!?! Oh wait, he is just a ATi fanboy blindly bashing nVidia instead of placing the blame on the motherboard manufactures where it should be.
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2007
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  17. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    There's a little for high end gfx cards with higher res and higher AA/AF.

    650i does run in x16 for one gfx card. Helped my friend put together one and it has a physical card that you have to switch to enable x8 x8.
  18. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Blighty
  19. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,801 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,919
    Holy crap! How did they manage to get it to even work! Ketxxx says it won't work.

    <sarcasm>I'm inclined to believe him, he really seems to know what he is talking about. </sarcasm>

    :laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh:

    Soemtimes the idiotic AMD/ATI fanboyism on these forums really gets to me. Especially when they are completely full of it and spreading nothing but misinformation and scaring innocent users.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  20. GLD

    GLD

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,356 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    138
    TPU would be a more perfect place if users didn't pick on one another. Just my opinion.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page