1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Programs that actually use all 4 cores of a quad core chip... please contribute!

Discussion in 'General Software' started by graysky, Jul 5, 2007.

  1. graysky

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    177 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Here is a short list of programs that actually use all 4 cores of a quad core chip. If you know of others, please post them to this thread, and I'll update it.

    THE LIST:
    Real-World Applications
    3D Studio MAX using Mental Ray Renderer (>99 % of 4 cores)
    Adobe Premiere Elements v3.0.2 (52-85 % of 4 cores depending on source type, filters, etc.)
    AutoGK v2.40 (30-53 % of 4 cores depending on source type, filters, etc.)
    Cinema 4d Rendering (>99 % of 4 cores)
    Dr. DivX v2.0.0 (47-65 % of 4 cores depending on source type, filters, etc.)
    DVDShrink v3.2 (~90 % of 4 cores)
    Lightwave 3D (>99 % of 4 cores)
    Nero Suite 7.x (>90 % of 4 cores when encoding)
    Noise Ninja v2.13 (~80 % of 4 cores when doing the noise reduction on an image)
    Sony Vegas 7.0e (83-100 % of 4 cores depending on source type, filters, etc.)
    TMPG XPress v4.2.3.193 (65-100 % of 4 cores depending on source type, filters, etc.)
    Winrar v3.70 (~85-90 % of 4 cores on benchmark; ~75% in practice)
    x264 v0.55.663 (>99 % of 4 cores when doing the 2nd pass of a 2 pass encode)

    Benchmark/Distributed Computing Applications
    BOINC Clients (most of them) (>99 % of 4 cores)
    Folding@home SMP client (>99 % of 4 cores)
    Muon1 DPAD (~85 % of 4 cores)
    OCCT (>99 % of 4 cores)
    Prime95 v25.3 (>99 % of 4 cores)
    wprime v1.50 (>99 % of 4 cores)

    Games
    none that I know of yet

    If you'd like to contribute an application or game, please post the following:

    1) Program name
    2) URL to homepage of the program
    3) The percentage as shown in the Windows task manager of the CPU's that are getting used @ peak or thereabouts along with a screen-shot of the task manager.

    Here's an example screen-shot of my task manager during the Noise Ninja noise reduction:
    [​IMG]

    Also, please limit the replies to quad chips only (yeah, I know this will limit the amount of replies, but this is after all what this thread is all about).

    Thanks!

    Note: I don't think this thread really belongs under the software section since it's specifically about software for quad core chips.
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2007
  2. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Folding@Home's SMP Core - folding.stanford.edu - 100% on all cores if selected as such
    Supreme Commander Game - www.supremecommander.com - (Don't have core info at the moment)

    (Sorry don't have pics as I am at work and don't run them here)
     
  3. graysky

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    177 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    updated
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2007
  4. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,252 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Database and Web applications
     
  5. MrSeanKon

    MrSeanKon New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    267 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Athens in love with Anna :)
    CPU Stretcher (inside OcBible) my burn-in program :) pushes the load to 100% always if you tweak some settings.
     
  6. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,691 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Tennessee
    i read that sumpreme commander (game) does for sound! :D
     
  7. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,499 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    maybe put a little more info on what the programs are for :)
     
  8. surfsk8snow.jah

    surfsk8snow.jah

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    457 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
  9. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,691 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Tennessee
    programs are generally used to run software on operating systems
     
  10. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    This is taken directly from the "readme" file for Supreme Commander ...

     
  11. Zero Cool

    Zero Cool New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,199 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Prague, CZ
    3d studio max using even 8 cores
     
  12. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,691 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Tennessee
    are you agreeing with me kreij?:confused:
     
  13. TXcharger

    TXcharger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    431 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    SAN ANTONE, TX
    dude bf2 LOL
     
  14. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    FSX post SP1 :)
     
  15. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Yup. I mentioned in my first post (#2 in thread) that SupCom used up to 4 cores.
    I was just posting some info to validate my statement as I cannot post pictures to show it.

    When you have hundreds of units running around in a game the quad comes in handy ;)
     
  16. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,691 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Tennessee
    hehe, yeah im gonna buy a quad next time i update....i have a 3.6 single core and the processor cant handle the cpu processing of sup commander...awesome game though i must say
     
  17. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,013 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,880
    office 2007 and supreme commander

    i think photoshop does too
     
  18. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,691 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Multiprocessor optimizations

    A hundreds-strong swarm of AI entities avoid danger in a multiprocessor benchmarkAs a part of the Source engine's transition to next-generation consoles, multiprocessor optimizations have been added, resulting in faster processing on PC hardware with dual or quad core systems and the Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3 consoles. [4] Gabe Newell:

    “ Yes. We definitely think that content needs to move forward. For example, one of the things we're reacting to is the speed at which microprocessors are coming out. So, Intel has very aggressively moved up delivery of desktop processors with four different cores; we'll have support for that in Episode Two, and we'll definitely go back to affect, you know, Episode One or Half-Life 2 or Counter-Strike Source, so they can take advantage of that. We'll definitely try to keep the existing games - especially the multiplayer games - current as technology evolves.[8] ”

    Valve has demonstrated the new multi core optimizations[9] which use a multi-threading style they dub "hybrid threading." A Source multi-threading update and benchmark are expected to be released before Half-Life 2: Episode Two, though a date for either and the content of the benchmark are currently unknown.[10]

    Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Source_engine#Looping_audio

    Could this thread please be stickied?
     
  19. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    i think like cyberlink powerdvd and power director are multi threaded now.
     
  20. allen337

    allen337

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    958 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Danville IL
    SIW is like everest but it will stress test all 4 cpus ~~ http://www.gtopala.com/siw-download.html ~~ just run it and on the top taskbar it has cpu and memory usage, click it and burn. Good program. ALLEN
     
  21. SK-1

    SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,220 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    341
    Location:
    In a Galaxy Far Far...you know the rest.
    No games,...none at all?????:twitch:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page