1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Program for finding the temp of a processor?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Ehstii, Jul 17, 2007.

  1. Ehstii New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    607 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    The Shore, New Jersey
    can anyone refer me to a good program that will tell me the tempature of the processor, and also does anyone know what temp an AMD Athlon 3200+ should run at idle?


    thanks.
     
  2. Ehstii New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    607 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    The Shore, New Jersey
    any ideas right now would help, i have a computer herre in my shop and we are pretty sure its overheating but i want to see the temps.
     
  3. sheps999

    sheps999 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    173 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    UK. Where it's always lovely and su-...no, never m
  4. Hawk1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,249 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    The Big Smoke, Canada
  5. Ehstii New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    607 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    The Shore, New Jersey
    thanks hawk1.

    would anyone happen to know the temp an AMD Athlon 64 3200+ should be running at?
     
  6. mello_newf

    mello_newf

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    338 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
    I think it should be mid to Low - 30 C
     
    Ehstii says thanks.
  7. Ehstii New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    607 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    The Shore, New Jersey
    thanks mello newf
     
  8. mello_newf

    mello_newf

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    338 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
    No problem i assume its running stock with no OC and stock HSF. Here are reported temps with and without cool-n-quite.

    Stock idol with cool-n-quite 22c to 25c
    stock with out cool-n-quite 28c to 34c
     
  9. Ehstii New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    607 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    The Shore, New Jersey
    its running like 36-38 idle and 42-45 with a burn in test.
     
  10. mello_newf

    mello_newf

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    338 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
    36-38 idle and 42-45 under load should be fine. If your having a problem with the computer I would rule out the cpu overheating.
     
  11. Ehstii New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    607 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    The Shore, New Jersey
    yea, i have.

    customer says that they could be typing up a paper in word or could be playing music and the PC would shutdown and restart itself...

    motherboard showed good results on burn in test so time to reformat and see where that leads. =]]
     
  12. mello_newf

    mello_newf

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    338 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
    Yeah most of the time random shutting down is windows fault not hardware related. :laugh:
     
  13. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Have you tried memtest? Also, take a look at the PSU voltage readings, if they're too low at load the computer will shut down (most probably). Sounds like a hardware problem though, so idk how much a reformat will do.
     
  14. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,232 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    try coretemeter.
     
  15. Ehstii New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    607 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    The Shore, New Jersey
    yea, i tested power supply and memory...

    but the motherboards my boss orders and uses in machines has these problems alot, and its the motherboard most of the time. and it just happens to be a loyal customer who unfortunatley bought a machine from here...lol.

    but it past the mobo testing so time for an OS rebuild...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page