1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

prime 95 and OC help

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Durvelle27, Aug 21, 2012.

  1. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,700 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    668
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    I keep getting this error don't know what it is can some one plz help ?


    [​IMG]
     
  2. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,299 (5.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,257
    Location:
    Ohio
    What are your settings? Did you drop your ram, ht link and nb dividers? Something is unstable somewhere if it's returning an error.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,700 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    668
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    no all of that is set to auto .. just increased my multiplier and voltage a little ?
     
  4. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,299 (5.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,257
    Location:
    Ohio
    Multiplier? I didn't think those bulldozer chips were unlocked. Maybe you're just pushing higher than the basic stock frequency and running it closer to the max turbo frequency all the time. In that case, it shouldn't error out... I'm lost here.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,700 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    668
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    yes FX are unlocked and i think the problem is because my board has a mas cpu TDP of 95watts so i can't bump voltage to much but i really don't know trying to get 4.6GHz
     
  6. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,299 (5.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,257
    Location:
    Ohio
    Well, if you go over that limit and overstress the power circuitry too much you'll just fry the board, like I did to that cheap Biostar board with a Phenom 9500 ages ago. Maybe your board has some kind of feature to prevent that from happening though, could explain the instability... or maybe just not enough voltage for whatever frequency you're trying to run. I dunno, all my OC experience lies with AM2+ and AM3 and I'm just now getting the hang of x58... don't have any first hand knowledge of those bulldozer processors.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,700 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    668
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    got it stable with 4.4Ghz and 1.40v thats the max i can get it to go ?
     
  8. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,299 (5.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,257
    Location:
    Ohio
    Dunno, no experience clocking those chips. Try doing a google search for "fx 4100 overclocking" or somesuch, should take you to other threads like this where people have reported their results.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. OneMoar

    OneMoar There is Always Moar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,313 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,174
    Location:
    Rochester area
    4.4@1.40v on a hyper 212 thats about the upper limit for that cooler
     
  10. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,255 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    518
    Location:
    Canada
    Give Prime 27.7 a try, they made some fixxes for certain components. I was using 25.11 but had nothing but headaches, switched to 27.7 and got myself 24Hrs stable small/large/blend :)
     
  11. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,700 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    668
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    i've seen ppl with higher volts than that with this cooler. I have it in push and pulll config

    IDLE: 18c LOAD: 48c
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page