1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Putting standoffs into wood

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by <<Onafets>>, Jun 10, 2012.

  1. <<Onafets>>

    <<Onafets>>

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    779 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Hey all,
    I'm working on a wooden cabinet to mount some servers in and I was wondering If I could drill halfway down into the wood and if there was something I could glue into the wood that has a thread in it so I could screw standoffs in. Something like this where scraggly lines are the threads. Metal preferred. [​IMG]
    Thanks :)

    Ona

    Edit: [​IMG] Like this for standoffs :) (8mm long or less)
     
  2. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,420 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Possible to screw in from the other side? Thru-hole M6 stand offs might make the job easier (even standoff height).

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    <<Onafets>> says thanks.
  3. <<Onafets>>

    <<Onafets>>

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    779 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Well its 16mm wood and I'm going to have things on the other side but if I have to thats what i'll do. I've found some round female standoffs and I'm thinking of jamming them in the wood but im not sure if I have the right thread and size and stuff. If there are any screw-happy people that can tell me if this is the right size id be very greatful.


    xxxx xxx x x 5/16"-6/32*-ALUMINUM-NO FINISH
    | | | |
    | | | Finish
    | | Material
    | Thread
    Length
     
  4. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,827 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    <<Onafets>> says thanks.
  5. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,858 (4.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,414
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Or you could drill the holes on the tight side ( sized to the standoff threads) and screw the stand offs themselves to the wood with a little glue or jb weld on the threads to hold them there.
     
    jmcslob and <<Onafets>> say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,827 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    <<Onafets>> says thanks.
  7. <<Onafets>>

    <<Onafets>>

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    779 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    The main idea was to be able to remove the standoffs when I change motherboards or If I use the cabinet for actual cabinet stuff like papers. If I had the metal thingys they'd sit flush and so I have my flat wood look back. I realised I'm looking for 16mm long (or very close to it) female/female standoffs that are rounded. Not sure what thread but if someone can confirm 4-40 thread that'd be great. Delta those look perfect if they didn't have the screw attached! <3 Thanks everyone so far! We are close haha
     
  8. Finners

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    133 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    what is the thread size of a stand off? is it a standard

    Tappex do all sorts of thread inserts, but can imagine they will charge you a fair bit and there will be a minimal order amount.

    Here's there site just to give you ideas

    http://www.tappex.co.uk/
     
  9. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,827 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    If your talking about the little screw thing on the bottom you could always grind it off and mod it :)
    But I'm not for sure what the material is like.
     
    <<Onafets>> says thanks.
  10. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,673 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,027
    why not drill and taper it from both sides to get a flush mount??
     
    <<Onafets>> says thanks.
  11. <<Onafets>>

    <<Onafets>>

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    779 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    And I might try and get a dremmel on the weekend lol and see if it'd be suitable for the job. What do you mean by tapering it?
     
  12. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,420 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Standard, or at least what I find the most is M6-32 size and threading.

    1' M6-32 rods for my motherboard stacking project.

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,827 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    Here is a good site to at least find out what you may need. I don;t think they sell to Australia, but you can at least get the name of the product and look locally.

    Also for the size that you need the thread isn't that big of a deal as long as its the same to what ever your fastening it to. So I would just measure how big the whole is for the motherboard screw and then find something that is close to #4-40 or M3 thread.

    http://www.grainger.com/Grainger/sp...asedimid10071&contextPath=Grainger&sst=subset
    http://www.grainger.com/Grainger/thread-insert/fasteners/ecatalog/N-8nr
     
    <<Onafets>> says thanks.
  14. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,673 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,027
    for flush mounting the screws. dont know exactly what its called. english isnt my mother tongue :p
     
    <<Onafets>> says thanks.
  15. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,673 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,027
    ahh yesss...
    counter sink bits
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    <<Onafets>> says thanks.
  16. <<Onafets>>

    <<Onafets>>

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    779 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Grangier website looks promising :) So many choices to make...who knew this would be so complicated?
     
  17. <<Onafets>>

    <<Onafets>>

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    779 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I think that would be a bit to difficult to do tbh Das man :(
     
  18. <<Onafets>>

    <<Onafets>>

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    779 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
  19. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,827 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    Yeah they are USA only,but just copy that info and take it to your local hardware store and they should be able to help you find it easily.:D
    Also just make sure that all of your diameters match and will go through the hole on the motherboard. I think the hole is like 3or4mm.
     
    <<Onafets>> says thanks.
  20. <<Onafets>>

    <<Onafets>>

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    779 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Should be epic! Thanks a million for your help everyone! I'll go to my local bunnings (aus hardware store) and see if they have them other wise I'll have to arrange a deal with someone from the USA land to ship it to me :) might do a project log so keep an eye out too ;)
     
  21. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,827 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    It's always fun to help that's why we are all here.
    Sounds fun:)
    If you want you can always take one motherboard screw and standoff with you if you have any to the hardware store and they maybe able to measure them and get you the exact size of stuff you want.
     
    <<Onafets>> says thanks.
  22. <<Onafets>>

    <<Onafets>>

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    779 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Probably not a bad idea, otherwise I'll just get the 4-40 considering other people use it and haven't complained ;) Anyone from the Usa land interested in making 10 or so dollars pm me and I'll let you know if I need ya ;) :)
     
  23. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    If you haven't sorted it already check out the speaker building section @ partsexpress.com

    Think they have what you're looking for :eek:
     
  24. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,976 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,109
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    IF you have semi-decent wood, no "insert" is required, although it might be an idea to drill directly through the wood and then solder a wire to one of the posts, and then to ground, as I have. It's just a matter of using hte proper bit ot drill your hole, perfectly matched to the mount's inner post, and not the threads themselves. I've got the G.Sniper M3 in my "testbench" right now, waiting to get installed into my testing case, so tomorrow i can start working on the review.



    [​IMG]
     
  25. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,655 (8.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,585
    Use this hardware jizzler suggested but don't go all the way through the wood with the hole, Drill in deep enough to allow the standoff to sit at about standard standoff height (or a bit higher). You would then mount the standoffs onto the board and set it down nice and snug into the drilled holes ;)

    Second option: Scavenge and cutout a mobo tray out of an old case. Drill a hole in each corner and mount it to the wood (use a smaller spacer if you need to).... then you can use the threaded holes already setup for you from the old tray.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page