1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Problem To Flash BIOS To 4890

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Mongol, Jun 28, 2010.

  1. Mongol New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello , im new here hh..

    i have a problem with flashing An new bios on my PowerColor HD4890

    http://www.techpowerup.com/img/09-07-27/73a.jpg - this is my card .

    when im trying to flash its saying an a chcksum mismatch ..

    here a picture :

    [​IMG]

    im trying to flash to a ASUS EAH4890 TOP , and i tryed another BIOses and same error .

    im know that the new bios is another chacksum , but its need to replace it no ?

    pls help and sry for my sucked english :)
     
  2. segalaw19800

    segalaw19800

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    383 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Lost in space
    why you want to flash your 4890 card? how new is the card?
     
  3. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,941 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Welcome to the forums....I think you need to add the "force" command when you are flashing another vendor's bios so you should add -f to your command line, check out the TPU guide here......

    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=57750
     
  4. segalaw19800

    segalaw19800

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    383 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Lost in space
    were my manners welcome to TECHPOWERUP.COM
     
  5. basco

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    114 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    austria
    hi,
    please be carefull-powercolour is often first to have non reference cards,and you have a non-reference.

    the asus top bios you want to flash is reference.

    they have different powercircuit.

    so dont brick your nice card.

    i think its not possible to flash.
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2010
  6. robal

    robal

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    485 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    Hi,

    Welcome to TPU.

    It's possible that the file you're trying to flash is bad. Where did you get it ?

    Please note that if you want to READ your BIOS (to modify it and re-flash), always read BIOS using GPU-Z.... Do not use anything else, as it may truncate file size and give you a corrupt BIOS file.

    Cheers,
     
  7. Mongol New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thx for the help ,
    i flashed to the sapphire hd4890 without OC .
    and it's do nothing ... i flashed back to the original of powercolor ..

    POWERCOLOR SUCKS !!!!! Fuck Them ..
     
  8. segalaw19800

    segalaw19800

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    383 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Lost in space
    :wtf: WoW
     
  9. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,941 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    As i said earlier, if using another vendors BIOS, the vendors ID is different and therefore ATI flash shows the error, if that does happen, all you need to do is insert the force command which overrides it.

    On a point of note.... The Asus TOP is actually non reference.... NOT reference design, however they are quite likely to still have differences......

    http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleID=2448

    have you not tried the Powercolor PCS+ Bios? or is that the one you refer to earlier? In case you have not tried the Powecolor PCS+ Bios, here it is, it's underneath the screen shot on Post 1.....

    http://i4memory.com/f18/amaze-hd4890-1024d5-non-reference-pcb-18861/
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2010

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page