1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PCI Express X16 slot w/ X8 signal

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by stinkytofu3, Sep 28, 2006.

  1. stinkytofu3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have a board that has a PCI Express X16 slot but has "X8 signals"

    can i still stick in a PCIe x16 graphics card?

    thx
     
  2. Protius New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,411 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Wonderful Ohio
    yep, it'll just run at x8 ofcourse
     
  3. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,365 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    914
    Yeah it will work fine.
     
  4. stinkytofu3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thx guys

    if a x16 slot w/ x8 signals allows me to use a graphics card thats x16, then what's the whole point of the signals?

    whats the difference b/w x16 or x8 signals? does it mean that my x16 card will run at x8 speeds on the x16 slot?

    im just wondering..thx
     
  5. tofu

    tofu New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    484 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    GTA
    nForce 4 Sli and nForce 570 sli for example only support 16 pci-e lanes. Thus when using Sli they will allocate 8x to each pci-e slot.

    However when you're running a single card, it will allocate all 16 lanes to the one card you are running.

    Yes, if you are running sli on one of the above chipsets then your card will run at x8 on the x16 slot.
     
  6. strick94u

    strick94u New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,592 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Texas
    My new board is a nvidia sli nforc4 and the maker sayz x8 only even in single card configs but if its anything like my old agp you can bring it down to 2x b4 you can see a diffrence on it even during benchmarking
     
  7. 144 and UP

    144 and UP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    111 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    UK
    I have the same reading................I have the 7950 and is running at x8? I am not to sure either if this is right.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page