1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PSU power consumption question

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Krazy Owl, Aug 15, 2012.

  1. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    I would like to know if a 430W psu for exemple with a power draw of 120VAC 10A (1200W) will always draw the 1200W or it will work at lower than that and adjust upon demand on the AC side?

    If you got a 500w psu with 80% efficiency will it mean as exemple 120v 10A 1200W power draw all the time but with up to 500W on the DC side adjusting on demand?

    Thank you ! :)
     
  2. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,807 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    It will use what it use. I'm not sure I understand what you mean.
     
    Krazy Owl says thanks.
  3. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    Look on side of a psu. Incoming AC current Volt 120V with Amperage = total AC current withdrawn. But Let's say your 500W psu draw only 300w from computer will it still need the same AC current input or it's auto adjusting also like the Dc side of the psu that power the computer?
     
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    It adjusts as needed on both sides.
     
    Krazy Owl says thanks.
  5. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Its like this: A 500 W PSU will, at max, output 500 W. It will as JR said, adjust to the demands of whatever it is powering on the intake side as it will only draw what is needed up to 500 watts. If it is 80% effecient this means to give that 500 W it will be drawing 625 watts (120 VAC x 5.208 amps).
     
    Krazy Owl says thanks.
  6. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    Ok thank you! I would like to use a 1000W Dell psu someone gave me and use it to power up the computer and other 12v stuff like light bulbs and fans for my bedroom. Didn't want it to draw a shit load of current to light a single DEL bulb :p
     
  7. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    So my 430W psu draws at max load 120V and 10amps = 1200W

    430/1200 X 100 = 36% efficiency! That blows! lol
     
  8. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,807 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    Er no. 120V 10A is the input, not output. And it does not have a 120V line. :)
     
  9. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    933 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    A 500w PSU, will will use a maximum of 500w (normally) inside the computer. like TheLaughingMan said, if it has a effiency of 80% it will draw 625w at the Wall, because of the Joule Effect. When electricity go into the power supply, there will be heat, and you will loose a bit of power. so if you draw 625 from the wall, you PSU will delivrer 500w inside the computer, if that PSU has an effiency of 80% (Which means there is a lost of 20% from the joule effect)

    Big example, if you plug your christmas tree, you won't take 1200w, it will take what it needs. I'm not really sure of your question, but I hope this answer. If you don't use all the power available, your PSU won't use it, it will use what it need, and what he is able to use.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    Ok it all answer my questions. So I'll figure out how to go on with my 12V setup project. I know for sure I could cut some 12V wires on it and put on a car lighter adapter to charge many things at same time like cell phone, portable dvd player, etc.
     
  11. LGV

    LGV New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    260 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    get something like thet
    http://www.powermeterstore.com/p4578/killawatt_ez.php?utm_source=category_banner

    Your Question,

    In case you got 430 watt PSU

    1, if bad make :
    a, If PC need idle, lets assume 150 watt usage, then your PSU may pull 215 or more from wall.
    b, you play on PC , lets say PC need 300 watt , then your PSU will draw from wall 430 watt
    ( bad brand may write 430watt the max your PSU can draw FROM WALL)

    2, if good make
    a, If PC need idle, lets assume 150 watt usage , then your PSU may pull 200watt or more from wall.
    b, you play on PC , lets say PC need 300 watt , then your PSU will draw from wall 360 watt
    ( god make usually write what the PSU CAN deliver to your PC )

    This is just example
     
    Krazy Owl says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page