1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom II X3 720 BE

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Lethalrise750, Apr 16, 2009.

  1. Lethalrise750

    Lethalrise750 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    123 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Whats a typical overclock on this processor? Right now I'm sitting at 3.6GHz with 1.37V completely stable...

    [​IMG]


    The highest I've gotten so far is 3.8GHz@1.42V and I haven't tried any further.
     
  2. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Might want to test that 3.6 OC more with that much voltage. Mine failed at 3.6ghz 1.36v after 25 hours but I ran 50 hours with 1.4v and it never error'd me.
     
    Lethalrise750 says thanks.
  3. Lethalrise750

    Lethalrise750 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    123 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    I need some clarification...The temperatures my AMD Phenom II 720 BE are reporting seem unreal.

    HWMonitor, Everest and Core Temp all are reporting Core Temperatures of 33-35C under 100% load at 3.8GHz and 1.45V.

    I've ran Prime95 for nearly 36 Hours and no errors whatsoever. Are these temps real and valid?

    What are temps others are getting? I'm using a Xigmatek Dark Knight HDT-S1283V
     
  4. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I have a xigmatek 1284 and I get about the same :)
     
    Lethalrise750 says thanks.
  5. Lethalrise750

    Lethalrise750 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    123 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Orlando, FL

    Wow, Thank you haha I didn't think it was possible to have this cool of a processor with such a high overclock/voltage but wow!
     
  6. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,314 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    I have my 720 @ 3.7GHz 1.42v, idle 25 to 26c, load 34 to 38c. So your good.
     
  7. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Yea they did a great job temp wise. It will get hotter during the hot seasons tho. I'm sitting at 37c under load at 1.4v.
     
  8. Lethalrise750

    Lethalrise750 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    123 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Yeah, But still...Anything under 73C is fair game lol...And I doubt even with a high overclock you'd hit that
     
  9. Lethalrise750

    Lethalrise750 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    123 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Anyone else care to share their temps with various coolers? :D
     
  10. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    My 720BE air cooled on a Comet :)
    [​IMG]



    Seriously these chips run really cool esp. when you compare them to Phenom I's.
    I was low 40C's under load @ 1.5V 3.7 or .6 dont remember, with my AC Freezer Xtreme.
     
  11. Lethalrise750

    Lethalrise750 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    123 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Damn 3dsage LOL That's amazing hahah
     
  12. Bioshock New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Messages:
    84 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    i cant even get stable at 3.5ghz @ 1.5v, makes me wonder how you got stable at 1.37

    im at 3445 @ 1.48v stable.....
     
  13. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,143 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    870
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    bioshock you should try increasing the NB voltage and other voltages like the HT

    maybe its a dud chip tho? or a bad clocking motherboard
     
  14. Lethalrise750

    Lethalrise750 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    123 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Orlando, FL


    Originally I had 3.6 @ 1.5V...I then just lowered it to the lowest possible that it'd run stable at.

    Right now I'm at 3.8 and 1.47V, I've ran OCCT CPU Stress Test and OCCT Linpack for over 72 hours with no errors.
     
  15. Bioshock New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Messages:
    84 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    man you mus have got the best of the best out of the 720s

    i tried again to oc, i must have the worst 720 made because i cant get 3.5 no matter what i do unless i give it like 1.55v, even with this zalman 9700 on it though my temps are crazy, as soon as i start anything cpu intensive i hit 60c, idling from 43c right now..... if i let somethin run for 2 or 3 minutes i hit close to 70c

    with the side off my case it lowers everything by about 10c though, but still, 1.48v seems to be all this chip likes, i can raise the ht 1 more point and get crashes up until i give it 1.55v......ridiculous i say!
     
  16. Lethalrise750

    Lethalrise750 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    123 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Orlando, FL


    Yeah I think I got a golden chip to hehe
     
  17. Neo4

    Neo4 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    152 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
    You seem to have a good mobo as well. :toast:
     
  18. Lethalrise750

    Lethalrise750 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    123 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Orlando, FL

    Yup, I love Foxconn's Quantum Bios...So amazing and easy to use. The chipset also runs extremely cool and I like the 8 Phase Power on it hehe :D
     
  19. Icewind31

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    220 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Boston Area, MA
    Currently stock voltage on my 720BE reaches 3.5ghz... once I go higher I have to ratchet up the juice a lot =S.

    Currently using the DFI JR 790GX (matx)

    Plan to get it off the bench when my WC setup arrives (and will then be on the MSI790FX-GD70)

    It's currently on open bench w/ a TRUE and I get around 28-30Cidle and then 32-35Cfull load

    room temp is usually between 20-22C
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page