1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PSU Just Exploded... What Should i Get?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by T4C Fantasy, Dec 6, 2012.

  1. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,176 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    I think the truth lay between your results and mine, LOL! The GPU value you listed here doesnt seem right at all... and Furmark is entirely an unrealistic load as Wiz anyway, so its absolute worst case above and beyond folding.
  2. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Also, drdeathx basically confirms that the max per GPU is 300W+ as 775 vs 1100W between 2 and 3 cards

    and @Crap Daddy

    Who wants to have a 750W at around 100% all the time?

    Also, @EarthDog, that sound about right. I have said the same I agree Furmark is more than what you can actually do. but to me 750W is too close for comfort, you want 850W if you don't want to add anything or 1.2K if you actually want to add another high-end card
    EarthDog says thanks.
  3. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,936 (7.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,509
    Its not only realistic but its damaging. Damn benchmark should be banned.
  4. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    Of course not, I was just saying that it should not have exploded.
  5. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Oh, that's just because his PSU was Crap (hehe pun not intended)
    Crap Daddy says thanks.
  6. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,176 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Perhaps I am missing something, but again, these cards can only go 20% over their power limit with the power slider. How can that be 300W+? TDP is 210 or 215W IIRC... thats like 250/260W, no?

    Agree. There was a reason that Nvidia (fermi) throttled on that benchmark...err stress test.
  7. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    maybe it's disabled?
  8. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,176 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    ONly on the Asus cards and Lightning can that happen though.. He has Sapphire? I dont recall that being able to happen on those cards, but never had a Toxic or anything...

    His PSU is gold vs platinum, he has an extra pump, we have different mobo and ram (mine was tested at 2666Mhz but ram is negligible in it all)... and perhaps his KaW is on the fritz (or mine is!!! haha!). The first 3 can explaine the 40W difference in our peak results. But what I was calling shens on was the 800 number he mentioned initially.

    EDIT: We also dont know what speed his CPU was at when he mentions that number... I know he did some sub zero testing, but not sure if that is where he captured that larger value.

    EDIT2: 4.8Ghz... disregard. :)

    EDIT3:
    I take exception to this as well.. I asked JG's own Oklahoma Wolf if he expects a quality PSU to run at 100% load for the its warratied life and he said yes. Shit PSU's like he has, I wouldnt expect it to either. But a quality PSU damn well better (not that I would run it up there myself, but it SHOULD work with QUALITY PSU's).
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2012
  9. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    You do not need to calculate. I did it live.

    No he is estimating, the truth is between yours and mine. LOL:toast:

    I said peak. Do you comprend? it is not like you own 2 or 3 7970's and can give exact info.
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 6, 2012
  10. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,524 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,045
    please dont triple post. If you need help with the edit function PM me and we can sort it out.
    Maban and EarthDog say thanks.
  11. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,176 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    What happened to the automerge doublepost feature this place used to have?
  12. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,524 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,045
    no idea:(
  13. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,936 (7.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,509
    I never knew we had one.
  14. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    973 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    well its pretty safe to say im going to sleep at a normal hour tonight... lol
  15. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    I would grab one of the superflower platinum based units. For the price they are the best bang for the bunch u it's out there. Rosewell has quite a few lines that are superflower based and none of them seem to have issues even with a 110% overload in a 45+ degree c case.
  16. McSteel

    McSteel

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    572 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    275
    Both ATi/AMD and nVidia limit FurMark's GPU utilization. It can be circumvented, sure, but then that's the card's owner's choice. You can ban guns, drugs or giving whiskey to dogs - if a person really wants to do it, they'll find a way.

    Solytech is actually capable of producing a decent unit, when motivated (pressed hard) enough. PowerColor's PSUs are all built by Solytech, and they're OK(ish). Extreme 850W, Extreme 1000W, Gaming 600W

    The above is not a recommendation, I already gave one, it's just further proof that one needs to be informed about an individual product, rather than rely on brand reputation or product line reputation.

    Well, except when it comes to high-end Seasonics, Deltas and Flextronics. ;)
  17. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Get either a Corsair or Seasonic
  18. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    As mentioned earlier, Corsair AX-1000 is $199. Problem solved for 2 cards.
  19. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,184 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,028
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    There is a bit of a price premium on the Seasonic Platinum 1000w but it has worked pretty well for me so far. Fan barely kicks on drawing ~550-watts from the wall with a nice full overclock not to mention that a 7 year warranty is pretty awesome.
  20. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,548 (10.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,061
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    should run the the nearest best buy or PC retailer and buy a decent PSU to test your equipment with then once your done take it back.
    stinger608 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,045 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,424
    Location:
    Wyoming

    Agreed 110% here!!! Even at the current $150 it is a great buy. I have two of these currently. One of them is in a AMD 4x4 (4 quad core) server system running the 4 cooling fans, 3 hard drives, two 240mm fans, and a 8800GTX!! It has been in the system for about a year and has never farted once!!

    I have my figures crossed that it didn't take anything else with it man.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  22. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    973 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    rofl that would be hilarious buy a psu just to use it to see if my superior hardware is still working then return the peice of shit because its not worth keeping, then bestbuy has to sell as an open box item 10% off haha
  23. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,045 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,424
    Location:
    Wyoming
    :laugh: That actually a killer idea. :rockout: That would at least tell you if anything else is wrong before spending a bunch on a quality unit. :p
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  24. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,825 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,933
    Seriously, the OP doesn't need a 1000w PSU. The HX850 in my main rig handled two GTX470s, and the HX850 in Rig4 has handled a GTX470 and GTX465 and now two GTX470s folding 24/7. You don't need anything more than a quality 850w unless you are planning 3 or 4 graphics cards at the same time. Otherwise, with just two cards an HX850 will be fine.

    Best Buy carries halfway decent PSUs, mine even stocks some Corsairs. They just overcharge for them.:laugh:

    And they really don't even overcharge that much for them, they are only $10-15 more than newegg, sometimes the same price but newegg has a $10 MIR or something to make the price cheaper.
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2012
    Norton says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  25. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    I said folding for the reason of getting a 8970 and keeping the 7970 (you said why 8970, you cant crossfire) well the answer is prob that hell keep it to fold

    the reviews for the gpu aren't estimates, the only estimating I've done is on the cpu and the rest of the system is not gunna be the same for you and him anyhow. On top of that my numbers aren't far from EarthDogs numbers. Do not forget I was looking at maximum consumption not real world

    OP wants headroom for a third card so while 850 is perfect for now, 1Kw is bare minimum if he wants a 3rd card, I'd suggest a 1.2kw even
    EarthDog says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page