1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Powercolor PCS HD 4850 512 MB

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by W1zzard, Aug 14, 2008.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,645 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,382
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2008
  2. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Excellent review as always W1zz. One thing I like about this is the cooler. Granted whatever cooling on the vrm and chips is substandard, its got an awesome cooler on top. Just the tip of the iceberg for the 4850, 1gb or 2gb flavors already :D
  3. unclewebb

    unclewebb RealTemp Author

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    934 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    403
    This is the card I'm waiting for. I thought the Toxic was going to be the card for me until I saw your noise level tests. PowerColor have got this one right.

    Do you know if you can increase the fan speed a little by editing a file like you can for other 4850 cards? I'd prefer keeping it below the high 80C range when gaming. It also might overclock a little better if it could be kept cooler with more fan speed.
  4. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    Its quiet though, thats for sure.
  5. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,645 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,382
    yes you can edit the fan speeds in the bios with rbe
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,525 (13.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,922
    I really like this card. Thanks for the review W1zzard, it looks like I found another place to put a heatsink on the card! Didn't realize the memory uses a couple vrm's on the top of the card.:)
  7. wolf2009 Guest

    Awesome Acoustics !!!
  8. Zehnsucht

    Zehnsucht New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    439 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    Thank you W1zzard for putting relative performance/resolution!!!
  9. coxon

    coxon New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    Hello.

    Thanks for the review. But im missing the temperature. Is there no thermal diode on this card?

    cox
  10. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,645 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,382
    temps are there, please read the review again
    coxon says thanks.
  11. coxon

    coxon New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    Oh, there were hidden in overclocking area. Something im not interested first time.

    Thank you. :)
  12. roadie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London, UK
    Nice review, this card looks like one of the best in the 4850 range. Do you think there's any chance of getting the Gainward Golden Sample 4850 in for a review? It looks like a decent all round card:

    Link
  13. Dctran New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi W1zzard
    I need PowerColor PCS HD4850 512M original BIOS, can you give it to me?
  14. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Is the gainward golden sample the same as the normal gainward 4850? Is it just the cooler that is differant?

    Nice review w1zzard,i would like to see you review a gainward golden sample for the above reasons.


    As far as i know,gainward is owned by palit.
  15. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,851 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    382
    Location:
    Florida, US
    lol puppy eyes
  16. danbfree New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Nice core OC, lousy memory... my stock Visiontek only does 685 core stable but hits 1100 easily on the memory even with voltage tweaks on the core and fan speed increases. I got mine at Fry's before the official launch so maybe the core yields are better now?
  17. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,645 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,382
    the bios is in the vga bios collection
  18. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,003 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    there is a 2gb version too and apparently it works good when the memory is oc'd

    in Unreal tournament 3 i get 40-50fps with my 8800gt its not FAIR! 1280x1024 so its not even high res
  19. Dctran New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have a HIS HD4850, I want flash BIOS to Powercolor PCS HD4850
    But in the VGA BIOS collection
    I worried this BIOS is a test version or bad BIOS
    So I want PowerColor PCS HD4850 512M original BIOS
    The BIOS in vga BIOS collection is original BIOS?
  20. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,645 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,382
    this is the bios that wason the card, yes it doesnt look like a production bios. i uploaded it myself so it does work with the card
  21. Dctran New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks, I try flash this BIOS by WinFlash2.0.12 and I have a message "P/N mismatch"
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2008
  22. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,645 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,382
    use the -f parameter .. you can run winflash from a command prompt and it accepts the same command line parameters as atiflash for dos
  23. Dctran New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Is this correct?

    C:\atiflash -fp -p 0 powercolorHD4850.bin
  24. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,851 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    382
    Location:
    Florida, US
    there ya go
  25. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,645 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,382
    atiflash -f -p 0 powercolorHD4850.bin

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page