1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

q6600 almost stable need help~

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by steadfast9661, Oct 4, 2007.

  1. steadfast9661 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    H all, im running:
    EVGA 680I Mainboard
    Q6600@34566 8*435
    CPU:1.50v, FSB, 1.4v, meomoery 2.2v
    4 gig OCZ SLI meomeory 4 dimms.

    My system seems stable but when i stress test over night it dies. Using x2 CPU burn instances, 1 prime95 stress test max CPU load. 1 3dmark06 in loop with all settings on hi (AA etc) System will run for a few hours then reboot. temps 55-62c per clore avg.


    Trying to figure out whats the next step here.....:banghead:
  2. Jarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    388 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Wrexham UK
    would 4 instances of prime or occt not be better for testing ?

    GTL ref voltages maybe? northbridge voltage
  3. steadfast9661 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    4 instances or Orthos or prime are also fine, still seeing reboots.
  4. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Relax memory timings, or try a different divider to eliminiate memory as the culrpit.

    I recall an older version of 3DMark that would crash after about 10 or more loops no matter what you did.

    You may have simply hit the ceiling with that chip but don't give up.
  5. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,646 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,830
    How old is your eVGA board, there are some floating around that don't like running quads at over 1300FSB. Mine seems to run fine at 1333, and will pass 24 hours of stress testing just fine, but still seems to freeze every ~36-48 hours. It is a known problem with the eVGA 680i which you can RMA the boards for.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  6. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,539 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    289
    from my exp i have noticed that system lock ups are due to mem (or nb) system reboots are down to cpu (or nb) and total shutdowns are down to heat. now if more volts to your cpu or lowering its speed dont work try upping the volts to the nb, same goes to your ram with freezes.

    just from what i have found with mine.


    edit

    to answer your question about the next step tho..i think it has to be phase change cooling as you already have a v nice oc :D

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page